Skip to Main Content

Russian Literary Awards

Resources related to major contemporary Russian literary awards.





The Iasnaia Poliana Prize was established in 2003 by the Leo Tolstoy’s memorial museum Yasnaya Polyana and Samsung Electronics company. The winners are announced in October in Moscow. In 2003-2005 the prize was awarded in two nominations: Outstanding work of Russian literature and Outstanding debut work of Russian literature. Currently there are three nominations: Contemporary Classics (the winner receives 900 000 rubles = about $25 000), XXI century (the winner receives 750 000 rubles = about $20 000), and (from 2012) Childhood, Boyhood, Youth (the winner receives 300 000 rubles = about $8 000). In 2015 a new nomination Foreign Literature was introduced.


Vladimir Tolstoi

Director of Yasnaya Polyana, Leo Tolstoy Estate Museum, and Chairperson of the Jury


Anatolii Kim

2005 Winner

Petr Krasnov and Liudmila Saraskina

2008 Winners

2010 Jury

Mikhail Kuraev

2010 Winner in the Contemporary Classics nomination

Vladimir Tolstoy congratulates Mikhail Tarkovskii (right), 2010 Winner in the XXI Century nomination

2011 Winners

Fazil Iskander (center), Elena Katishonok (on his left)

Valentin Rasputin (left)

2012 Winner (Contemporary Classics nomination)

Andrei Dmitriev

2012 Winner (Childhood, Boyhood, Youth nomination)

2013 Winners and Finalists

2014 Diplomas

2014 Winners and Finalists

2015 Award Ceremony

Andrei Bitov

2015 Winner (Contemporary Classics nomination)

Guzel Iakhina and Valerii Bylinskii

2015 Winners (XXI Century and Childhood, Boyhood, Youth nominations)

Ruth Ozeki (right) and Ekaterina Il'ina

2015 Winners (Foreign Literature nomination)