Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Russian Literary Awards

Resources related to major contemporary Russian literary awards.






National Bestseller is the annual Russian Literary Prize awarded in Saint Petersburg in June for the best prose work written in Russian within a calendar year. The award was established in 2001 by Viktor Toporov, a Russian writer, translator, and literary critic, and Konstantin Tublin, a publisher, businessman, writer, the founder of the Limbus Press publishing house. The motto of the prize is “Wake up famous!” The winner receives an award of 250 000 rubles. Finalists receive 60 000 rubles each.


Viktor Toporov (1946 - 2013)

the award founder

2011. Kseniia Sobchak and Artemii Troitskii

2012. Sergei Shnurov and Viktor Toporov

2013. Figl-Migl, the winner, and Artemii Troitskii

2014. Ksenia Buksha

Astoria Hotel in Saint Petersburg

2012. Panel of judges

2014. Vladimir Sharov, a finalist (right), and his nominator Evgenii Vodolazkin

2014. Panel of judges

2015. Sergei Nosov, the winner (left), and his nominator Pavel Krusanov

2015. Sergei Nosov, and MCs Artemii Troitskii and Polina Tolstun