Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Studies Research Guide

Poster Collection

The African Poster Collection includes posters from all regions of Africa, focusing on diverse themes such as apartheid, human rights, film festivals, and voter education. Some examples of posters included in the collection are: a series of voter education posters published by the Institute for a Democratic Alternative for South Africa; a collection of hairstyle and fashion calendars from Nigeria; and farming and dairy posters from Zimbabwe. These posters, in addition to many others, can be found by using the Country Index (below). The collection also includes special reprint series of many popular African film posters, such as those published by Nuovi Graffiti d'Africa and La Cinematografia Egiziana. These posters can be found using the Film Poster Index (below). Many of the posters are written in English, but there are many in languages such as Swahili, Hausa, Arabic, Tigrinya, and Portuguese.

All posters can be used through the African Studies Collection Office in the Herman B Wells Library, Room E660. Please contact the African Studies Collection Office for access (advance notice highly recommended), at afstlib@indiana.edu.

Additional posters can be found in Northwestern University Library's African Posters Collection.


COUNTRY INDEX

A: Africa (General) | Algeria | Angola
B: Benin | Botswana | Burkina Faso | Burundi
C: Cameroon | Cape Verde | Central African Republic | Chad | Comoros | Congo (Democratic Republic) | Congo (Republic) | Cote d'Ivoire
D: Djibouti
E: Egypt | Equatorial Guinea | Eritrea | Ethiopia
F: France
G: Gabon | Gambia | Ghana | Guinea | Guinea-Bissau
K: Kenya
L: Lesotho | Liberia | Libya
M: Madagascar | Malawi | Mali | Mauritania | Mauritius | Morocco | Mozambique
N: Namibia | Niger | Nigeria
R: Reunion | Rwanda
S: Sao Tome and Principe | Senegal | Seychelles | Sierra Leone | Somalia | South Africa | South Sudan | Sudan | Swaziland
T: Tanzania | Togo | Tunisia
U: Uganda | United Kingdom | United States
Z: Zambia | Zimbabwe


FILM POSTER INDEX

La Cinematografia Egiziana, Series I
Nuovi Graffiti d'Africa, Series I (#1-50)
Nuovi Graffiti d'Africa, Series II (#51-109)
Nuovi Graffiti d'Africa, Series III (#110-148)

Posters Index

A subset of the posters in the African Studies Collection contain maps. These are searchable by country via the interactive index embedded below.  The index was created by IU student Mia Partlow, under the direction of IU GIS Librarian Theresa Quill.