Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Studies Research Guide

Finding & Accessing African Studies Journals

Electronic Journals:
IUB provides access to many journals through our websites and catalog. Full-text databases provide the complete text of the article, often through an HTML or PDF link. If there is no full-text, look for the IU~Link button. For more information, see our Using IU-Link guide.

Print Journals
Search in IUCAT to locate specific journal titles at IUB Libraries. After logging in, select the "Periodical Title Search" on the right-hand menu. Searching by periodical title rather than by keyword or title limits the search to periodical titles only. Enter the journal title. If the exact title is known, choose the "Exact" button above the title. If not, type in the words that you know are in the title and make sure the search is set to "keyword" above the search box. Click the search button.

Request Article Delivery

Free of charge, the IUB Libraries will supply an electronic copy of a print and microform journal article held on the IUB campus to faculty, staff, graduate, and undergraduate students. Patrons are limited to 25 requests per month through this service. See the Request Article Delivery web page for more details.

Request From Another IUB Campus LibraryFor information on how to place requests for having materials delivered from one campus library to another, consult the Request Delivery page.

Interlibrary Loan
To request journals or articles that IUB Libraries do not own, use the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services the Libraries offer.

ALF Delivery
Individual articles can be requested from ALF using the Request Article Delivery form (see above). Journals that have been sent to the Ruth Lilly Auxiliary Library Facility (ALF) may be requested for delivery to IUB campus libraries. Requested materials must be picked up in person from the IUB Herman B Wells (Main) Library circulation desk or selected IUB Campus Library circulation desk. Materials requested prior to 12:00 pm (noon), Monday through Friday, will be available from your selected Bloomington library delivery destination by 5:00 pm the same evening. Materials requested after 12:00 pm (noon), Monday through Friday, will be available from your selected Bloomington library delivery destination by 5:00 pm the following business day. For more information, visit the Request Materials from ALF web page.

For further information about finding or accessing journals, please contact the Librarian for African Studies

African journals in ALF


Journals published before 1995 that are indexed have been sent to the Auxilary Library Facility (ALF). This allowed the Libraries to leave the unindexed titles (which includes many African Studies journals) in the Wells Library so that they can be browsed. Many of the indexed journals that have been sent to ALF are available electronically in full-text, often going back to the journal's first issue, as for example all the JSTOR database titles. African Studies journals in JSTOR include over 60 titles, including, among others:

Africa: Journal of the International African Institute (1928-2006)
African Affairs (1944-1999)
Journal of the Royal African Society (1901-1944)
African Issues (2000-2003)
Issue: A Journal of Opinion (1971-1999)
African Languages and Cultures. Supplement (1992-1996)
African Studies Review (1970-2008)
African Studies Bulletin (1958-1969)
ASA Review of Books (1975-1980)
Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London (1940-2006)
Bulletin of the School of Oriental Studies, University of London (1917-1940)
Canadian Journal of African Studies (1967-2008)
Bulletin of African Studies in Canada (1963-1966)
History in Africa (1974-2008)
International Journal of African Historical Studies (1972-2008)
African Historical Studies (1968-1971)
Journal of African Cultural Studies (1998-2007)
African Languages and Cultures (1988-1997)
Journal of African History (1960-2006)
Journal of African Law (1957-2006)
Journal of Modern African Studies (1963-2006)
Journal of Southern African Studies (1974-2007)
Transition (1961-2012)

These and others can be accessed through the JSTOR database or through many of the Libraries' databases. For other full-text articles, follow the IU-Link button in the databases.

Materials from ALF can be requested electronically (click the link next to the item in IUCAT); on weekdays, deliveries usually occur within 24 hours.