Global Music Archive
The Global Music Archive, provided by Vanderbilt University, is a multi-media reference archive and resource center for the traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas. Among the resources available through the website is the "East African Music Bibliography" and the recently released "Digital Collection of East African Recordings," which consists of over 1600 digital recordings of East African music.
Africa Past & Present: The Podcast about African History, Culture, and Politics
Michigan State University historians Peter Alegi and Peter Limb host this frequently issued podcast about Africa. Topics range from culture to history to the environment and foreign policy. There is no particular focus on any one region or area. The online archive contains links to all podcasts in the series.
South Africa: Overcoming Apartheid, Building Democracy
Containing extensive video interviews, documents, images, essays and more, this website seeks to explore the transition from apartheid to democracy in South Africa.
Community Video Education Trust: Documentary Footage of the Anti-Apartheid Struggle in South Africa
A digital archive of videos taken in South Africa in the late 1980s and early 1990s covering the peak of resistance to apartheid.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
- Africana & Black History: Contains images relating to the transatlantic slave trade to the Western migration, the colonization movement, the Great Migration, and the contemporary immigration of Caribbeans, Haitians, and sub-Saharan Africans.
- Africans at home; being a popular description of Africa and the Africans condensed from the accounts of African travellers from the time of Mungo Park to the present day
- Au sud de l'Afrique. Avec 150 dessins et croquis de l'auteur : Still images of Missions in Lesotho.
- Africa: being an accurate description of the regions of Ægypt, Barbary, Lybia, and Billedulgerid, the land of Negroes, Guinee, Æthiopia, and the Abyssines, with all the adjacent islands ... collected and translated from most authentick authors ... by John Ogilby
- Britain across the seas: Africa; a history and description of the British Empire in Africa
- Description de l'Afrique, contenant les noms, la situation & les confins de toutes ses parties, leurs rivières, leurs villes & leurs habitations, leurs plantes & leurs animaux; les mœurs, les coûtumes, la langue, les richesses, la religion & le gouvernement de ses peuples: Book illustrations from 1686.
- The Earth and Its Inhabitants, Africa: Illustrations from the book by Elisee Reclus. Issued c1890.
- Nos africains: la Mission Crampel, la mission Dybowski, la mission Mizon, la mission Monteil, la mission Maistre, le Soudan, le Dahomey, les missions soudanaises, le seconde mission Mizon et les puissances européennes dans l'Afrique centrale
- Notes ethnographiques sur les peuples communément appelés Bakuba, ainsi que sur les peuplades apparentées, Les Bushongo
- Sur le Niger et au pays des Touaregs: Published 1898
- Timbuctoo the Mysterious: Illustrations by Felix Dubois from 1897.
- Travels in Ethiopia, above the second cataract of the Nile; exhibiting the state of that country, and its various inhabitants, under the dominion of Mohammed Ali ; and illustrating the antiquities, arts, and history of the ancient kingdom of Meroe. Issued in 1835
- Vues D'Afrique