Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Studies Research Guide

African Studies Electronic Theses & Dissertations

What is OA?

Open Access (OA) means

you will not encounter barriers to accessing an item.

 

What is TA?

Toll Access (TA) means you will encounter barriers, such as:

- Registration

- Cost for searching

- Cost for downloading

Electronic Indexes (no full-text)

[OA]  Botswana History and Archaeology (MA Theses) (Univ. of Botswana)

[TA]  DATAD - Digital African Theses & Dissertations (Africa)

[OA]  Kenya Resources Database

[OA]  Namibian Register of Theses and Dissertations (Univ. of Namibia)

[TA]  Nexus - database of current and completed research in South Africa (to limit your search to this database, select it in the "Data Contributor" menu box in lower left; the database is listed under "South African Studies")

[OA]  Répetoires des thèses et mémoires (Bibliothèque Numérique Université Cheikh Anta DIOP/Digital Library, UCAD, Senegal)

 

International Full-Text Databases

[OA] Australasian Digital Theses (ADT) (Australia/New Zealand)

[OA] DART-Europe e-Theses Portal (Europe except France)

[OA] Memoire Online (Europe, francophone Africa, N./S. America, Asia)

[OA] NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (all regions)

[OA] OAIster (all regions) use "dissertation" in one of the search fields

[TA] ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (North America, Europe, select other regions)

[OA] TEL (thèses-en-ligne) (France)

 

African University Institutional Repositories

 

Other National and Regional Full-Text Databases

[OA] Digital library RERO DOC (Library Network of Western Switzerland)

[OA] DissOnline: Digitale Dissertationen im Internet (Germany)

[OA] Österreichische Dissertationsdatenbank (Austria)

[OA] DiVA Academic Archive On-Line (Sweden and other Scandinavian universities)

[OA] E-thesis (University of Helsinki, Finland)

[OA] NARCIS (Netherlands)

[OA] Ohiolink ETD Center (Ohio)

[OA] PASTEL - ParisTech service de theses en ligne (France)

[OA] Theses Canada (Canada)

 

Other Portals

OpenDOAR - List of African Institutional Repositories