Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Studies Research Guide

Multi-Subject Databases (IU authentication required)

The following multi-subject databases provide access to vetted, proprietary content, without regard to region, or discipline. Depending on the topics covered, individual databases from this list may also be linked elsewhere in this guide.

Specialized Databases (IU authentication required)

The following databases provide access to specialized, proprietary content, without regard to publication type e.g. monograph or serial. Depending on the topic and/or the publication type, individual databases may also be linked elsewhere in this guide.

Open Access Databases

  • Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP)

    The Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP) was founded in 1963 as a joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa. CAMP acquires and preserves materials in microform and digital formats. CAMP collects newspapers, journals, government publications, personal and corporate archives, and the personal papers of scholars and government leaders. CAMP's materials are in many African and European languages, including Swahili, Portuguese, French, Zulu, Xhosa, English, and German.

  • Digital Innovation South Africa

    DISA is a freely accessible online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994, providing a wealth of material on this fascinating period of the country’s history.

  • Literary Map of Africa

    The Literary Map of Africa is a bio-bibliographical database, designed to be a comprehensive research and information tool on African literature. It does not focus on selected authors or national / regional litteratures, nor does it follow the sometimes rigid North & sub-Saharan Africa divide; instead, the database seeks to cover the whole continent. This wider scope makes it possible for writers from different regions and countries, with varied histories and cultures, and who produce works in diverse African and European languages to be represented in one project. One objective this project hopes to fulfill is to include as many emerging writers as possible, especially those based in Africa. Many in this category of creative writers do not have a readership beyond their national boundaries and are therefore hardly represented in many bibliographies and encyclopedias.

  • OpenSourceGuinea.org (Enrique Martino)
    A domain containing all of the digitized sources cited in Enrique Martino’s Ph.D. dissertation, "Touts and Despots: Recruiting Assemblages of Contract Labour in Fernando Po, and the Gulf of Guinea, 1858–1979." The footnotes are hyperlinked and sources include transcriptions of archival materials, as well as newspapers, images, new fieldwork notebooks, and other material.

  • South African History Archive (SAHA). You'll need to register (it's free) in order to access some of the content

  • SALDRU Clippings Collection

    The clippings collection built up by the Southern Africa Labour & Development Research Unit (Saldru) in the School of Economics at the University of Cape Town covers major English language newspapers in the country from 1975-2000.

  • World Digital Library

    The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents on one site, in a variety of ways. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films. WDL items can be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, language, and contributing institution. The search feature can be used to search all of the metadata and descriptions and the full text of printed books on the site.