Guidelines for Primary Source Literacy
- Final draft of the Guidelines for Primary Source LiteracyThe SAA-ACRL/RBMS Joint Task Force on the Development of Guidelines for Primary Source Literacy developed guidelines that provide competency standards for primary source literacy. Guidelines consider and address students’ ability to interpret and analyze primary sources and students’ understanding of and ability to apply effective research skills across multiple disciplines. The Guidelines also address ethical uses of primary sources, the understanding of legal and social implications of records, the cultivation of historical empathy, the contextualization of documents into broader historical frameworks, and the curiosity and appreciation for the past.
Indiana University Primary Source Immersion Program
- Primary Source Immersion Program Grant Application (pdf)Open to instructors at all Indiana University campuses, archivists and librarians at IUB are once again hosting a three-day Primary Source Immersion Program that will help you integrate primary sources into an existing or new course, and show you new ways to foster students’ information literacy skills in relation to primary sources.
- Article about the first PSIPWritten by Meg Meiman, Head of Teaching and Learning at the Indiana University Libraries and Dina Kellams, Director of the Indiana University Archives, this article describes the first-ever Primary Sources Immersion Program (PSIP) in August 2017.
Further reading
Using Primary Sources by
An ideal resource for cultural heritage professionals who teach with original materials, this book provides fresh, adaptable, and easy-to-implement primary source literacy exercises to improve their teaching and engage their students. * Presents adaptable, time-saving, and practical exercises for different audiences, disciplines, and types of collection materials * Advances pedagogical practice in special collections and archives beyond "show-and-tell" to mirror the current methods of practitioners in information literacy, which will serve efforts toward primary source literacy and assessment * Provides straightforward, time-saving exercises that provide enough detail to offer specific guidance to instructors but allow for flexibility and adaptability
ISBN: 9781610694346Publication Date: 2014-03-20
Past or Portal? by ISBN: 9780838986103Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Interacting with History by
With nearly 142 million items and one of the largest bodies of high-quality, digitized content available, the Library of Congress (LOC) is an enormously useful resource for librarians and teachers. Yet it remains a mystery to many. Exploring the wealth of materials freely available for free from LOC, Lehman and a stellar roundup of contributors offer an up-to-date survey of teacher resources to help teachers and librarian educators shake the dust off state-mandated history and literature curricula. Beginning with an introduction by Barbara Stripling, 2013-14 ALA President, this book Presents a tour of LOC, with an overview of its primary sources, including digital resources such as maps, diaries, and songbooks Details LOC Teacher Page resources, which provide easy access to the most relevant primary sources from the collections Offers a selection of lessons from teacher-librarians across the county, with guidance on how librarians and teachers and can use the library's resources in their local communities Features numerous sidebars, tables, and illustrations, showing how LOC's resources can illuminate the past while also providing a backdrop for discussing contemporary issues
ISBN: 9780838912058Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Uncovering Our History by
Using primary sources to teach history, which goes beyond rote memorization of dates and facts, has been incorporated into the educational standards of nearly every state. For overburdened K-12 teachers, librarians, and media specialists, complying with those standards is easier said than done. In this useful handbook, expert author Susan Veccia offers readers practical ways to incorporate these standards into their curriculum, using the resources of the Library of Congress's American Memory Website. This national treasure and resource for bringing history alive is home to over 100 digitized collections of primary sources - more than 7.5 million documents While the wealth of information on this site is freely available, its magnitude can seem overwhelming. This hands-on insider's guide helps educators and librarians navigate the information and learn when, where, and how to incorporate these online primary documents into the curriculum. The author along with four contributors - three teachers, one librarian - share practical lessons and personal stories that illustrate: How American Memory resources can be used to teach history, information; Literacy, and critical thinking in elem
ISBN: 0838908624Publication Date: 2003-01-01
- Putting the Draft Guidelines on Primary Source Literacy into PracticeArticle by Sarah M. Horowitz, Curator of Rare Books & Manuscripts and Head of Quaker & Special Collections – Haverford College.
- In Search of Primary Source Literacy: Opportunities and ChallengesArticle by J. Gordon Daines III and Cory L. Nimer.
- Teaching with Digital ArchivesAmerican Historical Association blog post by John Rosinbum.