Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Studies Research Guide

Welcome!

The Indiana University African Studies Collection is among the leading collections of its kind in the world. Its vast print, audiovisual, and digital holdings include a significant body of materials on and in African languages as well as three special collections: the Liberian Collections, the most significant academic repository of Liberian materials in the world; the Somali Collection considered one of the top three in the world; and the H.K. Banda Archive, a collection of primary materials on Malawi and southern and central Africa more generally. Rare Africana materials are housed in the Lilly Library.

The main objective of the Indiana University Libraries African Studies Collection is to build and maintain a collection of materials produced about Africa and in Africa in all media that will support the present and future undergraduate, graduate, and post-doctoral educational needs of Indiana University students and research needs of African Studies faculty. To accomplish this, the Librarian for African Studies selects print, microform, audiovisual, and electronic materials for the research collections of the Bloomington campus, and provides electronic/digital access to the collection by contributing to the Library's web site. 

Using this Guide

This guide has been created by the Librarian for African Studies to help users discover, and access IUB Libraries materials related to Africa. Please use the tabs at left to find links to, and usage guidelines for, the resources outlined in this guide.

The Librarian for African Studies is committed to eliminating barriers to access. If you encounter any difficulties in using the guide or accessing resources linked herein, please contact the Librarian for African Studies.

LIBRARY SUPPORT DURING COVID-19

IU LIBRARIES

FAIR USE GUIDELINES FOR REMOTE TEACHING

BOOKS BY MAIL

CENTER FOR RESEARCH LIBRARIES (CRL)

  • CRL's digital resources continue to be accessible. Remote users may access resources using Shibboleth or via your institution’s proxy server.
  • Personalized reference consultations continue to be provided on request. Through this service, CRL staff will identify materials of interest to patrons and assistance in navigating through our catalog.
  • ‚ÄčThe CRL website offers helpful information about all available services. Patrons will be able to access and explore our online catalog to locate resources. Topic guides are available for reference to assist in the familiarization of CRL's collections. The catalog records of CRL collections are discoverable, whether via WorldCat or other discovery systems.

CAMP COLLECTIONS 

"The Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP) was founded in 1963 as a joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa."

If you wish to search within CAMP’s collections, you may use the CRL Catalog’s Advanced Search to limit by ‘Location’.  You may search the following Locations:
If you wish to search CAMP’s digitized collections only, you could use the CRL Catalog’s Digital Scope’s Advanced Search, and again limit by Location.
 
CAMP has preserved many collections over the years for which Collection Guides are available.  The CAMP Collection Guides are available here:  https://www.crl.edu/area-studies/camp/collections/guides
 

Find Ebooks in IUCAT

Temporary Free Access to Academic Resources

This guide provides resources for librarians, faculty and researchers to support teaching, learning and discovery as classes are moved online for the foreseeable future.

In response to the challenges created by the global public health crisis of COVID-19, many vendors and publishers are making scholarly content temporarily available for free.

Since access is provided on a temporary basis, access to any particular resource may be withdrawn, without notice, by a vendor or publisher. The exception to this are the resources listed on the Open Access Content page of this guide.

This guide will continue to be updated as we discover additional resources.