Skip to main content

African Studies Research Guide

Chicago Manual of Style Preferred Citation for IU African Studies Archival Sources

Footnotes or Endnotes with Chicago

In the notes, first cite the specific archival record, followed by the date (day, month, year), identifier (box/folder/item number), name of collection, name and location of repository.

Letter

Correspondence from H. K. Banda to R. P. M. Carlson, 27 March 1973, Box 1, Folder 2, H. K .Banda Archive, 1950-1999, Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, Indiana, USA.

Textual document

Typescript of sermon by E. Reginald Townsend to Grand Lodge of Freemasons of Liberia,1980, IULC002, Box 2, Freemasons [Sermons 1972-1980], E. Reginald Townsend and Evelyn Diggs Townsend Papers, 1905-2002, Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, Indiana, USA.

Photographs

Photograph of His Excellency the officer administering the government, Mr. Clifford Dupont, undated, African Studies Reference Collection, Photographs [Rhodesia], Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, Indiana, USA.

Ephemera

Poster for 50/50 Women & Men in the National Assembly [Namibia],  African Studies Reference Collection, Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, Indiana, USA.
Pamphlet of the Maputo Declaration of October 12, 1986, African Studies Reference Collection, Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, Indiana, USA.

Bibliography with Chicago

In the bibliography, first cite the author, followed by the specific archival record, followed by the date (year), identifier (box/folder/item number). Next list the name of collection, followed by the name and location of the repository. Also: cite individual items when you've referenced only a single item from a collection.

Townsend, E. Reginald. Typescript of sermon by E. Reginald Townsend to Grand Lodge of Freemasons of Liberia,1980, IULC002, Box 2, Freemasons [Sermons 1972-1980]. E. Reginald Townsend and Evelyn Diggs Townsend Papers, 1905-2002. Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, Indiana, USA.

 

H. K. Banda to R. P. M. Carlson, 27 March 1973, Box 1, Folder 2. H. K .Banda Archive, 1950-1999. Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, Indiana, USA.

If you reference multiple items from a collection, cite the collection as a whole: Collection name, reference code. Repository, location.

E. Reginald Townsend and Evelyn Diggs Townsend Papers, 1905-2002. Typescript of sermon by E. Reginald Townsend to Grand Lodge of Freemasons of Liberia,1980 Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, Indiana, USA.
E. Reginald Townsend and Evelyn Diggs Townsend Papers, 1905-2002. Correspondence from Julius Adighibe to E. Reginald Townsend, 23 December 1975.  Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, Indiana, USA.

Digital Facsimiles with Chicago

In  the case of an item that is both a paper document in the collection and a digital object in Archives Online or Image Collections Online, the best way of citing the document as a digital object in  APA is to add the Reference URL to the end of the APA citation preceded by "Retrieved from".

Photograph of Monrovia, view from the Ducor Hotel, March 1977, iudl:885215, Willie A. and Lucile S. Whitten Photography Collection, Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, Indiana, USA. Retrieved from http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/images/public-index.htm
H. K. Banda to R. P. M. Carlson, 27 March 1973, Box 1, Folder 2, H. K .Banda Archive, 1950-1999, Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, Indiana, USA. Retrieved from http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/findingaids