African Studies Research Guide

Ephemera (usually used in plural) are generally paper items (such as posters, broadsides, and tickets) that were originally meant to be discarded after use but have since become collectibles.

"Ephemera." Merriam-Webster.com.

Ephemera

The African Studies Collection of ephemera consists of a variety of newsletters, indexes, library acquisitions lists, pamphlets, chapbooks and posters. The Pamphlet Collection, the Onitsha Market Literature Collection (chapbooks), and the Poster Collection have their own pages within this guide. Much of the collection, including the pamphlets, is located behind the elevators on the 6th floor of the Research Collections in the Wells Library. Please ask for assistance with these materials in the African Studies Collection Office, Wells Library E660.

Ephemera are acquired selectively by gift, exchange, and purchase which complement materials acquired and cataloged for the Indiana University Library. Emphasis is given to materials of scholarly value which are not cataloged under current Indiana University Library policies, especially to sample serials and newsletters and other irregular publications of social and political organizations that are active in Sub-Saharan Africa. Sample periodicals will be kept for ten years, then given to another library that needs them or added to the pamphlet collection if no major library holds them.

Serials and Institutions:

Africa Insider
Africa Notes (Institute for African Development, Cornell University)
African News (University of London, Centre of African Studies Newsletter)
Boston University -African Studies Center
The BUN (Buea University Newsletter)
Centre for Development Research-Copenhagen-Researching Development Newsletter
Development Index (Department of International Development (DFID), UK)

Development Index (Overseas Development Administration, UK)

Indiana University
   -African Students Association Newsletter
   -African Studies Outreach: a Newsletter for Teachers
   -African Studies Program Newsletter 
   -International Programs Newsletter

MANSA Newsletter (Mande Studies Association)
Michigan State University African Studies Center -Tuesday Bulletin 

Mwenge (Peramiho)
Northwestern University Program of African Studies - PAS News and Events
News from Nordiska Afrikainstitutet
News from Zambia 
South Sudanese Lens
Spotlight on Zimbabwe
Sudan Human Rights Voice (London)
Tamale Institute of Cross Cultural Studies

Special Items:
AFORD bumper sticker.
Botswana Congress Party Sticker.
COD Flag.
Nigerian Woman Save Democracy flyer.
Nouakchott, Mauritania Map
SWAPO Party Information Mobilization and Voters Education flyers, sticker, and flag.