Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Studies Research Guide

Pamphlet Collection

The African Studies Pamphlet Collection is a research-level collection that includes brochures, flyers, pamphlets/booklets, reprints, conference papers, and other items written in a variety of languages, including African vernacular languages. The collection also includes sample serials that have been transferred from the Sample Serials Collection.

Collection materials include newspaper articles (e.g., a collection of newspaper articles on southern Sudan from 1966-1972); journal articles; conference and workshop papers (e.g., the edited and collected papers from the "Workshop on Southern Africa", a conference which took place at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, on August 13-16, 1973); and brochures (e.g., Amon Kotei's "Exhibition of Drawings and Paintings," presented by The Ghana Society of Artists, 5-9 Dec. 1960).

SEARCHABLE INDEX

The online Index includes approximately 10,000 items. The index is searchable, and most items can be borrowed from or used in the African Studies Collection Office in the Herman B Wells Library, Room E660.

Onitsha Market Literature

Onitsha Market Literature image

"Onitsha Market Literature" is a term used to designate the popular pamphlets that were sold at the large market in Onitsha, Nigeria, in the middle decades of the 20th century. Written by and intended for "common" or "uneducated" people, this literature covered a range of genres including fiction, current events, plays, social advice, and language study. Starting in the 1960s, European and American scholars began to take an interest in this form of popular literature, especially insofar as it reflected African social conditions. IU possesses approximately 170 of these pamphlets. They are uncataloged and do not circulate, but anyone interested in consulting them can contact the African Studies Collection Office, Herman B Wells Library E660.

SEARCHABLE INDEX

The Onitsha Market Literature section of the African Studies Pamphlet Collection provides a searchable index of the 170+ items in the collection.

RECOMMENDED READING

Although somewhat out of date, the guide to the literature published by the British Library, Market literature from Nigeria: a checklist, edited by Hogg and Sternberg (1990), remains an extremely thorough and helpful starting-point to this topic.

Online Resources:

Onitsha market literature: from the bookstalls of a Nigerian market.
21 digitized pamphlets in the Onitsha Collection in the Spencer Research Library at the University of Kansas.

Onitsha Market Literature
13 digitized pamphlets in the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC).

u-Mesu, Katalin Egri. "African literature survival outside the realm of large world publishers: illusion or reality?"

Larson, Charles. "Cyprian Ekwensi."

McCarthy, Cavan Michael. "Printing in Onitsha: some personal observations on the production of Nigerian market literature."

Thometz, Kurt. "Bill French & Onitsha market literature: afterword to Life turns man up and down."