60 Minutes: 1997 -2014 – provides access to streaming video of 60 minutes, the CBS television news program, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast. Provides access to over 500 hours of video from 18 years of broadcasts. Subject areas cover some of the most important topics in history, business and economics, health sciences, law, international affairs, psychology, society and culture, performing arts, women’s studies, African American studies, and politics. Journalists include Mike Wallace, Ed Bradley, Charlie Rose, Anderson Cooper, Lesley Stahl, Scott Pelley, Morley Safer, Lara Logan, Steve Kroft, Bob Simon, and others.
Alexander Street Press - provides access to over 51,000 online streaming titles. Subject areas include, but are not limited to: Anthropology, Art & Architecture, Black Studies, Dance, Education, Fashion, Health, American and World History, Indigenous Studies, LGBT, Music, News Archives, Nursing, Opera, Psychology, Theatre, Silent Film, Sports Medicine and much more.
American History in Video -- people who witness notable historic moments, either in real time or on film, remember forever how they felt at the time. Who can forget the shock of seeing the helicopter pushed off the USS Blue Ridge carrier at the Fall of Saigon in 1975, or the thrill of watching Neil Armstrong taking his first step onto the moon’s surface? Now you can experience these and tens of thousands of other historical moments in the same visceral way, with American History in Video. Contains award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts, that bring history alive for students and give library patrons hundreds of educational video titles they can view at home or in the classroom.
Black Studies in Video -- an award-winning video collection of archival footage, powerful interviews with leading figures in the civil rights movement, and documentaries examining the black experience in the arts, history,, politics, public and private life, and much more. The collection contains 500 hours and is the exclusive streaming source for the SNCC Legacy Video Collection.
Border and Migration Studies - In 2015, the world recorded the largest number of displaced individuals in modern history. Across Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe, the environmental, financial, political, and cultural impacts of migrant populations and borderland disputes dominate headlines. Yet in order to contextualize modern crises, it is vital to understand the historical, geographic, demographic, economic, social, and diplomatic dimensions of past border and migration issues. Border and Migration Studies Online helps students and researchers understand today’s world through primary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera related to significant border areas and events from the 19th to 21st centuries.
China’s Cultural Revolution in Memories: The CR/10 Project -- is an experimental oral history project. It aims to neutrally collect ordinary people’s authentic memories and impressions of China's Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution, which lasted 10 years, from 1966 to 1976. Collection of interviews began in December 2015 and continues to the present on the University of Pittsburgh’s Digital Collections website. Includes access to oral histories, documentary, maps, timelines, and other digital content.
CNN Video Collection - provides access to CNN’s specials and feature programming on business, economics, technology, environmental studies, health, women’s studies, and human rights. Highlights include: “We Will Rise: Michelle Obama's Mission to Educate Girls Around the World;” an interview series with female leaders including Beyonce, Sheryl Sandberg, Oprah, Tina Brown, Michelle Wie, Nancy Pelosi; series like “Future Finance”, “Passion to Portfolio”, “Eco Solutions;" specials on human trafficking, global poverty, and other human rights issues around the world; features on global cities, travel, world cultures, religion, food, and lifestyles outside the western hemisphere.
Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I & II -- A core resource for anthropology courses of all levels, this two-volume collection contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
Environmental Issues Online - Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The comprehensive database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries, enabling students to build a critical understanding of the relationship between people and the environment. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of the field of Environmental Studies, content is drawn from discipline perspectives including: Anthropology, Diplomacy, Ecology, Economics, Geography, History, Law, Medicine, Politics & Policy, Sociology, and Photography.
Filmakers Library Online -- provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. Now more than 1,000 of these titles are available online in a single, easy-to search, multidisciplinary collection of streaming video designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers and teaching faculty.
Films on Demand Academic Collection -- provides access to thousands of videos related to race and gender studies, Black Lives Matter, the environment and climate change, Ted Talks, Ken Burns award-winning documentaries, HBO documentaries (select), and so much more.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies -- The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. PLEASE NOTE: for some programs, you may need to create an account and submit a request. To create an account select Log In, and then Join Now. Users will then receive a confirmation email. Login and then enter a search term. Click on a testimony in the search results and request access. Please note that records truncate last names of those who gave testimony to protect their privacy. If you are looking for a specific person’s testimony, either shorten their last name to the first initial (“Eva B.”) or contact the archive directly. You only need to request access to one testimony to obtain viewing access for the entire collection. Once the approval email is received, users may view testimonies. A browser refresh may be necessary.
Free Internet Resources - provides access to national and international archives and libraries with diverse collections.
HistoryMakers Digital Archive -- An African American oral history video collection. Includes interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject, such as a career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history.
Human Rights Studies Online -- is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
Indigenous Studies Collection - the collection includes 152 documentaries spanning the global community from the Americas to Australia highlighting climate and environmental changes, human rights, traditions, and more.
Kanopy provides access to numerous feature and documentary films in the following subject areas and studies: English, Comparative Literature, Communication & Culture, Gender, Environmental, LGBTQ, and Library Science. Collections include: Media Education Foundation, Criterion, Green Planet and more. Additional rental services are available to faculty and instructors for classroom use only.
LBGT Studies in Video - is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Media Education Foundation - The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the affect these representations have on identity and culture, MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies, Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.
Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive -- allows users to search through and view the 51,537 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide currently available in the Archive that were conducted in 61 countries and 39 languages. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China and the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide.
Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda -- a collection of documentaries, newsreels and features by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers, ranging from the early twentieth century to the 1980s.
SWANK provides access to major Hollywood and independent movie studio box-office hits for public performance in non-theatrical markets (markets outside theaters). Swank represents Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Bros., Sony Pictures, NBC Universal, New Line Cinema, Lionsgate, MGM, Touchstone Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Columbia Pictures, Tri Star Pictures, The Weinstein Company, Focus Features, Miramax Films, Warner Independent Pictures, Fine Line Features, Overture Films, Samuel Goldwyn Films, HBO, Hallmark Hall of Fame, United Artists, National Geographic, ThinkFilm, Magnolia Pictures, Image Entertainment, Picturehouse Films, Newmarket Films, IFC Films, First Look Studios, First Independent Pictures, Monterey Media, and many other independent studios. Faculty/instructors may request up to five titles per course, per semester for required class viewings only. As a bonus, those titles then become accessible to the IUB community. Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org for more details.
Television News Archive -- indexes evening broadcasts from ABC, ABC Nightline, CBS, CNN, NBC and PBS. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. The world's most available, extensive and complete archive of major network television news. The database currently includes 725,000 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening news and special news program. Includes presidential press conferences and political campaigns, national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001. All broadcasts are copyright protected for class and research use. The database will list results of individual story-level records. From each of these records you can press the button to display the listing of the entire program. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present, as indicated by the Video clip available. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape. The news archive charges a fee to recover the cost of providing this service. Coverage:1968-present- Updated daily.
TV RAIN -- Russian TV RAIN, ТВ ДОЖДЬ. -- available to users on IU Bloomington Campus only. One of the most-cited television channels in Russia, TV RAIN provides a forum for those opposition leaders denied access to progovernment mass media. PLEASE NOTE: OFF CAMPUS ACCESS AVAILABLE VIA IUANYWARE BROWSER APPS ONLY. TV RAIN has managed to circumvent censorship, offering independent views on current events in Russia and the world and covering sensitive political topics like Crimea, Donbass in East Ukraine, Islamic State and more. https://libraries.indiana.edu/tv-ra.
World History in Video -- this online collection of streaming video gives faculty, students, and history lovers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. A rich survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall, World History in Video is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Its unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage delivers the sights, sounds, artifacts, and histories from around the world straight to your desktop.
World Newsreels Online: 1929–1966 -- captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Key collections include: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time. Produced from 1929 through the early post-war period, these films provide a unique—and until now largely neglected—resource that will give scholars real insight into how people learned about and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.