Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Online Streaming Videos

Anthropology Streaming Platforms

Alexander Street Press provides access to 30 online streaming databases containing music, film, documents, and more. Subject areas include, but are not limited to:  Anthropology, Art & Architecture, Black Studies, Dance, Education, Fashion, Health, American and World History, LGBT, Music, News Archives, Nursing, Opera, Psychology, Theatre, Silent Film, Sports Medicine and much more.

Anthropology Online - Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. (supplemental resource, non-film.)

Ethnographic Video Online  -- provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior—with more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Ethnographic Video Online, Volume II -- offers an additional 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries, field recordings, and previously unpublished footage from renowned anthropological archives.

The Films on Demand’s Master Academic Collection provides access to over 17,000 titles in various disciplines to include Anthropology, Communications, Criminal Justice & Law, English, History,  Music and Dance, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology and more.

Filmakers Library Online -- provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. Now more than 1,000 of these titles are available online in a single, easy-to search, multidisciplinary collection of streaming video designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers and teaching faculty.

Independent World Cinema Contemporary and Classic Film -- provides access to more than 400 of the most important films produced from the early 20th century to today. It proudly turns the spotlight on preeminent independent distributors -- Milestone films, Zeitgeist Films, Pragda, and Oscilloscope.  More than just a cinema students collection, these films support disciplines, such as cultural history, psychology, gender studies, anthropology, theatre, African-American studies, and more.