Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Online Streaming Videos

Music / Performing Arts Streaming Platforms

The BBC Shakespeare Plays online streaming collection contains 37 renowned works by Shakespeare, one of the greatest playwright for the soaring beauty of his language, for his profound insight into human nature, for the truths he dramatized and for the realism of the characters he created. He was, and remains, a superb entertainer.

Black Studies in Video -- an award-winning video collection of archival footage, powerful interviews with leading figures in the civil rights movement, and documentaries examining the black experience in the arts, politics, public and private life, and much more. In partnership with California Newsreel, the oldest nonprofit social issue documentary film center in the United States, this collection is the exclusive streaming source for the SNCC Legacy Video Collection.

Classical Music Library -- is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. This ever growing collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. Contains over 30,000 classical music recordings.

Dance in Video -- dance as an art form is ephemeral—there are rarely scripts to study, no commonly used notation to analyze—making a live performance vital for study and research. Dance in Video provides the visual element necessary for appreciation and analysis, capturing dance performances from the stage and bringing them directly to your computer screen. Dance in Video will contain five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Ethnographic Video Online  -- provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior—with more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Ethnographic Video Online, Volume II -- is the second volume of the award-winning Ethnographic Video Online collection, adding 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries, field recordings, and previously unpublished footage from renowned anthropological archives.

The Films on Demand’s Master Academic Collection provides access to over 17,000 titles in various disciplines to include Anthropology, Communications, Criminal Justice & Law, English, History,  Music and Dance, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology and more.

Filmakers Library Online -- provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. Now more than 1,000 of these titles are available online in a single, easy-to search, multidisciplinary collection of streaming video designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers and teaching faculty.

Music Online: Opera in Video -- contains over 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries, and then delivered online through streaming video. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present -- delivers approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and the Global Films Initiative, along with approximately fifty award-winning shorts.

Silent Film Online -- these films represent the foundation of modern cinematic technique and film theory, the collection covers silent feature films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries -- produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Theatre in Video -- contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all.