Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Online Streaming Videos

History Streaming Platforms

60 Minutes: 1997 -2014 –  provides access to streaming video of 60 minutes, the CBS television news program, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.  Provides access to over 500 hours of video from 18 years of broadcasts. Subject areas cover some of the most important topics in history, business and economics, health sciences, law, international affairs, psychology, society and culture, performing arts, women’s studies, African American studies, and politics. Journalists include Mike Wallace, Ed Bradley, Charlie Rose, Anderson Cooper, Lesley Stahl, Scott Pelley, Morley Safer, Lara Logan, Steve Kroft, Bob Simon, and others.

American History in Video -- people who witness notable historic moments, either in real time or on film, remember forever how they felt at the time. Who can forget the shock of seeing the helicopter pushed off the USS Blue Ridge carrier at the Fall of Saigon in 1975, or the thrill of watching Neil Armstrong taking his first step onto the moon’s surface? Now you can experience these and tens of thousands of other historical moments in the same visceral way, with American History in Video.  Contains award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts, that bring history alive for students and give library patrons hundreds of educational video titles they can view at home or in the classroom.

Black Studies in Video -- is an award-winning black studies portfolio that brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

Britannica Academic  -  contains a small but growing collection of streaming resources to include animals, art & literature, earth & geography, history, science, technology and more.

China’s Cultural Revolution in Memories: The CR/10 Project
The CR/10 Project is an experimental oral history project. It aims to neutrally collect ordinary people’s authentic memories and impressions of China's Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution, which lasted 10 years, from 1966 to 1976. Collection of interviews began in December 2015 and continues to the present on the University of Pittsburgh’s Digital Collections website. Includes access to oral histories, documentary, maps, timelines, and other digital content. 

CNN Video Collection - provides access to CNN’s specials and feature programming on business, economics, technology, environmental studies, health, women’s studies, and human rights. Highlights include: “We Will Rise: Michelle Obama's Mission to Educate Girls Around the World;” an interview series with female leaders including Beyonce, Sheryl Sandberg, Oprah, Tina Brown, Michelle Wie, Nancy Pelosi; series like “Future Finance”, “Passion to Portfolio”, “Eco Solutions;" specials on human trafficking, global poverty, and other human rights issues around the world; features on global cities, travel, world cultures, religion, food, and lifestyles outside the western hemisphere.

The Films on Demand’s Master Academic Collection provides access to over 17,000 titles in various disciplines to include Anthropology, Communications, Criminal Justice & Law, English, History,  Music and Dance, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology and more.

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies -- The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. PLEASE NOTE:  for some programs, you may need to create an account and submit a request. To create an account select Log In, and then Join Now. Users will then receive a confirmation email. Login and then enter a search term. Click on a testimony in the search results and request access. Please note that records truncate last names of those who gave testimony to protect their privacy. If you are looking for a specific person’s testimony, either shorten their last name to the first initial (“Eva B.”) or contact the archive directly. You only need to request access to one testimony to obtain viewing access for the entire collection. Once the approval email is received, users may view testimonies. A browser refresh may be necessary.

HistoryMakers Digital Archive -- An African American oral history video collection.  Includes interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject, such as a career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history.

LGBT Studies in Video -- is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

March of Time -- From 1935-1967, American theatergoers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc's unique and controversial film series, The March of Time.  Now, for the first time, this groundbreaking series is available in online streaming video in a single, cross- searchable collection designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers, teaching faculty and students.  The videos have been restored to their original luster by HBO Archives, allowing viewers to experience these historic films as audiences did in earlier decades.

Meet the Press -- opens up a wealth of information to libraries by making over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface. Since its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. For the first time ever, network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates—is available via streaming online video. Now, students and scholars have unprecedented access to this treasure trove of material, including many episodes not seen since their original broadcast.

PBS Video Collection -- assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and  technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including FrontlineNOVAAmerican ExperienceOdyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.

Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive -- allows users to search through and view the 51,537 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide currently available in the Archive that were conducted in 61 countries and 39 languages. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China and the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide.

Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda -- a collection of documentaries, newsreels and features by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers, ranging from the early twentieth century to the 1980s.

Television News Archive -- indexes evening broadcasts from ABC, ABC Nightline, CBS, CNN, NBC and PBS. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. The world's most available, extensive and complete archive of major network television news. The database currently includes 725,000 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening news and special news program. Includes presidential press conferences and political campaigns, national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001. All broadcasts are copyright protected for class and research use. The database will list results of individual story-level records. From each of these records you can press the button to display the listing of the entire program. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present, as indicated by the Video clip available. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape. The news archive charges a fee to recover the cost of providing this service. Coverage:1968-present- Updated daily.

TV RAIN -- Russian TV RAIN, ТВ ДОЖДЬ. -- available to users on IU Bloomington Campus only. One of the most-cited television channels in Russia, TV RAIN provides a forum for those opposition leaders denied access to progovernment mass media.  PLEASE NOTE: OFF CAMPUS ACCESS AVAILABLE VIA IUANYWARE BROWSER APPS ONLY. TV RAIN has managed to circumvent censorship, offering independent views on current events in Russia and the world and covering sensitive political topics like Crimea, Donbass in East Ukraine, Islamic State and more. https://libraries.indiana.edu/tv-ra.

World History in Video -- this online collection of streaming video gives faculty, students, and history lovers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. A rich survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall, World History in Video is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Its unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage delivers the sights, sounds, artifacts, and histories from around the world straight to your desktop.

World Newsreels Online: 1929–1966 -- captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Key collections include: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time. Produced from 1929 through the early post-war period, these films provide a unique—and until now largely neglected—resource that will give scholars real insight into how people learned about and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.