Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Online Streaming Videos

Film / Media Studies Streaming Platforms

Black Studies in Video -- an award-winning video collection of archival footage, powerful interviews with leading figures in the civil rights movement, and documentaries examining the black experience in the arts, politics, public and private life, and much more. In partnership with California Newsreel, the oldest nonprofit social issue documentary film center in the United States, this collection is the exclusive streaming source for the SNCC Legacy Video Collection.

Criterion Collection / Janus Films -- dedicated to gathering the greatest films from around the world and publishing them in editions that offer the highest technical quality and award-winning, original supplements.  The foundation of the collection is the work of such masters of cinema as Renoir, Godard, Kurosawa, Cocteau, Fellini, Bergman, Tarkovsky, Hitchcock, Fuller, Lean, Kubrick, Lang, Sturges, Dreyer, Eisenstein, Ozu, Sirk, Buñuel, Powell and Pressburger.  Each film is presented uncut, in its original aspect ratio, as its maker intended it to be seen.

The Films on Demand’s Master Academic Collection provides access to over 17,000 titles in various disciplines to include Anthropology, Communications, Criminal Justice & Law, English, History,  Music and Dance, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology and more.

Filmakers Library Online -- provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. Now more than 1,000 of these titles are available online in a single, easy-to search, multidisciplinary collection of streaming video designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers and teaching faculty.

Independent World Cinema Contemporary and Classic Film -- provides access to more than 400 of the most important films produced from the early 20th century to today. It proudly turns the spotlight on preeminent independent distributors -- Milestone films, Zeitgeist Films, Pragda, and Oscilloscope.  More than just a cinema students collection, these films support disciplines, such as cultural history, psychology, gender studies, anthropology, theatre, African-American studies, and more.

Kanopy provides access to numerous feature and documentary films in the following subject areas and studies:  English, Comparative Literature, Communication & Culture, Gender, Environmental, LGBTQ, and Library Science.  Collections include: Media Education FoundationCriterionGreen Planetand more.

LGBT Studies in Video  - is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.

LGBT Thought and Culture  - is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.

March of Time -- from 1935-1967, American theatergoers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc's unique and controversial film series, The March of Time.  Now, for the first time, this groundbreaking series is available in online streaming video in a single, cross- searchable collection designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers, teaching faculty and students.  The videos have been restored to their original luster by HBO Archives, allowing viewers to experience these historic films as audiences did in earlier decades.

Media Studies & Communications Collection -- provides access to quality films used in Gender Studies, Film Studies, Journalism, and Marketing.  Includes over 70 documentary films, and highly requested titles, such as: "Killing Us Softly," "Dreamworlds" "Joystick Warriors: Video Games, Violence & the Culture of Militarism," "Game Over: Gender, Race & Violence in Video Games,"  and "Tough Guise: Violence. Media and the Crisis in Masculinity."

Meet the Press -- opens up a wealth of information to libraries by making over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface. Since its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. For the first time ever, network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates—is available via streaming online video. Now, students and scholars have unprecedented access to this treasure trove of material, including many episodes not seen since their original broadcast.

New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present -- New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990–Present, an online streaming video collection, delivers approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and the Global Films Initiative, along with approximately fifty award-winning shorts.

PBS Video -- This collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and  technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including FrontlineNOVAAmerican ExperienceOdyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.

Silent Film Online -- Silent Film Online launched with 250 streaming online titles and will more than double in size by completion. Together, these films represent the foundation of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated by Alexander Street’s editors and Video Advisory Board, the collection covers silent feature films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.

SWANK provides access to major Hollywood and independent movie studio box-office hits for public performance in non-theatrical markets (markets outside theaters). Swank represents Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Bros., Sony Pictures, NBC Universal, New Line Cinema, Lionsgate, MGM, Touchstone Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Columbia Pictures, Tri Star Pictures, The Weinstein Company, Focus Features, Miramax Films, Warner Independent Pictures, Fine Line Features, Overture Films, Samuel Goldwyn Films, HBO, Hallmark Hall of Fame, United Artists, National Geographic, ThinkFilm, Magnolia Pictures, Image Entertainment, Picturehouse Films, Newmarket Films, IFC Films, First Look Studios, First Independent Pictures, Monterey Media, and many other independent studios. The IUB Libraries provides access to a select list of titles at the request of the instructor. Titles must be required viewings. Up to five titles may be requested per course, per semester. Contact libmedia@indiana.edu for purchase options.

Television News Archive -- available are news transcripts from the 1960s to the present, and online video for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present as indicated by the camera logo.

World Newsreels Online: 1929–1966 -- Captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Key collections include: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time. Produced from 1929 through the early post-war period, these films provide a unique—and until now largely neglected—resource that will give scholars real insight into how people learned about and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.