EBSCOhost eBooks Collection
- EBSCO eBook Collection
This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 6,000 full text books in a variety of subject areas, fully searchable by author, title, and keyword.
EBSCO Accessibility Information
ERA has an established workflow for requesting accessible copies of EBSCO e-books. Please see the links below for information about EBSCO products and accessibility.
Availability
EBSCO e-books have different permissions depending on a variety of factors. The license may be for 1 user, 3 users, unlimited users, or non-linear lending (typically, 325 uses per year).
Note: If there is only 1 copy of an e-book available, it cannot be downloaded/checked out. Instead, users may only view the e-book online.
Unlike ProQuest Ebook Central e-books, EBSCO e-books are typically system-wide. Th main exceptions are old Lyrasis/Netlibrary collections which were purchased prior to the system-wide agreement. The IUCAT record should correctly reflect the campuses with access.
The Bloomington campus has automatic upgrades enabled for titles with limited user availability. If a second user attempts to open a 1-user book, it will automatically upgrade to 3-users, and if 3 users attempt to use the book, it will upgrade to unlimited users. This upgrade feature is available on many, but not all EBSCO e-books. If the e-book is not available in a higher user limit, is no longer available for purchase, or the cost of the upgrade is over the limit, it will not upgrade automatically.
Note: If the e-book was initially purchased by a campus other than Bloomington, the automatic upgrade will not occur.
Simultaneous User Limits
To determine the simultaneous user limit for EBSCO e-books, navigate to the e-book's detailed record page. IUCAT links to EBSCO e-books will take you to that page automatically.
Following the standard metadata about the e-book (title, subject headings, etc.) but before the Table of Contents, the "Concurrent User Level" is indicated.
DRM-Free e-books
Per EBSCO's March 5, 2018 announcement, some EBSCO titles will be available DRM-free. Not all titles will be available with this purchase model, and any previously purchased e-books will not necessarily be upgraded to this model (even if available). Consult with the Head of Acquisitions for more information about this model and its availability.
Using the Online Viewer
To view an EBSCOHost e-book in the online viewing platform click either the "PDF Full Text" or "EPUB Full Text" button: 
To search within the eBook in the online viewer platform, select the "Search within" tab at th top left of the screen.
A search box will appear:
Enter your search terms in this box and click search. Your results will appear underneath the search dialog.
To navigate to specific content in the online viewer either select the section or chapter you wish to view from the linked table of contents located to the left of the viewer:
Dowloading the eBook
EBSCOhost allows up to 60 pages to be saved to PDF.
In the Online Viewer, go to the first page of the section you would like to save to PDF.
From the menu at the right side of the screen, select the "Save Pages" link: 
A "Save Pages to PDF" menu will appear above the Online Viewer:
Select the page range you would like and click the "Save PDF" button.
An entire eBook on EBSCOhost can downloaded for a maximum of 7 days. During the time that you have a eBook checked out, it may be unavailable to other users depending on the number of users that are allowed for that particular book.
NOTE: If there is only 1 copy of an e-book available, it cannot be downloaded/checked out. Instead, users may only view the e-book online.
To download an eBook, first click the "Download this eBook" link: 
A popup sign in screen will appear:
If you already have and EBSCOhost account, click the "Sign in to My EBSCOhost" ling.
If you do not have an account, click the "Create a new Account" link and create an account using your @indiana.edu email account
Check your computer to see if you have the program Adobe Digital Editions installed. If you do not have it, visit the Adobe site to download and install the program.
After logging in with your EBSCOhost account and insuring that you have Adobe Digital Editions, open the "Download This eBook (Offline)" box, select the checkout period and click the "Checkout & Download" button:
*The "Checkout Period" is how long the book will be available on your computer before it is automatically removed. You can choose to return the book sooner if you would like.
From the Open download dialog box, select the "Open with" option, and make sure that "Adobe Digital Editions" is listed in the dropdown menu, then click "OK". You may have to search for this program if you have not used it before:
It may take a few seconds for the content to download.
Double click the book to open
To search in Adobe Digital Editions, enter your search term in the search box located at the top right side of the screen, and click one of the arrows :
Use the arrow buttons to toggle through the results. There is no results screen for these eBooks.
To navigate to specific chapters or sections of the eBook, select the desired section from the Table of Contents menu located on the left side of the screen.
To navigate to a specific page, click the current page number at the bottom of the screen and input the page number you would like to see and press enter.
If you are finished with an eBook before the end of your checkout period, you can return it early.
To do this using Adobe Digital editions, return to the "Bookshelves" view by clicking the "Library" button from the viewing window: 
Right click on the book that you would like to return and select the "Return Borrowed Item" option
To do this using the EBSCO Ebooks app, go to the "Bookshelf" and click the small arrow next to the title to be removed.
On the information page, select the return button.
