Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

World News Coverage

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports, 1941-1996 FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports constitutes an archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news. FBIS Daily Reports is comprised of the reports from Middle East and [North] Africa (MEA), 1974-1987; Near East and South Asia (NES), 1987-1996; South Asia (SAS), 1980-1987; Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), 1974-1980 and (AFR), 1987-1996; China (CHI), 1974-1996; Asia and the Pacific (APA), 1974-1987; East Asia (EAS), 1987-1996; Latin America (LAT and LAM), 1974-1996; Eastern Europe (EEU), 1974-1996; Soviet Union/Central Eurasia (SOV), 1974-1996; Western Europe (WEU), 1974-1996. The IUB Libraries' Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (East Tower 2, or ET2), located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library at 10th and Jordan, received these reports as part of the Federal Depository Library Program on microfiche. Feel free to contact ET2 staff regarding reports not yet available on this full text database, for earlier and later reports, and about related federal documents (including Congressional and Department of State documents).
About FBIS

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports
Contains English translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, serials, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from regions throughout the world. With an emphasis on communist and developing countries, the digital edition of Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1995, contains social science, scientific, and technical materials translated from many languages. JPRS—acting as a unit within the Central Intelligence Agency—was established in March 1957 as part of the United States Department of Commerce’s Office of Technical Services, about six months before the Soviet Union launched Sputnik 1. JPRS staffers prepared translations for use by U.S. government officials, various agencies, and the research and industrial communities.
About Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports

Keesing's World News Archive
Keesing's Online is an authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs. Keesing’s World News Archive contains articles detailing world events and international developments. The archive begins in 1931 as Keesing’s Contemporary Archives (1931-1987) and continues as Keesing’s Record of World Events from 1987 to the present. Events covered include government changes, war, treaties, appointments, diplomatic initiatives, international agreements, security, legislation, budgets, natural disasters, environmental issues, and scientific discoveries.
About Keesing's World News Archive

Political Extremism and Radicalism
Resource available to authorized IU Bloomington users (on or off campus) Primary source documents related to unorthodox (by contemporary standards) fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum. Content supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and more. Includes access to two modules: Political Extremism & Radicalism, 20th Century Part 1: Far-Right and Left in US, Europe, and Australia, and Political Extremism & Radicalism in the 20th Century- Part 2: Far-Right in America.
About Political Extremism and Radicalism

Newspapers.com World Collection
Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries. Includes access to newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom & Ireland, Australia, and Panama.
About Newspapers.com World Collection

World News Connection
World News Connection is translated news from overseas sources. WNC contains materials provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Reports are full text, English translations of foreign news sources and information. Many of the materials are copyrighted.For earlier and additional information, consult ET2 (East Tower 2) staff. Back issues of the FBIS Daily Reports are on Microfiche, in the ET2: Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (IUB Herman B Wells Library 2nd Floor).
About World News Connection

World News Digest
Online version of Facts On File, a resource which provides summaries of domestic and international news. Provides summaries of domestic and international news.Additional Information: World News Digest, formerly known as Facts On File, provides summaries of world and domestic news stories 1940-present. It covers major political, social, and economic events, including elections, wars and conflicts, and government and civics information. Maps and charts are included, as are graphs, historic photographs, and story indexes by decade, country, and topic.Coverage:1940 to the present
About World News Digest

World Newspaper Archive
A collection of historical newspapers from around the globe.World Newspaper Archive is a fully-searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.
About World Newspaper Archive