Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Video and Images

60 Minutes
Provides access to streaming video of 60 Minutes, the CBS television news program. Online collection of 500 hours of video from 18 years of broadcasts. Each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. Also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning.
About 60 Minutes

American History in Video
Collection of documentaries, newsreels and archival and public affairs footage; Videos covering all eras of American history; newsreels and some other items date as early as 1898
About American History in Video

Associated Press Collections Online
The Associated Press Collections Online makes content of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide.
About Associated Press Collections Online

Associated Press Images Collection
An electronic library containing the AP's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. International in scope with images dating back as early as 1826.
About Associated Press Images Collection

Black Studies in Video
Streaming award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.
About Black Studies in Video

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. PLEASE NOTE: To access users need to create an account and submit a request. To create an account select Log In, and then Join Now. Users will then receive a confirmation email. Login and then enter a search term. Click on a testimony in the search results and request access. Please note that records truncate last names of those who gave testimony to protect their privacy. If you are looking for a specific person’s testimony, either shorten their last name to the first initial (“Eva B.”) or contact the archive directly. You only need to request access to one testimony to obtain viewing access for the entire collection. Once the approval email is received, users may view testimonies. A browser refresh may be necessary.
About Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies

March of Time
Time, Inc.'s "newsreel" coverage of current events.
About March of Time

Meet the Press
Includes the full surviving broadcast run of Meet the Press.
About Meet the Press

PBS Video Collection
This collection assembles hundreds of documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface.
About PBS Video Collection

Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive
The USC Shoah Foundation’s Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view the 51,537 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide currently available in the Archive that were conducted in 61 countries and 39 languages. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China and the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide.
About Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive

Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda
Collection of documentaries, newsreels and features by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers, ranging from the early twentieth century to the 1980s.
About Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda

Television News Archive
Indexes evening broadcasts from ABC, ABC Nightline, CBS, CNN, NBC and PBS. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. The world's most available, extensive and complete archive of major network television news. The database currently includes 725,000 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening news and special news program. These broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaigns, national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001. All broadcasts are copyright protected for class and research use. The database will list results of individual story-level records. From each of these records you can press the button to display the listing of the entire program. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present, as indicated by the Video clip available. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape. The news archive charges a fee to recover the cost of providing this service. Coverage:1968-present- Updated daily
About Television News Archive

World History in Video
Streaming documentaries will allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.
About World History in Video

World Newsreels Online
Collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century.
About World Newsreels Online