Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Chinese News: Newspapers and Periodicals

China Core Newspapers Full-text Database
With an archive beginning in 2000, this database collects full-text articles from more than 350 core newspapers in China.
About China Core Newspapers

Chinese Periodical Full-Text Database (1911-1949)
Chinese Periodical Full-Text Database, created by Shanghai Library, contains around 10 million pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals published from 1911 to 1949. It includes journals of all disciplines and subjects
About Chinese Periodical Full-Text Database (1911-1949)

Duxiu Knowledge Search Database
Duxiu is a huge content-based database composed of more than 600,000,000 full-text pages (books, articles, theses, web pages, newspapers) with very flexible searches. Using the book-filter, one can read a limited number of pages directly on-line, and in many cases you can email to yourself 50 pages or 1/5th of a book, whichever is less, once per week by clicking on Library Document Delivery Center. Within 3 to 5 minutes a link will be sent to your email box, and by clicking that link, you can read the text online, and print it out (6 pages at a time).
Duxiu Knowledge Search Database

Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
Access to newspapers covering culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic. PLEASE NOTE: registration is required to download PDFs.
About Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers

Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Database
Covers around 280,000 pieces of historical documents from 302 periodicals published during 1833-1911.
About Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Database

People's Daily Database (Renmin Ribao)
Daily newspaper providing a platform for the central government and the Communist Party of China to announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world.
About People's Daily Database (Renmin Ribao)

Shen Bao Shu Ju Ku
Access to the full run of Shen Bao, one of the first modern Chinese newspapers. Includes images of the paper published from 1872 to 1949.
About Shen Bao Shu Ju Ku

Ta Kung Pao Full Text Database, 1902-1949
Full text access to Ta Kung Pao (Da Gong Bao,大公報; formerly L'Impartial), one of the oldest newspapers in China.
About Ta Kung Pao Full Text Database

Translations of the Peking Gazette Online
English-language renderings of official edicts and memorials from the Qing dynasty that cover China’s long nineteenth century from the Macartney Mission in 1793 to the abdication of the last emperor in 1912. As the mouthpiece of the government, the Peking Gazette is the authoritative source for information about the Manchu state and its Han subjects as they collectively grappled with imperial decline, re-engaged with the wider world, and began mapping the path to China’s contemporary rise.
About Translations of the Peking Gazette Online

Zhong yang ri bao, 1928-1949
Full text of Zhong yang ri bao (Central Daily News), the official newspaper of Kuomingtang.
About Zhong yang ri bao, 1928-1949
 

Japanese News: Newspapers and Periodicals

Asahi Shinbun, Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries
The newspaper is used by researchers interested in issues related to Japanese culture, politics, economy, and society.
Scanned images of the newspaper from 1945-1984. Full-text indexed searches from 1985 to the present. Full-text plus PDF images of all regionally published Asahi news, charts, and pictures from November 2005 on. Shukan Asahi (Asahi Weekly) from April 2000 on. AERA weekly from the first issue on. The 2007 edition of Chiezo.
About Asahi Shinbun, Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries

Japan Times Archives
Archival content from The Japan Times, Japan's largest and oldest English-language daily newspaper.
About Japan Times Archives

Nikkei Telecom 21
Select “Click here for Nikkei Telecom login” to access the resource. Includes full text of major Japanese newspapers for the past 30 years, as well as profiles of 1.2 million public and private companies.
About Nikkei Telecom 21

Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei
Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies.
About Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei
 

Korean News: Newspapers and Periodicals

Korea Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital access to The Korea Times, the oldest English-language newspaper in Korea. The paper covers international business, economic and financial news as well as regional issues and events.
About Korea Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

KCNA Watch
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Korean Central News Agency Interface for accessing and searching official North Korean media output. Coverage:Varies, although oldest found was 1996
KCNA Watch

NK News
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: North Korea News Provides access to primary and secondary data on North Korea. Also includes research tools tailored for users within government, business, academia and journalism. Coverage: Varies, although oldest found was 2010
About NK News