Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

U.S. News: Newspapers

African American Newspapers
African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century. This collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history, with first-hand reports of major events and issues of the day. Includes complete text of articles published in the United States.
About African American Newspapers

Archive of Americana
Historic American publications, books, broadsides, ephemera, newspapers, dating from as early as 1758 through the 20th Century. Coverage:1690 to the 20th Century
About Archive of Americana

Access World News
Includes electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide.
About Access World News

Accessible Archives
A collection of newspapers and magazines and other materials, including: African American Newspapers, The Civil War, Women’s Suffrage, America and World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers; Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, Godey's Lady's Book, The Lily, The National Era, Old Post Union, The New York Herald, and The North Star. Defaults to African American Newspapers. Look under Collections for a full list of resources.

Alt-PressWatch
Alt-PressWatch is a fulltext database of alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and journals that present viewpoints that differ from mainstream media coverage of issues and events. About Alt-PressWatch

America's Historical Newspapers
(Also known as Early American Newspapers) More than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published during the past four centuries, including titles from all 50 present states, 1690-1922.
About America's Historical Newspapers

American Indian Newspapers
Collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada. Includes 9,000 individual editions from 1828- 2016.
About American Indian Newspapers

American Israelite (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital access to the longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper still published in the United States.
About American Israelite (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

American Underworld: The Flash Press
The flash press covered the seamier aspects of urban life in the mid-19th century. Topics included prostitution, gambling, urban gangs, illicit sporting activities, and sensational crimes. To many of their readers, the Flash Press also conveyed an implicit threat of blackmail, which often led to very ephemeral print runs.
About American Underworld: The Flash Press

Archive of Americana
Historic American publications, books, broadsides, ephemera, newspapers, dating from as early as 1758 through the 20th Century.
About Archive of Americana

Associated Press Collections Online
The Associated Press Collections Online makes content of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide.
Additional Information:
Collections include:
European Bureaus Collection: From Vienna, its chief listening post, and also from Prague and Warsaw, the Associated Press (AP) covered Eastern Europe during World War II and the Cold War. This collection is composed almost entirely of rare wire copy, recording the declining influence of the Soviet Union, the last days of the Iron Curtain, and the political and economic restructuring of the former Soviet satellites.
Middle Eastern Bureaus Collection: offers access to records from some of the Associated Press’s (AP) most active international bureaus – Jerusalem, Ankara, and Beirut, as well as their surrounding areas – delivering the exclusive stories behind the headlines from 1967 to 2005.
News Features & Internal Communications: This collection provides access to internal Associated Press publications dating from the turn of the twentieth century, offering insight into the AP, its staff, and the history of news coverage.
U.S. City Bureaus Collection: The U.S. City Bureaus Collection offers access to records from the AP's domestic bureaus, dating from 1931 to 2004.
Washington Bureau Collection, Part I: This collection provides access to Associated Press (AP) records documenting the administrations of eleven US presidents (1938-2009), including an extensive assortment of wire copy covering press conferences, travel, speeches, campaigns, and messages to Congress.
Washington Bureau Collection, Part II: This collection covers significant news reporting on the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of World War I and the post-war period in America and abroad.
;About Associated Press Collections Online

Atlanta Constitution (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The only major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area. Covers political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States from Reconstruction through the late 20th century.
About the Atlanta Constitution

Atlanta Daily World ( ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
This database provides full-page and article images with searchable full text from the Atlanta world (1931-1932) and the Atlanta daily world (1932-2003). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. Additional Information: The Atlanta Daily World had the first Black White House correspondent and was the first Black daily in the nation in the 20th century. About Atlanta Daily World<

Baltimore Afro-American (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Access to the Baltimore Afro-American, one of the most widely circulated Black newspapers on the Atlantic coast. It was the first Black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
About Baltimore Afro-American (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Baltimore Sun (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Baltimore Sun.
About Baltimore Sun

Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Boston Globe
About Boston Globe

Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago daily defender. This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago daily defender (1966-1973 : Big weekend ed.), Chicago daily defender (1960-1973 : Daily ed.), Chicago defender (1909-1966 : Big weekend ed.), Chicago defender (1973-1975: Big weekend ed.), Chicago defender (1973-1975 : Daily ed.), Chicago defender (1921-1967 : National ed.... (OCLC)
About Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The full text of the Chicago Tribune with images of pages and articles; users can search and limit by date and article type.
About Chicago Tribune

Chronicling America
Access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Search historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. About Chronicling America

Cincinnati Enquirer (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides full text access to The Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841 to 2009.
;About Cincinnati Enquirer (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Civil War, Part I-IV
Accessible Archives. Various perspectives, including soldiers, generals, and newspapers, on the American Civil War from mostly primary sourcess. I. The Civil War, a newspaper perspective.Major articles from issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. II. The Civil War, the soldier's perspective Regimental histories, including all Union regiments, muster lists containing the names of those killed, wounded and missing in action, war and battle narratives III. The Civil War, the general's perspective Memoirs and narratives of war commanders IV. The Civil War, a Midwestern perspective.seven newspapers published in Indiana between 1855 and 1869, primarily the Vincennes Gazette, the Vincennes Sun, and the Vincennes Times
About Civil War, Part I-IV

Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital access to Communist Party newspapers, covering workers’ rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture and Party activity.
About Publications of the Communist Party USA

Detroit Free Press (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Detroit Free Press
About Detroit Free Press

Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971
Searchable, full text of ethnic and minority newspapers in the U. S The Collection of the Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies, which merged with the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, offers searchable, full text coverage of over 130 searchable full text newspapers from 25 states and in ten languages. The ethnic groups most represented are the Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Polish, and Slovak communities. About American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971

Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America; full text and searchable in English and Spanish
About Ethnic NewsWatch

Evening Star
The Evening Star was regarded as the “paper of record” for Washington, D.C. It included coverage of the daily activities of every branch of government.
About Evening Star

Factiva
General news and business information sources from international newswires and pictures, TV and radio transcripts,local newspapers, company reports, and media programs. Coverage:1985 to present
About Factiva

Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper
Frank Leslie’s Weekly, later known as Leslie’s Weekly, and originally titled Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper, was an American illustrated literary and news publication. One of several such publications started by publisher and illustrator Frank Leslie, it ran from 1855 to 1922
About Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper

Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
Digital collection of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the United States since the 19th century
About Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980

Historical Newspapers
Includes three indexes: "Palmer's" covering The Times (London) 1790-1905, the Official Index to The Times, 1906-1980 and the NYT 1863-1905 and 1913-1922. Index only.
About Historical Newspapers

Independent Voices
Independent Voices is a series of digital collections of the alternative press that are complete runs of newspapers, magazines, and journals drawn from special collections of leading academic libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
About Independent Voices

Indianapolis Star (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides full text access to The Indianapolis Star.
About Indianapolis Star (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013
Features the complete run of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.
About the International Herald Tribune

Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers, 1942 to 1946
"Produced by the Japanese-Americans interned at assembly centers and relocation centers around the country during World War II, these newspapers provide a unique look into the daily lives of the people who were held in these camps. They include articles written in English and Japanese, typed, handwritten and drawn. They advertise community events, provide logistical information about the camps and relocation, report on news from the community, and include editorials."

Jewish Exponent (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Newspaper focused on developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jewish people in American public life.
Additional Information:
The Jewish Exponent garnered honors each year from the American Jewish Press Association for excellence in Jewish journalism for its news, features, reviews and commentary.
About the Jewish Exponent

Keesing's World News Archive
Keesing's Online is an authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs. Keesing’s World News Archive contains articles detailing world events and international developments. The archive begins in 1931 as Keesing’s Contemporary Archives (1931-1987) and continues as Keesing’s Record of World Events from 1987 to the present. Events covered include government changes, war, treaties, appointments, diplomatic initiatives, international agreements, security, legislation, budgets, natural disasters, environmental issues, and scientific discoveries.
About Keesing's World News Archive

Keesing's World News Archive
Keesing's Online is an authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs. Keesing’s World News Archive contains articles detailing world events and international developments. The archive begins in 1931 as Keesing’s Contemporary Archives (1931-1987) and continues as Keesing’s Record of World Events from 1987 to the present. Events covered include government changes, war, treaties, appointments, diplomatic initiatives, international agreements, security, legislation, budgets, natural disasters, environmental issues, and scientific discoveries.
About Keesing's World News Archive

Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Additional Information:
The oldest and largest Black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African American owned newspaper in the U.S.
About the Los Angeles Sentinel

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Los Angeles Times.
About Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Miami Herald Historical and Current
Access to Miami’s oldest surviving newspaper, providing a record of daily life in South Florida.
About Miami Herald Historical and Current

New York Amsterdam News (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the New York Amsterdam news.
Additional Information:
Feature full text of more than 70 years of articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries and more from the New York Amsterdam News, one of the United States' leading Black newspapers.
About the New York Amsterdam News

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full text of New York Times articles from 1851 to the present, with a two year embargo period, plus searching using the Times Index 1851-1993
About New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

New York Tribune/Herald Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the New York Tribune/Herald Tribune.
About New York Tribune/Herald Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Newspaper Source Plus
Full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes newspapers, newswires and news magazines, as well as television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Newspaper Source Plus provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) including the Bloomington Herald Times, and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
About Newspaper Source Plus

NewspaperARCHIVE
Digital access to more than 1000 historical newspapers from communities within Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin. (Includes Indiana Daily Student 1867-1923).
About NewspaperARCHIVE

Newspapers.com World Collection
Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers
About Newspapers.com World Collection

Nexis Uni
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Nexis Uni is an online service providing a wealth of information from over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
About Nexis Uni

Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Resource for studies of Anglo-American literature published before 1930, including periodicals, newspapers, books, patents, image archives, government documents and more
About Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Nineteenth Century U.S.Newspapers
A digital archive of American historical newspapers from the 19th century, including over 1.5 million full-text pages, many complete with images.
About Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Pennsylvania Gazette
Newspaper published in Philadelphia between 1728 and 1800.
About Pennsylvania Gazette

Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier.
Additional Information:
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier (1950-1954 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1969-1981 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1981-2002), Pittsburgh courier (1911-1950 : City ed.), and Pittsburgh courier (1955-1965 : City ed.). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. (OCLC)
About the Pittsburgh Courier

Political Extremism and Radicalism
Resource available to authorized IU Bloomington users (on or off campus) Primary source documents related to unorthodox (by contemporary standards) fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum. Content supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and more. Includes access to two modules: Political Extremism & Radicalism, 20th Century Part 1: Far-Right and Left in US, Europe, and Australia, and Political Extremism & Radicalism in the 20th Century- Part 2: Far-Right in America. Political Extremism and Radicalism

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search all the titles in the ProQuest Historical Newspaper collection simultaneously

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Library Guide

Revolution
A Weekly women’s rights newspaper, and the official publication of the National Woman Suffrage Association formed by feminists Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony to secure women’s enfranchisement through a federal constitutional amendment.href="https://libraries.indiana.edu/revolution
About Revolution

Readex AllSearch
A streamlined platform for efficiently searching across Readex collections
About Readex AllSearch

Service Newspapers of World War Two
Provides access to over 200 World War II service newspapers published during the war years and the immediate aftermath (1939-1948)
Additional Information: In addition to acting as a mouthpiece for the troops, service newspapers brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Titles from all the key theaters are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Afrikaans, Swahili, and other African dialects. Includes access to modules 1 and 2.
About Service Newspapers of World War Two

Silent Worker
The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century

Understanding Hate in America: White Nationalism and the Press in the 1920s
Newspapers of the 1920s Ku Klux Kla. Digital access to papers promoting and opposing white nationalism. Includes local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic, and Jewish organizations
About Understanding Hate in America: White Nationalism and the Press in the 1920s

US Newsstream
Provides access to current and archived news content. Includes newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Also includes a collections of local and regional newspapers, cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Coverage:1980s-present
About US Newsstream

Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780
Searchable content of the Virginia Gazette
About Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full text of the Wall Street Journal, America's business newspaper.
About Wall Street Journal

Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full text of the Washington Post, with images of pages and articles; users can search and limit by date and article type.
About Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
 

World Newspaper Archive
A collection of historical newspapers from around the globe.World Newspaper Archive is a fully-searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.
About World Newspaper Archive

World News Digest
Online version of Facts On File, a resource which provides summaries of domestic and international news. Provides summaries of domestic and international news.Additional Information: World News Digest, formerly known as Facts On File, provides summaries of world and domestic news stories 1940-present. It covers major political, social, and economic events, including elections, wars and conflicts, and government and civics information. Maps and charts are included, as are graphs, historic photographs, and story indexes by decade, country, and topic.Coverage:1940 to the present
About World News Digest