Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Latin American and Caribbean News: Newspapers and Periodicals

Biblioteca Nacional Digital Brasil
BNDigital. Access to Biblioteca Nacional's digital archive. Officially launched in 2006, BNDigital integrates digital collections, exhibitions, and thematic projects, in partnership with national and international institutions. Includes 2,112,614 freely accessible documents. Coverage:Varies. Select HEMEROTECA DIGITAL. A Fundação Biblioteca Nacional oferece aos seus usuários a HEMEROTECA DIGITAL BRASILEIRA, portal de periódicos nacionais que proporciona ampla consulta, pela internet, ao seu acervo de periódicos – jornais, revistas, anuários, boletins etc. – e de publicações seriadas.
About Biblioteca Nacional Digital Brasil

Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876
Collection of 18th and 19th century newspapers published in the Caribbean. This resource is useful for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region back to the 18th century.
About Caribbean Newspapers

Colección Puertorriqueña
Digital access to bibliographic collections of the University of Puerto Rico library. Includes newspapers, magazines, printed publications of the Government of Puerto Rico and the Federal Government, rare books published in the 19th and 20th centuries, manuscripts, drawings, photographs, graphics, maps, tape, microforms and other materials
About Colección Puertorriqueña

Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de México (HNDM)
Virtual repository of historical Mexican periodicals. Includes nearly nine million digital pages. Coverage:1722-2010
About Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de México (HNDM)

Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
Includes over 1,000 newspaper titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929). PLEASE NOTE: registration is required to download PDFs.
Additional Information:
Covers Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication. About Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers

Latin American Newspapers
Full text, searchable archive of newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Latin America
AboutLatin American Newspapers

US Caribbean & Florida Digital Newspaper Project
The National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress, is a long-term effort to provide permanent, free access to historic newspapers selected and digitized by NEH-funded awardees in the United States. The NDNP incorporates newspapers published from 1690-1963 into a national digital newspaper resource, Chronicling America, where the digitized pages are made available. Between September 2013 and August 2019 the University of Florida in partnership with the University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras contributed over 300,000 pages of content to Chronicling America as part of the state and territories involvement in the NDNP. In 2019, UF and UPR-RP welcomed a new partner, the University of the Virgin Islands. Over the course of the next two year (through August 2021), approximately 100,000 of historic newspapers from Florida, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands will be digitized and made available to the public.