Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

African American News: Newspapers and Periodicals

Accessible Archives
A collection of newspapers and magazines and other materials, including: African American Newspapers, The Civil War, Women’s Suffrage, America and World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers; Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, Godey's Lady's Book, The Lily, The National Era, Old Post Union, The New York Herald, and The North Star. Defaults to African American Newspapers. Look under Collections for a full list of resources.

African American Historical Serials Collection
Digital access to documents related to the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
About African American Historical Serials Collection

African American Newspapers
This collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history, with first- hand reports of major events and issues of the day. Includes complete text of articles published in the United States.
About African American Newspapers

African-American Newspapers
Search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries (America's Historical Newspapers) Digital archive of 1,000 American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, representing every state in the U.S.
About America's Historical Newspapers

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

African American Historical Serials Collection
Primary source materials published 1829-1922, covering the history of African American life and religious organizations. Includes reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies, as well as African American periodicals. Provides extensive coverage of African American religious organizations, churches and institutions. About African American Historical Serials Collection

Atlanta Daily World (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full-page digital archive of the Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003
About Atlanta Daily World

Baltimore Afro-American (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides access to the Baltimore Afro-American, one of the most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
About Baltimore Afro-American

Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable full text of the Chicago Daily Defender, 1905-1975, with full page and article images
About Chicago Defender

Los Angeles Sentinel
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Los Angeles Sentinel
About Los Angeles Sentinel

New York Amsterdam News (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the New York Amsterdam news.
New York Amsterdam News (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier, 1911 -2002
About Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)