Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Western European News: Newspapers and Periodicals

Biblioteca Digital Hispánica
Freely accessible portal to the Biblioteca Digital Hispánica's digital collections. Includes books, manuscripts, music scores, photographs, engravings, cartographic material, sound recordings, and magazines. Descubrir colecciones - TIPO DE DOCUMENTO - Prensa y revistas
About Biblioteca Digital Hispánica

Compact Memory: Internetarchiv juedischer Periodika
German-Jewish periodicals published between 1806 and 1938.
About Compact Memory: Internetarchiv juedischer Periodika

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (F.A.Z.) Bibliotheksportal
Digitized articles from the German newspapers Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung, and Frankfurter Rundschau.
About Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (F.A.Z.) Bibliotheksportal

Gallica
Gallica, the Bibliotheque National's collection of full text books, periodicals, maps, illustrations and other materials, includes historical newspapers. Among those papers currently available full text are Le Figaro from 1826-1942 (with some years missing) and La Presse from 1832-1922. Other titles include Le Temps, La Croix, L’Humanité, Le Journal des débats politiques et littéraires, Journal des débats et des décrets, Journal de l’Empire, Le Gaulois, Le Petit Parisien, La Lanterne, Le Matin, L’Aurore, Ouest-Eclair: éditions de Rennes, Caen et Nantes, L’Action française, Le Constitutionnel, L’Univers, and Le Petit Journal.

Hemeroteca Digital
Spanish periodicals online, 17th-20th centuries from the Spanish National Library.
About Hemeroteca Digital

International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013
Features the complete run of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.
About the International Herald Tribune

Retrospektive Digitalisierung wissenschaftlicher Rezensionsorgane und Literaturzeitschriften
This project aims to recreate digitally the corpus of German Enlightenment and post-Enlightenment journals and review sources.
About Retrospektive Digitalisierung wissenschaftlicher Rezensionsorgane und Literaturzeitschriften

Tessmanndigital
Digitales Zeitungsarchiv, Landesbibliothek Dr. Friedrich Tessman. Over 50 full- text newspapers published in French and German in the alpine/Tyrolean region of Germany, Austria, and Italy.

ZEFYS Zeitungsinformationssystem
ZEFYS offers access to digitized historical newspapers (predominantly image digitized copies, but also partial full texts), enables bibliographic research on newspaper stocks in German libraries and provides worldwide free Internet resources for "newspapers". From Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin