Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

U.S. News: Periodicals

Accessible Archives
A collection of newspapers and magazines and other materials, including: African American Newspapers, The Civil War, Women’s Suffrage, America and World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers; Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, Godey's Lady's Book, The Lily, The National Era, Old Post Union, The New York Herald, and The North Star. Defaults to African American Newspapers. Look under Collections for a full list of resources.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
About African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

African American Historical Serials Collection
Primary source materials published 1829-1922, covering the history of African American life and religious organizations. Includes reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies, as well as African American periodicals. Provides extensive coverage of African American religious organizations, churches and institutions. About African American Historical Serials Collection

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
Digital access to the American Antiquarian Society’s collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912
About American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I, 1760-1900
Full-color digital facsimiles of 18th- and 19th-century American ephemeral publications (broadsides, ballads, programs, sermons, libretti, etc.) Coverage: 1760-1900
About American Broadsides and Ephemera

American Periodicals Series Online
Digital archive of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
About American Periodicals Series Online

American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (Gale)
Digital access to the American Antiquarian Society’s collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1940. Includes access to Series 1-6.
Additional Information:
Founded in 1812 by Revolutionary War printer Isaiah Thomas, the American Antiquarian Society is both a learned society and a major independent research library. The AAS library contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, periodicals, music, and graphic arts material printed through 1876 in what is now the United States, as well as manuscripts and a substantial collection of secondary texts, bibliographies, and digital resources and reference works related to all aspects of American history and culture before the twentieth century.
About American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society

Architectural Digest
Full text issues of the Architectural Digest, 1922-2011.
Additional Information:
Covers the history of design, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years. It also features the AD100, the Architectural Digest list of top 100 architects and interior designers worldwide. About Architectural Digest

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Full text
Full text, primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries
About Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Full text, primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries
Additional Information: An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Subject coverage: Film industry, Music business, Rock and pop, Jazz and blues, Theater, Television, Radio; The collection contains 22, full-text titles
About Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

Forbes Archive (Forbes Magazine)
Full text issues of Forbes Magazine Additional Information: Forbes Magazine covers the business and financial world. Also includes analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style.
About Forbes Archive

Godey's Ladies Book
The most popular women's periodical of its day, with stories, poems, fashion, illustrations and music.
About Godey's Ladies Book

Harper's Bazaar Archive
Searchable archive of every page, advertisement, and cover of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month.
About Harper's Bazaar Archive

Harper's Weekly
A full text archive of the important 19th-century American publication Harper's Weekly, with faceted search functionality.
About Harper's Weekly

Liberty Magazine
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 provides users engaged in research of the 20th century a range of art, stories, articles and advertisements offering insight into Depression Era and World War II America
About Liberty Magazine

Life Magazine Archive
Full text issues of Life Magazine, 1936-2000.
About Life Magazine Archive

The Lily
A ladies' journal devoted to temperance and literature, first edited by Amelia Bloomer.
About The Lily

National Geographic Magazine Digital Archive
A complete archive of National Geographic magazine, along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
About National Geographic Magazine Digital Archive

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
Includes the Wellesley Index and the 19th Century Short Title Catalog; links to full text
About C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Resource for studies of Anglo-American literature published before 1930, including periodicals, newspapers, books, patents, image archives, government documents and more
About Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Periodicals Archive Online
Previously known as PCI Full Text, Periodicals Archive Online offers backfiles of over 400 humanities and social sciences journals.
About Periodicals Archive Online

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Contains original archival materials about popular culture in the U.S. and U.K. from 1950-1975 Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
About Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega
A database of articles from popular U.S. and Canadian periodicals on current events, news, popular culture and many other topics. Abstracts, articles and images from over 480 publications. Subject coverage is wide-ranging, including news and entertainment, book and movie reviews, health, sports, politics, and consumer information. Coverage:Index and abstracts from 1983 to present; full text from more than 270 journals from 1994 to present- Updated daily About Guide Full Text Mega

Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Provides access to citations from leading United States periodicals from 1890-1982.
About Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readex AllSearch
A streamlined platform for efficiently searching across Readex collections
About Readex AllSearch

Time Magazine Archive
Full text issues of Time Magazine, 1923-2000.
About Time Magazine Archive

Vogue Archive
Searchable, full text of Vogue magazine
About Vogue Archive

Women's Magazine Archive
Contains the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines.
About Women's Magazine Archive

Women's Wear Daily Archive
A comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images
About Women's Wear Daily Archive