Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

British News: Newspapers

British Library Newspapers
Comprehensive digital access to historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and national & regional papers from British Isles.
About British Library Newspapers

Daily Mail Historical Archive
Searchable, full-text content of Britain's influential Daily Mail, including all of the major news stories, features, advertisements and images
About Daily Mail Historical Archive

Eighteenth Century Journals
Portal to British newspapers and periodicals of the 18th century
About Eighteenth Century Journals

Financial Times Historical Archive 1888- 2010
The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the daily business newspaper.
About Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2010

Gale NewsVault
Search full text of British news sources from the late 18th century to the 20th Century.
With Gale NewsVault, you may simultaneously search the following databases to which the IUB libraries subscribe...
About Gale NewsVault

Historical Newspapers
Includes three indexes: "Palmer's" covering The Times (London) 1790-1905, the Official Index to The Times, 1906-1980 and the NYT 1863-1905 and 1913-1922. Index only.
About Historical Newspapers

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Archive of the British pictorial weekly, full text and illustrations
About Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

Independent Historical Archive, 1986–2016
The Independent is a major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly politicized rivals. The paper is generally regarded as centrist. Covers free market, social issues, and culture.
About Independent Historical Archive, 1986–2016

Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Resource for studies of Anglo-American literature published before 1930, including periodicals, newspapers, books, patents, image archives, government documents and more
About Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Political Extremism and Radicalism
Resource available to authorized IU Bloomington users (on or off campus) Primary source documents related to unorthodox (by contemporary standards) fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum. Content supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and more. Includes access to two modules: Political Extremism & Radicalism, 20th Century Part 1: Far-Right and Left in US, Europe, and Australia, and Political Extremism & Radicalism in the 20th Century- Part 2: Far-Right in America.
About Political Extremism and Radicalism

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
Full-text digital archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.
About Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection
Provides digital access to newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK.
About Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection

Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006
The Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006 brings two centuries of news together in one resource, providing the complete run of the newspaper up to 2006, including all of its supplements, in one cross-searchable and browseable platform.
About Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006

Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
Provides access to one million pages of the newspaper's backfile, from its first issue to the end of 2000, including issues of the Sunday Telegraph from 1961.
About Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000

Times Digital Archive (The Times, London)
The full text of The Times (London), images of pages and articles, search and limit by date and article type.
About Times Digital Archive (The Times, London)
 

British News: Periodicals

British Periodicals
Searchable full text of British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries
About British Periodicals

Church Missionary Society Periodicals
Features publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) between 1804 and 2009
About Church Missionary Society Periodicals

Economist Historical Archive
The digital version of the weekly magazine, covering international news and events. A leader in global market and geo-political analysis.
About Economist Historical Archive

Eighteenth Century Journals
Portal to British newspapers and periodicals of the 18th century
About Eighteenth Century Journals

The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 features the complete 62-year run of The Listener, the BBC periodical published from 1929-1991.
About The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991

Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Resource for studies of Anglo-American literature published before 1930, including periodicals, newspapers, books, patents, image archives, government documents and more
About Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
19th Century UK Periodicals. Full text access to multiple 19th century periodicals published in the United Kingdom as well as 19th century colonies.
About Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals

Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938- 1957
Popular British photojournalism magazine, full text and images
About Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Contains original archival materials about popular culture in the U.S. and U.K. from 1950-1975 Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
About Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975

Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
This collection includes the complete run of Punch magazine and features search functionality across years on the Gale Newsvault platform.
About Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992

Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Access to the full text of reviews and articles in the Times Literary Supplement
About Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive