Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Russian News: Newspapers and Periodicals

Current Digest of the Russian Press
CDPSP Archive (1949- ), Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press: Digital Archive 1949-present
Full-text English-language online digital archive containing over 10,000 articles from the Soviet/Russian press, government documents and special interest journals from 1949 to present<BR>
Additional Information:
The Current Digest of the Russian Press (originally the Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press) was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal. About Current Digest of the Russian Press

Gudok Digital Archive
Russian daily newspaper in publication since 1917. Gudok is one of the oldest and leading trade newspapers in Russia. At its inception it covered a range of topics dealing with the railway industry. It has also provided important commentary on Soviet and post-Soviet Russian culture, politics, and social life.
About Gudok Digital Archive

Imperial Russia's Illustrated Press
Provides access to five illustrated weekly magazines of late imperial Russia: Iskry, Russkaia illiustratsiia, Sinii zhurnal, Vseobshchii zhurnal, & Zhivopisnaia Rossiia.
About Imperial Russia's Illustrated Press

Integrum Profi
A Russian archive of electronic documents consisting of more than 500 million documents in more than 7,000 databases, with 40,000 new documents being added daily, in addition to thousands of full-text Moscow and regional newspapers, magazines, archives of news wires, business and law databases, encyclopedias and dictionaries. Select "Enter (no registration)" to access.
About Integrum Profi

Iskusstvo kino digital archive
Iskusstvo kino, established in 1931, is the leading journal of Russian, and formerly Soviet, cinema. Includes critical reviews of domestic and foreign film, scholarly articles on cinematic theory and history as well as the Russian culture and arts scene. Iskusstvo kino was first published under title Proletarskoe kino (1931-1932), then Sovetskoe kino (1933-1935), and finally under the present name (since 1936). Publication of Iskusstvo kino was suspended in 1942-1944, and no issues were produced. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these challenging years. Coverage:1931-2013
About Iskusstvo kino digital archive

Izvestiia Digital Archive
Searchable full-text archive of the Soviet newspaper "Izvestiia" from the first issue published in 1917.
About Izvestiia Digital Archive

Krokodil Digital Archive (DA-KRO)
Krokodil was a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union. Founded in 1922, it was first published as a supplement for Rabochaia gazeta. In 2001-2004 the title Krokodil was changed to Novyi Krokodil, but in 2005 it returned to the title Krokodil. Additional Information: Published continuously until 2008, Krokodil was at one time the most popular magazine for humorous stories and satire, with a circulation reaching 6.5 million copies. Krokodil lampooned religion, alcoholism, foreign political figures and events, bureaucracy, and excessive centralized control. The caricatures found in Krokodil can be studied as a gauge of the 'correct party line' of the time. During the height of the Cold War, cartoons criticizing Uncle Sam, Pentagon, Western colonialism and German militarism were common in the pages of Krokodil.
About Krokodil Digital Archive (DA-KRO)

LEF Digital Archive
Digital archive of all 33 issues of Left Front of the Arts (Levyi Front Iskusstv), later New LEF (Novyi LEF)
About LEF Digital Archive

Muslims in Russia
A multidisciplinary collection of Russian magazines and newspapers on the Muslim population of Russia. More important subjects are politics, language, economy, history, culture, society, education. A collection of eleven Russian periodicals dealing with all aspects of Russia's Muslim world before the fall of the tsarist regime. Their places of publication include not only the two metropolises of Moscow and St. Petersburg, but also such provincial cities as Kazan', Simferopol', Baku, and Kokand. Also included is the Paris weekly "Musul΄manin = Moussoulmanine," which began to be published by the Russian Muslim diaspora of Paris, France, for the purpose of enlightening the mountain people of the Caucasus and educating Russian society about the local Muslim world of the Caucasus.
About Muslims in Russia

Ogonek Digital Archive
Ogonek is one of the oldest weekly magazines in Russia, having been in continuous publication since 1923.
About Ogonek Digital Archive

Pravda
The central daily newspaper of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union.
About Pravda

Russian Avant-garde, 1904-1946
Collection of about 800 Russian books, periodicals and almanacs produced by the Russian Avant-garde movement between 1910 and 1940
About Russian Avant-garde, 1904-1946

Sovetskaia Kul’tura Digital Archive
Kul’tura (Culture) is a Russian weekly newspaper, covering major events in Russian cultural life, in literature, theater, cinematography and arts.
About Sovetskaia Kul’tura Digital Archive

Soviet Cinema Online: Periodicals and Newspapers 1918-1942
Digital access to Soviet film magazines and newspapers 1918-1942, reflecting an interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian Film. Sheds light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period’s leading directors and critics. Includes articles by leading Soviet directors (Lev Kuleshov, Sergei Eisenstein, Dziga Vertov, Aleksandr Dovzhenko, Abram Room), as well as members of the avant-garde LEF, leading authors and philologists.
About Soviet Cinema Online: Periodicals and Newspapers 1918-1942

Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers
UDB-Central newspapers. Universal Database of Russian Newspapers. Provides online access to over 800,000 articles from the Russian press in both English and Russian The scope of chronological coverage varies from title to title, spanning from 2 to 16 years (Izvestiia). It is not only a retrospective archival database but also a current news service, incorporating the current issues almost simultaneously as the print issues come out.
About Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers

Universal Databases
Full-text database of leading Russian and English newspapers published since 1997 in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union.
About Universal Databases

Vestnik Evropy
One of Russia's earliest thick journals with a sizeable circulation. It was a multidisciplinary periodical covering history, politics, diplomacy, literature, social conditions, among others.
About Vestnik Evropy

Za Vozvrashchenie na Rodinu Digital Archive
Access to all issues of the newspaper Za vozvrashchenie na Rodinu (Return to Motherland) from its very first issue in April of 1955 to 1960.
About Za Vozvrashchenie na Rodinu Digital Archive