Library Research Guides: Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals: U.S. State News

U.S. State news: Collections and Directories

America's Historical Newspapers
Digital archive of American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, representing every state in the U.S.
Based on a collection of rare newspapers held by the American Antiquarian Society, with contributions from the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia; the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections. Fully text-searchable; browseable by newspaper title.

Collections included: African American Newspapers, Series 1 ; African American Newspapers, Series 2 ; Caribbean Newspapers ; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection ; Hispanic American Newspapers ; Early American Newspapers, Series 1-7, 11-12, and 17-19.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
Digital collection of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the United States since the 19th century.
Covers mostly the West and Southwest, but also Illinois, Indiana, and New York. Topics covered range from literature to politics, to labor and social movements. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
NewspaperARCHIVE
Digital access to more than 1000 historical newspapers from communities within Indiana.
Includes digitized copies and content of the follwing local Indiana Newspapers: Bloomington Evening World (1907-1923), Indiana Daily Student (1867-1923), Madison Herald, Indianapolis State Sentinel, Indianapolis Star, Fort Wayne Journal Gazette,Terre Haute Star and Indianapolis Sun.
Newspapers.com World Collection
Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers.
Includes access to newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom & Ireland, Australia, and Panama.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
A digital archive of American historical newspapers from the 19th century, including over 1.5 million full-text pages, many complete with images.
This resource is a digital archive of nearly 250 American historical newspapers from the 19th century, many complete with images. Contents include digitized collections of holdings from the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society, the South Carolinian Library, the Scholarly Resources Archive, the Maryland State Archive, and the Boston Public Library, among others. Coverage includes major papers, minority publications, publications of social activist groups, and illustrated papers. Newspapers included are: New York Herald (NY), Lynchburg Virginian (VA), Pacific Commercial Advertiser (HI), Rocky Mountain News (CO), Southern Illustrated News (VA), Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago), Milwaukee Sentinel (WI), The Bee (OH), The Mountaineer (SC).

U.S. State news: Open Source Collections and Directories

Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat)
"The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. NewspaperCat was funded by a grant from the George A. Smathers Libraries. "(University of Florida)
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Digital Military News Collection
The Digital Military News Collection began from collecting for the Florida Digital Newspaper Library. (University of Florida)
Google News Archive
An extension of Google News providing free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web.
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online
Bowling Green State University Libraries' guide to historical U.S. newspapers that are freely available on the Internet.
Making of America
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. As of March, 2018, Cornell University Library's Making of America collection has been moved to Hathi Trust.
Making of America - Journals
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The Online Books Page: Serials (University of Pennsylvania)
A list of freely accessible archives of serials.
United States Online Historical Newspapers
"The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. NewspaperCat was funded by a grant from the George A. Smathers Libraries.
Search by keyword, newspaper title or by city, county or state to locate titles. From your search result, click on the link(s) to connect to the digital newspaper(s). In many cases, this content is keyword searchable, depending on the hosting organization.
NewspaperCat currently links to over 1000 full-text newspaper titles with a goal to include links to as many US and Caribbean newspapers with archival digital content as possible. Plans are to expand the Catalog as newly digitized newspaper titles are located."
Wikipedia: List of online newspaper archives
A list of online newspaper archives and some magazines and journals, including both free and pay wall blocked digital archives.

U.S. State News: State by State Suggested Sources

Alabama

Alaska

Alaska Newspapers Index

Arizona

Arkansas

Arkansas Digital Newspaper Project
The Arkansas Digital Newspaper Project (ADNP) at the Arkansas State Archives is a state partner on the National Digital Newspaper Program. With grant funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities and in partnership with the Library of Congress, the ADNP team works to digitize historic Arkansas newspapers and make them available for free on the Library of Congress' Chronicling America.

California

California Digital Newspaper Collection

Colorado

Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection

Connecticut

Connecticut Digital Newspaper Project

Delaware

District of Columbia

AFRO American Newspapers

Florida

Florida Digital Newspaper Library

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

NewspaperARCHIVE
Digital access to more than 1000 historical newspapers from communities within Indiana.
Includes digitized copies and content of the follwing local Indiana Newspapers: Bloomington Evening World (1907-1923), Indiana Daily Student (1867-1923), Madison Herald, Indianapolis State Sentinel, Indianapolis Star, Fort Wayne Journal Gazette,Terre Haute Star and Indianapolis Sun.

Indiana Memory
Portal to the primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions.

Newspapers.com World Collection
Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers.
Includes access to newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom & Ireland, Australia, and Panama.
Outdoor Indiana
Outdoor Indiana is the official publication of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources (formerly the Department of Conservation). The magazine debuted in February 1934. The online version includes issues from February 1934 through November-December 1993. Issues 2020 to present can be found on the Indiana Department of Natural Resources website.
Herald-Times
Local newspaper for Bloomington, Indiana, and surrounding communities. Users may access the E-Edition of the HTO here.

Additional access options: access to content 1988-Present (with a slight lag time for new issues) is available via Access World News.