Media Studies

Welcome to the Recommended Resources for Media Studies page, we're glad you're here. This guide offers numerous resources for students, researchers, educators, and scholars at any stage of their careers and research processes. If you need assistance navigating this guide or require additional resources, email your Media Studies subject librarian, nicholae cline.

In this guide, you can find:

• Information about accessing our collections, including audio/visual materials
  • Relevant call numbers, subject headings, and keywords
  • E-book accessibility information
• Foundational texts in Media Studies and its various sub-disciplines
  • Example syllabi for these fields
  • Commonly taught scholarly articles, readers/textbooks, and films
• Reference sources including bibliographies, encyclopedias, and handbooks
• Academic journals, newspapers, zines, and periodicals
• Relevant databases ranging from general to topic-specific
• Image & Audiovisual Resources including image and film databases and stock photo websites
• Primary sources, archival collections, and organizations in Bloomington and beyond
• Funding, fellowships, grant, and award recourses along with professional organizations

For additional resources, explore our related LibGuides. A LibGuide (which is what you are reading right now) provides research assistance and resources compiled by IU librarians:

• Spotlight on Feminist Media Studies  (Media Studies)
• Asian American Representation in the Media  (Media Studies)
• Human/Non-Human Relationships in Media  (Media Studies)
• Poetry & Poetics in Music & Media  (Media Studies)
• The Sounds of Women's History Month  (Media Studies)
• The Sounds of Black History Month  (Media Studies)
• Transfeminine Worlds: Works by Trans Women & Other Femme Folk  (Gender Studies)
• Transgender Worldmaking in Video Games  (Game Studies)
• LGBTQ+ Pride Month Awareness Streaming and DVD Resources  (Media Services)
• 3D Design  (Art & Art History, Merchandising and Interior Design)
• GIMMS Toolkit: Local Media Sources  (Government Information, Maps & Microform Services)
• Investigative Journalism  (Government Information, Maps & Microform Services)
• Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals  Provides a selection of online news sources to help you access the breaking news of current events dating as far back as the 17th century.
• Media Services Streaming Resources Guide  Outlines online streaming video collections made possible via the IU Bloomington Libraries. All films are licensed in perpetuity with public performance rights with the exception of Kanopy and SWANK. On occasion, a film may be removed from a streaming platform due to a producer who has lost the right to distribute a film.

If you need assistance accessing videos, see the "Finding Online Streaming Videos" guide.