Media Studies

The BBC Horizon television program seeks to make science accessible and engaging to students.  

Also includes access to the following series: Nature's Great Events, Life, Frozen Planet, Life Story, Africa, and Spy in the Wild. As well as access to the following single programs: Tiny Giants, Walking With Dinosaurs: Prehistoric Planet, Wild Africa, Earthflight, and Incredible Predators.

Highlights include: “We Will Rise: Michelle Obama's Mission to Educate Girls Around the World;” an interview series with female leaders including Beyonce, Sheryl Sandberg, Oprah, Tina Brown, Michelle Wie, Nancy Pelosi; series like “Future Finance”, “Passion to Portfolio”, “Eco Solutions;" specials on human trafficking, global poverty, and other human rights issues around the world; features on global cities, travel, world cultures, religion, food, and lifestyles outside the western hemisphere.

Documentaries covering the scope and complexity of the human experience.

Covers Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art. Also includes video on applied topics such as architectural and graphic design.

Includes content from such production companies as Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Good Docs, Kartemquin Films, MediaStorm, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and KimStim. Includes access to the Docuseek2 Complete Collection 2nd Edition, the Docuseek2 Complete Collection 3rd Edition, and the Icarus Films Collection. 

Subjects covered include: environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, and the arts.

Access is for Volumes 1-4.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I and II: Foundational Films 
Includes classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
Includes films by indigenous filmmakers. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. 

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives
Includes titles by contemporary visual anthropologists. Also contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media.

Filmakers Library Online provides access to more than 1,500 online streaming titles from the award-winning distributor Filmakers Library. New releases will be added as made available.

Online collection of 500 hours of video from 18 years of broadcasts. Each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. Also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning.

Historical coverage in the collection ranges from the early history of Native Americans, to the lost colony of Roanoke, to the 1988 Vicennes Affair in the Persian Gulf. Biographical coverage ranges from eighteenth century figures such as Benedict Arnold and Daniel Boone to modern day figures such as Thurgood Marshall and Helen Thomas. You may sign in to create, edit and share playlists or clips.

The world's most available, extensive and complete archive of major network television news. The database currently includes 725,000 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening news and special news program. These broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaigns, national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001. All broadcasts are copyright protected for class and research use. The database will list results of individual story-level records. From each of these records you can press the button to display the listing of the entire program. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present, as indicated by the Video clip available. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape. The news archive charges a fee to recover the cost of providing this service.

Includes access to the following modules:

Counseling and Therapy in Video Volumes I & II: include videos related to the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. The collection features renowned therapists such as Albert Ellis, Violet Oaklander, Derald Wing Sue, and John Norcross demonstrating their methods and techniques.

Counseling and Therapy in Video Volume III: illustrates the theoretical models of counseling and psychotherapy as developed by the “giants” in the field such as Viktor Frankl, Albert Bandura, Albert Ellis, Aaron Beck, Virginia Satir, Jay Haley, and Carl Rogers. Includes materials in emerging areas such as social media, veterans, cyberbullying, mindfulness, and neuroscience.

Counseling and Therapy in Video Volume IV: includes transcripts of real therapy sessions, video presentations by practicing therapists as well as presentations and publications by academic therapists. The collection directly discusses the CACREP 8 Core Areas required by many states for counselor certification as well as DSM-5 and ICD-10, and working with LGBTQ clients to helping clients suffering from PTSD. Includes access to

Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy (part of Volume IV):  features presentations from world-renowned researchers and clinicians, such as Donald Meichenbaum, John Gottman, Marsha Linehan, Deepak Chopra, and Salvador Minuchin.

Counseling & Therapy in Video: Volume V, The Symptom Media Collection: focuses on counseling, psychology, social work, nursing and other behavioral healthcare courses. Helps students better recognize mental health disorders and provide accurate diagnoses via 400 streaming mental health videos aligned to DSM-5®/ICD-10 content.

Collection of stream-able nursing videos covering: Academic Success Skills; Career Development and Exploration; Diseases, Disorders and Disabilities; Nursing Foundations; Patient Care and Interventions; Skills; and Special Topics in Nursing.

Health and society in video covers medical progress in health and wellness issues. The collection uses documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews to bridge the gap between medical research and public understanding of health. The videos are designed for use by students, instructors, and the general population to better understand the realities of illness, wellness, and the modern healthcare system. Focus is on public health and medicine, epidemiology, pathology, geronotology, nutrition and wellness, childhood development, cultural and environmental health issues, mental health, and the experience of living with chronic conditions and diseases, such as multiple sclerosis, cerebral palsy, cognitive disorders, fibromyalgia, and obesity.

The collection pairs 65 hours of audio and video recordings of the original experiments (when existent) with 45,000 pages of primary-source documents. Includes notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, letters penned by the lead psychologist, videos of modern-day replications, and modifications to the original experiments.

Resource intended for the study of occupational therapy, physical/physiotherapy, and speech-language pathology. The collection allows students and faculty to find, cite, and share footage of top clinicians and academics explaining the underlying anatomical and neurological issues in specific patient populations, while demonstrating effective techniques and methods for their treatment. All of the video has been indexed to allow users to search and filter content by patient details, therapist specialization, treatment method, presenting problem, and more.

This video collection is assembled for the study of human movement, conditioning, performance, rehabilitation, and physical education. Developed through an exclusive partnership with Healthy Learning, the world's leading producer of sports medicine videos, this collection contains nearly 500 hours of streaming video.

Titles in the collection have been approved for educational use by several prestigious professional organizations, including the American College of Sports Medicine, the National Athletic Trainers Association, the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, the American Council on Exercise, the National Strength and Conditioning Association, and the Medical Fitness Association.
 

The series features hundreds of experienced professionals in a wide variety of settings and circumstances. In-depth and special-topic videos are included.  The collection is also global in scope, providing a survey of the teaching profession worldwide and granting access a diverse array of learning environments. Includes tools for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms.

The collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award winners, and more.

Includes titles produced by A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.

Covers business skills, networking, programming languages, desktop and office applications, the Web, computer hardware and software, databases and other information technology topics.

Includes access to two volumes:

Theatre in Video: Volume I: access to plays, documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials in more than 550 hours of streaming video.  Covers 20th century theater history, from productions of Shakespeare to in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett.

Theatre in Video: Volume II: greater focus on new and international productions. Includes new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.

Includes the following:
All's Well that Ends Well
Antony & Cleopatra
As You Like It
The Comedy of Errors
Coriolanus
Cymbeline
Hamlet
Henry IV, Part 1
Henry IV, Part 2
Henry V
Henry VI, Part 1
Henry VI, Part 2
Henry VI, Part 3
Henry VIII
Julius Caesar
King John
King Lear
Love's Labour's Lost
Macbeth
Measure For Measure
Merchant of Venice
Merry Wives of Windsor
A Midsummer Night's Dream
Much Ado About Nothing
Othello
Pericles
Richard II
Richard III
Romeo and Juliet
Taming of the Shrew
The Tempest
Timon of Athens
Titus Andronicus
Troilus & Cressida
Twelfth Night
Two Gentlemen of Verona
The Winter's Tale

Includes a broad range of theatrical practices, with access to 400 classical and contemporary performances. Also includes essays, practical guides, documentaries and lectures, and access to practitioner resources, including interviews with cast and creatives.

Includes access to the following modules: the Core Collection, LA Theatre Works, Aurora Metro Books, Nick Hern Books, the RSC Live Collection, the Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection, the Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy, the National Theatre Collection, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2015), and Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018).

The films include international and US-based contemporary artists, with some live works that might not be performed again.

Multidisciplinary unit that brings together scholars and artists from across Indiana University who are working on an array on nonfiction media projects.

Includes access to oral histories, documentaries, maps, timelines, and other digital content.

The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. Testimonies were recorded in whatever language the witness preferred, and range in length from 30 minutes to over 40 hours (recorded over several sessions).

Create Account & Request Testimony:

1. To create an account select Log In, and then Join Now. Users will then receive a confirmation email.
2. Login and then enter a search term. Click on a testimony in the search results and request access. Please note that records truncate last names of those who gave testimony to protect their privacy. If you are looking for a specific person’s testimony, either shorten their last name to the first initial (“Eva B.”) or contact the archive directly. You only need to request access to one testimony to obtain viewing access for the entire collection.
3. Once the approval email is received, users may view testimonies. A browser refresh may be necessary.

Includes interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject, such as a career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history.

The collection includes documentaries on leading artists, writers, musicians, playwrights, and performers, such as Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, Huey P. Newton, Frantz Fanon, Zora Neale Hurston, Richard Wright, Eldridge Cleaver, August Wilson, Bobby Seale, Ethel Waters, Amiri Baraka, and Robert F. Williams.  The database also draws from the Hatch-Billops Collection, a critically acclaimed archive of primary and secondary resource materials focused on Black American art, drama, and literature. Additional content planned for inclusion are the SNCC archives, the NAACP archives, and archives from select Historically Black Colleges and Universities.

The collection also covers specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.

With a special focus on the fields of ethnomusicology, folklore, anthropology, and dance ethnology, EVIADA consists of a set of tools and systems for use by scholars and instructors as well as librarians and archivists designed to preserve ethnographic field video created by scholars as part of their research. EVIADA also makes the field videos available online in conjunction with rich, descriptive annotations, creating a unique resource for scholars, instructors, and students. The licensing terms of this resource require all users to create an individual account. To request an account, please register here. Account activation will be automatic as long an individual creates his/her account from an on-campus computer.

Covers both the behind-the-scenes work and the end garments that appeared in stores and on runways in Milan, Paris, London, and New York. Includes videos from the series Designer DNA, Elements of Style, Fashion Classics, Millennium Fashion, Model TV, and VideoFashion News.

Documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution until the 1980s. The digitized film covers all aspects of socialist life from society, war, culture, the Cold War, memory and contemporaneous views on current affairs. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. Geographically the films deal with the Soviet Union alongside significant groupings of material on Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America and Cuba. Includes access to three modules: Module I: Wars & Revolutions, Module II: Newsreels & Cinemagazines, and Module III: Culture & Society.

Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

Database of information about artists, including names, birth and death dates, state or local affiliation, fields in which artist worked, book and periodical references to artist, dealers and museums where works may be viewed, auction prices of works, some biographical details, etc. Aims at being an unbiased source of information about the commercial value of each artist's work through a comprehensive system of comparables.

The Indiana University Department of the History of Art Dido Image Bank is dedicated to the storage of low resolution (72 dpi) images from the Fine Arts Slide Library collection of over 400,000 images. Encompassing the full breadth of art historical periods and media, the Image Bank contains c.60,000 images, both in-house production and commercially licensed. This compendium of digitized images permits convenient use and access with a graphic web browser. The images are presented in thumbnail and 800 x 600 screen res sizes, and many are also now available in a 1024 x 768 screen resolution. Access to the images is available through keyword search. The DIDO home page also has links to other selected image collections available at IU and on the web. 

Most of the content of DIDO is available to the IU system, but commercially licensed images are available only on the Bloomington campus.

The archive includes: international runway shows from the 1970s until the early 2000s, from over 400 designers, collections from McQueen, Gaultier, Westwood, Chalayan, Galliano, and more. Also includes backstage and front row shots from fashion shows of the past forty years and street-style images from global fashion cities.

Provides access to Oxford’s art reference works, including the Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Taken by amateur photographer Charles Weever Cushman between 1938 and 1969, the images document an amazing cross-section of American and international subjects, from inner-city storefronts and industrial landscapes to candid portraits and botanical studies. The collection is part of the Indiana University Archives. The richly saturated Kodachrome slides add color to an era primarily recorded in black and white, "a world that we had long since resigned ourselves to viewing only in shades of gray," writes Eric Sandweiss, IU Carmony Chair and Professor of History, in an essay included on the collection's Web site. "In Cushman's work," he observes, "the past becomes, for an instant, impossibly present."

Includes a wide variety of material types, including maps, textbooks, songs and novels. The texts are searchable and browsable by type.

Also includes contextual essays by leading academics, as well as an interactive chronology.

Includes access to Modules 1 and 2. The bulk of the material ranges from the sixteenth century to the early twenty-first century. Module 2 includes six rare Apicius cookbooks, the earliest of which dates from the ninth century.

The Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century: a phenomenon which shaped the creative and intellectual sensibilities of some of the eighteenth century’s greatest artists, writers and thinkers. These accounts of the English abroad, c.1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy.

The Grand Tour includes the travel writings and works of some of Britain’s artists, writers and thinkers, revealing how interaction with European culture shaped their creative and intellectual sensibilities. It also includes many writings by forgotten or anonymous travelers, including many women, whose daily experiences offer an insight into the experience and practicalities of travel over the centuries.

The mission of TRAIL is to ensure preservation, discoverability, and persistent open access to government technical publications regardless of form or format. Technical reports communicate research progress in technology and science; they deliver information for technical development to industry and research institutions contributing to the continued growth of science and technology.

Founded in 1848, the AP is one of the oldest and largest news organization in the world.

Includes access to four collections:

British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

British Periodicals Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles, amounting to almost 3 million pages. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

British Periodicals Collection III extends the scope of the program by focusing on leading publications from the first half of the twentieth century. The titles are from the prestigious stable of illustrated periodicals known as the “Great Eight” in British periodical publishing history. They are considered to be among the foremost popular periodicals of the period and were highly influential in their mix of news/politics, miscellany, art, photography, literature and comedy/satire, while launching the careers of many leading artists/illustrators of the age.

British Periodicals Collection IV continues this expansion, offering an eclectic mix of major popular titles from the twentieth century, reflecting the age’s attitudes interests and events across culture, politics and society. Key themes covered in these publications include socialism and the labour movement, international affairs/conflict, leisure/rural life, the arts, travel/empire and childhood/youth.

The Hohenberger collection documents the life, customs, and scenes of the hills of Brown County, in addition to other areas of Indiana, Kentucky, South Carolina, and Mexico.

Hoosier State Chronicles is operated by the Indiana State Library and funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. The Indiana titles digitized through NDNP are also available at the Library of Congress's Chronicling America, along with over 8 million newspaper pages from around the United States.

Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.

British Literary Manuscripts Online is published in two parts: British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance and British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900

Newton wrote and transcribed about a million words on the subject of alchemy, of which only a tiny fraction has today been published. Newton's alchemical manuscripts include a rich and diverse set of document types, including laboratory notebooks, indices of alchemical substances and operations, Newton's transcriptions from other sources, and even poetry.

The Digital Scriptorium (DS) is a non-commercial online image database of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, or manuscripts made in the tradition of books before printing. DS unites scattered resources from a consortium of many libraries into a union catalog for teaching and scholarly research in medieval and Renaissance studies. It provides unprecedented access to illuminated and textual manuscripts through digital cataloging records, supported by high resolution images and retrievable by various topic searches. DS enables users from the most casual to the most specialized to study the rare and valuable materials of academic, research, and public libraries. It makes available collections that are often restricted from public access and includes not only recognized masterpieces but also understudied manuscripts that have been previously overlooked for exhibition or publication. DS fosters the public viewing of non-circulating materials otherwise available only within restricted access libraries. As a visual catalog, DS allows scholars and beginners to verify with their own eyes cataloguing information about places and dates of origin, scripts, artists, and quality. Special emphasis is placed on the touchstone materials, i.e., manuscripts signed and dated by their scribes, thus beginning the American contribution to the goal established in 1953 by the Comité international de paléographie latine (International Committee of Latin Paleography): to document photographically the proportionately small number of codices of certain origin that will serve stylistically to localize and date the vast quantities of unsigned manuscripts. DS publishes not only manuscripts of firm attribution but also ones that need the attention of further scholarship and traditionally would have been unlikely candidates for reproduction. Because it is web-based, it also allows for updates and corrections, and as a matter of form individual records in DS can and do acknowledge contributions from outside scholars. DS encourages interaction between the academic and the library world to build a growing and reciprocally beneficial body of knowledge. DS looks to the needs of a very diverse community of specialists: medievalists, classicists, musicologists, paleographers, diplomatists, literary scholars and art historians. At the same time DS recognizes a broader user community in the public that values rare and unique works of historical, literary and artistic significance.

Includes interactive maps and original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969. The images are sources from the British Library, including the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library; the University of Birmingham Library; the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and the Public Record Office and the State Records, New South Wales, Australia.

Includes business accounts, mercantile papers and correspondence, government reports, rare pamphlets and dock records, and material from specialist collections such as the George Arent’s Tobacco Collection at the New York Public Library, the Braga Brothers Collection from the University of Florida, and the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives. Explores fifteen commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea,timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.

Includes historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more. At completion, the collection will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images

In 1967, Tom Jacobsen began directing excavations inside the cave, under the sponsorship of Indiana University, Bloomington, on a permit issued through the American School of Classical Studies in Athens. The Franchthi Project collection also includes proceedings from a symposia held in Bloomington, a few soil samples, copies of the volumes in the Franchthi publication series, copies of many articles by Franchthi staff, and other related documents.

All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles) to provide educators with an estimate of the result's read difficulty and approximate grade-level reading ability required for comprehension. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include: Ladybug, Spider, Highlights, and Junior Scholastic.