IU Cinema
IU Cinema is one of the nation’s most prestigious arthouse cinemas. Photo courtesy of IU Cinema, 2017.
Franklin Hall Media School, Indiana University
Photograph courtesy of Architecture Magazine.
Indiana University Libraries Moving Image Archive (IULMIA)
Photograph courtesy of IULMIA
WIUX Studio
WIUX studio in Franklin Hall. Photograph courtesy of the Media School at IU
Vintage Phoenix Comics
Vintage Phoenix is the destination for comics, graphic novels, action figures and more neat stuff in Bloomington. Photograph courtesy of Vintage Phoenix Comics
Campus Resources
The Media School at Indiana University combines decades-long traditions of journalism, communication, and film studies and practice with a commitment to preparing students for 21st-century media careers. To engage more, check out some of their events.
An archive dedicated to collecting, preserving and making available historically and culturally significant films by and about Black people.
One of the nation’s most prestigious arthouse cinema's—located on the campus of IU Bloomington—IU Cinema uses film and cinema studies for intellectual edification and cultural emancipation. IU Cinema's programming is focused on the world’s most entertaining, fascinating, and thought-provoking films; films that will make you feel, grow, think, learn—and fall even more in love with cinema.
IU Libraries Moving Image Archive (IULMIA)
IU Libraries Moving Image Archive is one of the world’s largest educational film and video collections. With more than 130,000 items spanning nearly 80 years of film production, the Archive is a member of the distinguished International Federation of Film Archives, the world’s leading association for film preservation.
IU’s Radio and Television Services (IURTVS)
Indiana University’s Radio and Television Services—IURTVS—brings a wide range of educational services to the academic community at IU, the residents of Indiana, and to the rest of the world. In addition, IURTVS provides the surrounding area with WFIU Public Radio and WTIU Public Television programming that ranges from local public affairs and news to national programming from National Public Radio (NPR) and the Public Broadcasting System (PBS).
Center for Documentary Research and Practice (CDRP)
The Center for Documentary Research and Practice is a multidisciplinary unit that brings together scholars and artists from across Indiana University who are working on an array on nonfiction media projects. It also serves as a home to visiting artists and postdoctoral scholars who are working on projects with nonfiction media components. The Center supports faculty and graduate students who make documentaries as part of their research and serves as a research hub for those doing historical, theoretical and critical research on nonfiction film and video.
Institute for Communication Research
The Media School's Institute for Communication Research offers space and equipment for media research by faculty and students. The ICR includes a variety of research spaces utilized by faculty, graduate students, and undergraduate students to conduct media research.
Institute for Digital Arts & Humanities (IDAH)
IDAH fosters digitally-inflected creative pursuits, research, and teaching for faculty and students across the arts and humanities, whether they are experimenting for the first time with digital methods or advancing a project for public or scholarly audiences.
The National Sports Journalism Center
The Center connects students studying sports journalism at The Media School with the industry through internships, interactions with sports media professionals, extracurricular training and sponsored work-study opportunities.
The Observatory on Social Media (OSoMe)
OSoMe unites data scientists and journalists in studying the role of media and technology in society, and building tools to analyze and counter disinformation and manipulation on social media.
You can also explore related student organizations, including:
One of the oldest active student organizations on campus, the Amateur Radio Club uses state of the art HF/VHF/UHF radio technology to contact people around the world.
A student-run organization at Indiana University that promotes and facilitates individual development of skills related to all aspects of game development.
A hub for future, current and past IU filmmakers.
Indiana University's largest student media organization, specializing in radio broadcasting and web content.
IU Games Community is a platform for games-related research, teaching, design, student groups and events across campus, in both digital and analog forms.
IU Makes is a network of makerspaces across the Bloomington campus designed to support the creativity and innovation of the IUB community. These spaces provide access to tools and materials that enable students and faculty to bring their ideas to life, including 3D printers, vinyl cutters, audio/visual equipment, and more. Students can borrow equipment and/or learn new skills.
The Indiana Environmental Reporter
An independent reporting organization supported by The Media School at Indiana University which aims to deliver actionable environmental solutions to communities throughout the state.
Bloomington Resources
The primary venue for the Lotus World Music & Arts Festival, Cardinal Stage Company, the PRIDE Film Festival, and Indiana University’s African American Arts Institute, along with many other local and regional favorites.
A pop-up movie theater in Bloomington, IN with the mission of providing high-quality screenings of underrepresented cinema—the old, the new, and the locally created. Volunteer run and community driven, Cicada Cinema aims to create an independent space for film and film lovers.
Originally opened in 1955. Check out their website for upcoming screenings.
Provides a means for the City of Bloomington to stimulate and encourage community appreciation for and participation in the arts.
- The Cade is an arcade bar featuring 15 stand-up cabinets and 6 consoles for playing your favorite video games. Ages 21+.
- The Common Room stocks collectible card games, roleplaying games, board games, miniature wargames, hobby paints and gaming supplies.
- The Game Preserve carries a huge variety of games, including family games, party games, strategy games, chess, card games, role-playing games, kids games, and puzzles.
- Game World is a locally owned shop where you can buy, sell and trade retro or new games/consoles.
- Landlocked Music sells new and used CDs, vinyl, DVDs, and more.
- Vintage Phoenix is Bloomington’s premier source for new & used comic books, manga, graphic novels, action figures, and more neat stuff for readers of all ages.
- Vulture Video is a volunteer-run video rental store.
- List of Bloomington radio stations
- WFHB is Indiana’s first community radio station—Volunteer-powered and listener-supported since 1993.
- Access the Herald-Times with your IU account.
- Indiana Newspapers available at Indiana University
- For a comprehensive list of local media and news outlets, see our overview on this guide