Getting Started
If you are working on media or cinema studies research and not sure where to begin, the reference sources listed here can help. Reference sources include encyclopedias, bibliographies, filmographies, and more, each of which may be more or less well-suited to your research needs. For example, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions are useful for familiarizing yourself with key concepts or figures, while bibliographies are most useful when looking for resources related to a topic.
Most of the sources listed here are available online or located in the Wells Library Reference Reading Room on the first floor of the East Tower. Materials in the Reference Reading Room cannot be checked out of the library so plan to consult, scan, or copy them in the library.
If you have questions at any point in your research process, ask a librarian for help
Printing
In the Wells Library, you can find Toshiba printers in the Scholars' Commons and the Learning Commons on the first floor, as well as on the second, fourth, and fifth floors of the West Tower. For printing assistance and plotter printers, patrons should go to the fourth floor of the West Tower. Patrons with an IU login can use the My Print Center website to upload documents for printing. Please see the Printers and Technology page for more information.
Scanning and Photocopying
You can make photocopies on the first and ninth floors of the East Tower, or scan documents to save in digital format in several locations in the East and West Towers. Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (East Tower, 2nd floor) has microform machines that can scan images from microfilm, microfiche, and microopaques.
The Scholars' Commons Digitization Lab is a high-end multimedia, multidisciplinary self-service lab dedicated to the digital conversion of materials, and the management and migration of born-digital objects in support of research needs and interests of Indiana University Bloomington's faculty and students. The Lab provides both large format high-speed flatbed and sheet-fed scanners for text documents and large-format flatbeds with transparency capability for photographs, slides, and negatives. It also includes ABBYY Fine Reader (a high-end OCR software). See more on the library website.
Reference Sources for Media Studies
Reference guides organize different types of reference sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes and more, into lists designed for consultation. If you are looking for a bird’s eye view of reference sources on a topic, a reference guide can be a useful tool.
Film and Television: A Guide to the Reference Literature - If you are not sure where to begin, this guide is a great resource. This comprehensive bibliography includes bibliographies, filmographies, indexes, dictionaries, and encyclopedias among other reference resources. The topical organization makes this guide simple to navigate and annotations allow you to quickly evaluate listed resources.
Call number: Z5784.M9 E47 2006 (Wells Library – Reference Reading Room)
Encyclopedias contain detailed information on topics that are usually listed aphetically. Consulting an encyclopedia is an effective way to familiarize yourself with key topics at the start of the research process or to clarify an unfamiliar topic you encounter.
Oxford Encyclopedia of CommunicationISBN: 9780190228613With sections on Communication and Culture, Communication and Social Change, Communication Theory, Critical/Cultural Studies, Gender (Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Studies), Health and Risk Communication, Global Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Journalism Studies, Mass Communication, Media and Communication Policy, Rhetorical Theory, and more.
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies by ISBN: 9781444361506Publication Date: 2014-06-27The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field. Includes more than 175 essays written by over 200 leading and emerging scholars from across the globe Arranged across 6 thematic volumes edited by an international team of expert scholars.
Encyclopedia of Media and Communication by ISBN: 9781442695528Publication Date: 2017-09-11The most coherent treatment yet of these fields, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication promises to be the standard reference text for the next generation of media and communication students and scholars.
The Film Encyclopedia by ISBN: 0062737554Publication Date: 2001-04-01Long considered the undisputed bible of the movie industry, Ephraim Katz's The Film Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia on film. Unrivaled in its scope, this intelligent and engrossing A to Z reference contains nearly 8,000 entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of moviemaking, including: Directors, producers, stars, screenwriters, and cinematographers Styles, genres, and schools of filmmaking Motion picture studios and film centers Film-related organizations and events Industry jargon and technical terms Inventions, inventors, and equipment Now in its fully revised and updated fourth editionk with hundreds of new entries, The Film Encyclopedia is the indispensable film book for moviegoers, students, critics, and everyone associated with the art and craft of motion pictures.
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by ISBN: 9780028657912Publication Date: 2006-12-15This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting and others. Also included are more than 230 career profiles, placing individual achievements in the context of specific topics (for example, Robert Altman is featured in the article on "Sound"). Additional features include a comprehensive index; a list of further reading sources; 350 black-and-white and 150 full color photographs; and more.
Cinema Studies by ISBN: 9780415367813Publication Date: 2006-04-12Ranging from Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bachchan to Quentin Tarantino, and from auteur theory to the Hollywood Blockbuster, Cinema Studies: The Key Conceptshas firmly established itself as theessential guide for anyone interested in film. Covering an impressive range of key genres, movements, theories and production terms, this third edition includes a fully updated bibliography, and has been revised and expanded to include new topical entries such as: female masquerade silent cinema exploitation cinema art direction national cinema political cinema. Authoritative yet accessible, Cinema Studies: The Key Conceptsis undoubtedly a must-have guide to what is both a fascinating area of study and arguably the greatest art form of modern times.
Encyclopedia of Television by ISBN: 1884964265Publication Date: 1997-03-01First Published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by ISBN: 9781412990806Publication Date: 2012-08-29The media strongly influences our everyday notions of gender roles and our concepts of gender identity. The Encyclopedia of Gender in Media critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society. The work addresses a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and explores the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity. In addition to representations of gender within the media, we also analyze gender issues related to media ownership and the media workforce. Despite an abundance of textbooks, anthologies, and university press monographs on the topic of gender in media, until now no comprehensive reference work has tackled this topic of perennial interest in student research and papers.
The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects, 4 Volume Set by ISBN: 9781118784044Publication Date: 2017-03-06The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects presents a comprehensive collection of the most up-to-date research on the uses and impacts of media throughout the world. Provides the definitive resource on the most recent findings of media effects research. Covers all aspects of the uses and impact of media, utilizing empirical, psychological, and critical research approaches to the field. Features over 200 entries contributed by leading international scholars in their associated fields.
The International Encyclopedia of Media Literacy by ISBN: 9781118978238Publication Date: 2019Dynamic, multidisciplinary, and global in scope, media literacy is one of today’s fastest growing fields of applied communications. Media literacy encompasses a truly vast range of issues, including participatory culture, digital learning, civic engagement, the impact of media on children, the sociocultural and political dimensions of literacy education, the role of media in shaping social identity, activism, digital teaching and learning, the role of media in shaping health behavior, the impact of news on society, and adolescent development, to name just a few. The first of its kind in ambition and scope, The International Encyclopedia of Media Literacy provides global coverage of this dynamic and swiftly moving topic. As wide ranging and inclusive as the subject it treats, this encyclopedia offers a perspective on the past, present and future of media literacy around the world.
The Film Studies Dictionary by ISBN: 0340741902Publication Date: 2001-02-15an excellent new publication. The authors, with many years of experience in teaching and writing behind them, are well able to distill the material and present a coherent reference guide. Everything you would expect to find is here and it is difficult to argue with any of the definitions... authoritative but accessible definitions that every film student (and every film teacher) will gratefully seize.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by ISBN: 9781628921489Publication Date: 2015-10-22The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. They cover new applications and developments, such as the incorporation of Neuroscience techniques in advertising and marketing. While new entries explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years, the purpose of this new edition is not necessarily to keep abreast of every new media event but to reflect the trends that influence and prompt such events, such as the Leveson Inquiry and Report and phone hacking via mobile phones. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
The Media and Communication Dictionary: A Guide for Students, Educators, and Professionals by ISBN: 9781433106514Publication Date: 2011-06-29Comprehensive yet concise, this up-to-date and user-friendly dictionary is a must-have reference for students, educators, and professionals in the field of media and communication. From Wikileaks to the telegraph, this dictionary is designed to help readers understand the latest developments in our media-rich environment as well as fundamental and historically significant terms and concepts. The evolving language, theories, and technologies of the field are explained with extraordinary clarity in an engaging format. Detailed cross-references are provided throughout, along with a helpful index.
Dictionary Plus Media StudiesISBN: 9780191826740Publication Date: 2016-This dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries on people and organizations related to all aspects of media studies. These entries are supplementary to other media studies titles in the Quick Reference collection, and are written by specialist authors. The dictionary is an ongoing project, and more entries will be added over time.
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers by ISBN: 155862449XPublication Date: 2000-12-12This comprehensive resource provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers through the spring of 2000. Entrants include legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies. This 4th edition includes more than 260 new entries and more than 200 updated entries. Includes more than 1,600 photographs.
Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society by ISBN: 9780199760503Publication Date: 1985-01-01Now revised to include new words and updated essays, Keywords focuses on the sociology of language, demonstrating how the key words we use to understand our society take on new meanings and how these changes reflect the political bent and values of society.
Keywords for Comics Studies by ISBN: 9781479831968Publication Date: 2021-06-08Introduces key terms, research traditions, debates, and histories, and offers a sense of the new frontiers emerging in the field of comics studies. Across more than fifty original essays, Keywords for Comics Studies provides a rich, interdisciplinary vocabulary for comics and sequential art. The essays also identify new avenues of research into one of the most popular and diverse visual media of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Keywords for Comics Studies presents an array of inventive analyses of terms central to the study of comics and sequential art that are traditionally siloed in distinct lexicons: these include creative and aesthetic terms like Ink, Creator, Border, and Panel; conceptual terms such as Trans*, Disability, Universe, and Fantasy; genre terms like Zine, Pornography, Superhero, and Manga; and canonical terms like X-Men, Archie, Watchmen, and Love and Rockets. Essays demonstrate how scholars, cultural critics, and comics artists from a range of fields take up sequential art as both an object of analysis and a medium for developing new theories about embodiment, identity, literacy, audience reception, genre, cultural politics, and more.
According to Bloomsbury Publishing, "companions are of interest to researchers, instructors and students. The Handbooks are a series of single-volume reference works which aim to map the parameters of a discipline or sub-discipline and present the 'state of the art' in terms of research."
A Companion to Media Studies by ISBN: 9781405141741Publication Date: 2005-12-30A Companion to Media Studies is a comprehensive collection that brings together new writings by an international team to provide an overview of the theories and methodologies that have produced this most interdisciplinary of fields. Tackles a variety of central concepts and controversies, organized into six areas of study: foundations, production, media content, media audiences, effects, and futures Provides an accessible point of entry into this expansive and interdisciplinary field Includes the writings of renowned media scholars, including McQuail, Schiller, Gallagher, Wartella, and Bryant Now available in paperback for the course market.
The Routledge Companion to Media and Gender by ISBN: 9781135076948Publication Date: 2013-12-13The Routledge Companion to Media and Gender offers a comprehensive examination of media and gender studies, charting its histories, investigating ongoing controversies, and assessing future trends. The 59 chapters in this volume, written by leading researchers from around the world, provide scholars and students with an engaging and authoritative survey of current thinking in media and gender research. Authors address a series of important questions that have consequences for current and future thinking in the field, including postfeminism, sexual violence, masculinity, media industries, queer identities, video games, digital policy, media activism, sexualization, docusoaps, teen drama, cosmetic surgery, media Islamophobia, sport, telenovelas, news audiences, pornography, and social and mobile media.
The Routledge Companion to Media and Race by ISBN: 9781315778228Publication Date: 2016-11-03The Routledge Companion to Media and Race serves as a comprehensive guide for scholars, students, and media professionals who seek to understand the key debates about the impact of media messages on racial attitudes and understanding. Broad in scope and richly presented from a diversity of perspectives, the book is divided into three sections: first, it summarizes the theoretical approaches that scholars have adopted to analyze the complexities of media messages about race and ethnicity, from the notion of "representation" to more recent concepts like Critical Race Theory. Second, the book reviews studies related to a variety of media, including film, television, print media, social media, music, and video games. Finally, contributors present a broad summary of media issues related to specific races and ethnicities and describe the relationship of the study of race to the study of gender and sexuality.
The Routledge Companion to Media, Sex and Sexuality by ISBN: 9781138777217Publication Date: 2017-08-04The Routledge Companion to Media, Sex and Sexuality is a vibrant and authoritative exploration of the ways in which sex and sexualities are mediated in modern media and everyday life. The volume presents a broad array of global and transnational issues and intersectional perspectives, as authors address a series of important questions that have consequences for current and future thinking in the field. Topics explored include post-feminism, masculinities, media industries, queer identities, video games, media activism, music videos, sexualisation, celebrities, sport, sex-advice books, pornography and erotica, and social and mobile media. The Routledge Companion to Media, Sex and Sexuality is an essential guide to the central ideas, concepts and debates currently shaping research in mediated sexualities and the connections between conceptions of sexual identity, bodies and media technologies.
The Routledge Companion to Asian American Media by ISBN: 9781317540847Publication Date: 2017-02-24The Routledge Companion to Asian American Media offers readers a comprehensive examination of the way that Asian Americans have engaged with media, from the long history of Asian American actors and stories that have been featured in mainstream film and television, to the birth and development of a distinctly Asian American cinema, to the ever-shifting frontiers of Asian American digital media. Contributor essays focus on new approaches to the study of Asian American media including explorations of transnational and diasporic media, studies of intersectional identities encompassed by queer or mixed race Asian Americans, and examinations of new media practices that challenge notions of representation, participation, and community. Expertly organized to represent work across disciplines, this companion is an essential reference for the study of Asian American media and cultural studies.
The Routledge Companion to Disability and Media by ISBN: 9781315716008Publication Date: 2019-10-31Disability and media has emerged as a dynamic and exciting area of contemporary culture and social life. Media—especially digital technology—play a vital role in disability transformations, with widespread implications for global societies and how we understand communications. This book addresses this development, from representation and audience through technologies, innovations and challenges of the field. Through the varied and global perspectives of leading researchers, writers, and practitioners, including many authors with lived experience of disability, it covers a wide range of traditional, emergent and future media forms and formats. International in scope and orientation, The Routledge Companion to Disability and Media offers students and scholars alike a comprehensive survey of the intersections between disability studies and media studies.
The Routledge Companion to Mobile Media by ISBN: 9781135949181Publication Date: 2014-05-09The last decade has witnessed the rise of the cell phone from a mode of communication to an indispensable multimedia device, and this phenomenon has led to the burgeoning of mobile communication studies in media, cultural studies, and communication departments across the academy. This collection, which gathers together original articles by a global roster of contributors from a variety of disciplines, sets out to contextualize the increasingly convergent areas surrounding social, geosocial, and mobile media discourses. Drawn from a range of theoretical, artistic, and cultural approaches, The Routledge Companion to Mobile Media will serve as a crucial reference text to inform and orient those interested in this quickly expanding and far-reaching field.
The Routledge Companion to Media Studies and Digital Humanities by ISBN: 9781138844308Publication Date: 2018-05-08Although media studies and digital humanities are established fields, their overlaps have not been examined in depth. This comprehensive collection fills that gap, giving readers a critical guide to understanding the array of methodologies and projects operating at the intersections of media, culture, and practice. Topics include: access, praxis, social justice, design, interaction, interfaces, mediation, materiality, remediation, data, memory, making, programming, and hacking.
The Routledge Companion to Transmedia Studies by ISBN: 9781351054881Publication Date: 2018-10-09Around the globe, people now engage with media content across multiple platforms, following stories, characters, worlds, brands and other information across a spectrum of media channels. This transmedia phenomenon has led to the burgeoning of transmedia studies in media, cultural studies and communication departments across the academy. The Routledge Companion to Transmedia Studies is the definitive volume for scholars and students interested in comprehending all the various aspects of transmediality. This collection, which gathers together original articles by a global roster of contributors from a variety of disciplines, sets out to contextualize, problematize and scrutinize the current status and future directions of transmediality, exploring the industries, arts, practices, cultures, and methodologies of studying convergent media across multiple platforms.
The Routledge Companion to News and Journalism by ISBN: 9780415465298Publication Date: 2009-11-20The Routledge Companion to News and Journalism presents an authoritative, comprehensive assessment of diverse forms of news media reporting - past, present and future. Including 60 chapters, written by an outstanding team of internationally respected authors, the Companion provides scholars and students with a reliable, historically informed guide to news media and journalism studies. The focus encompasses news institutions, production processes, texts, and audiences. Individual chapters are problem-led, seeking to address 'real world' concerns that cast light on an important dimension of news and journalism - and show why it matters. Discussion revolves primarily around academic research conducted in the UK and the US, with further contributions from other national contexts - thereby allowing international comparisons to be made.
The Routledge Companion to Marketing History by ISBN: 9780415714181Publication Date: 2016-02-01The Routledge Companion to Marketing History is the first collection of readings that surveys the broader field of marketing history, including the key activities and practices in the marketing process. With contributors from leading international scholars working in marketing history, this companion provides nine country-specific histories of marketing practice as well as a broad analysis of the field, including: the histories of advertising, retailing, channels of distribution, product design and branding, pricing strategies, and consumption behavior. While other collections have provided an overview of the history of marketing thought, this is the first of its kind to do so from the perspective of companies, industries, and even whole economies. The Routledge Companion to Marketing History ranges across many countries and industries, engaging in substantive detail with marketing practices as they were performed in a variety of historical periods extending back to ancient times. It is not to be missed by any historian or student of business.
The Routledge Companion to Media Industries by ISBN: 9780429275340Publication Date: 2021-10-04Bringing together 49 chapters from leading experts in media industries research, this major collection offers an authoritative overview of the current state of scholarship while setting out proposals for expanding, re-thinking and innovating the field. Media industries occupy a central place in modern societies, producing, circulating, and presenting the multitude of cultural forms and experiences we encounter in our daily lives. Making a vital and significant contribution to media research, this volume is essential reading for students and academics seeking to understand and evaluate the work of the media industries.
The Routledge Companion to Video Game Studies by ISBN: 9781136290503Publication Date: 2014-01-03The number of publications dealing with video game studies has exploded over the course of the last decade, but the field has produced few comprehensive reference works. The Routledge Companion to Video Game Studies, compiled by well-known video game scholars Mark J. P. Wolf and Bernard Perron, aims to address the ongoing theoretical and methodological development of game studies, providing students, scholars, and game designers with a definitive look at contemporary video game studies. Features include: comprehensive and interdisciplinary models and approaches for analyzing video games; new perspectives on video games both as art form and cultural phenomenon; explorations of the technical and creative dimensions of video games; accounts of the political, social, and cultural dynamics of video games.
The Routledge Companion to Media and Activism by ISBN: 9781315475059Publication Date: 2018-03-09The Routledge Companion to Media and Activism is a wide-ranging collection of 42 original and authoritative essays by leading contributors from a variety of academic disciplines. Introducing and exploring central debates about the diverse relationships between both media and protest, and communication and social change, the book offers readers a reliable and informed guide to understanding how media and activism influence one another. The expert contributors examine the tactics and strategies of protest movements, and how activists organize themselves and each other; they investigate the dilemmas of media coverage and the creation of alternative media spaces and platforms; and they emphasize the importance of creativity and art in social change. Bringing together case studies and contributors from six continents, the collection is organized around themes that address past, present and future developments from around the world./lc.jpghttps://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?client=IULib&type=unbound&nicaption=The%20Routledge%20companion%20to%20alternative%20and%20community%20media&isbn=9780415644044%20(hbk.)/lc.jpg)
The Routledge Companion to Alternative and Community Media by ISBN: 9781315717241Publication Date: 2015-05-15The Routledge Companion to Alternative and Community Media provides an authoritative and comprehensive examination of the diverse forms, practices and philosophies of alternative and community media across the world. The volume offers a multiplicity of perspectives to examine the reasons why alternative and community media arise, how they develop in particular ways and in particular places, and how they can enrich our understanding of the broader media landscape and its place in society. In addition to research from the UK, the US, Canada, Europe and Australia, the Companion also includes studies from Colombia, Haiti, India, South Korea and Zimbabwe, enabling international comparisons to be made and also allowing for the problematisation of traditional - often Western - approaches to media studies. By considering media practices across a range of cultures and communities, this collection is an ideal companion to the key issues and debates within alternative and community media.
The Routledge Companion to Media Fandom by ISBN: 9781138638921Publication Date: 2017-11-01The field of fan studies has seen exponential growth in recent years and this companion brings together an internationally and interdisciplinarily diverse group of established scholars to reflect on the state of the field and to point to new research directions. Engaging an impressive array of media texts and formats and incorporating a variety of methodologies, this collection is organized into six main sections: methods and ethics, technologies and practices, identities, race and transcultural fandom, industry, and futures. Each section concludes with a conversation among some of the field's leading scholars and industry insiders to address a wealth of questions relevant to each section topic.
A Companion to Documentary Film History by ISBN: 9781119116301Publication Date: 2021-04-28In a contemporary media culture suffused with competing truth claims, documentary media have become one of the most significant means through which we think in depth about the past. The most rigorous collection of essays on nonfiction film and media history and historiography currently available, A Companion to Documentary Film History offers an in-depth, global examination of central historical issues and approaches in documentary, and of documentary's engagement with historical and contemporary topics, debates, and themes. The authors provide fresh insights on the mode's reception, geographies, authorship, multimedia contexts, and movements, and address documentary's many aesthetic, industrial, historiographical, and social dimensions.
Cassell Companion to Cinema by ISBN: 0304349380Publication Date: 1997-01-01The Cassell Companion to Cinema offers a broad perspective on the first 100 years of film. It includes biographies, assessments of performances, plot summaries and genre histories. The focus is truly international.
Handbooks are concise reference works which provide practical information on a particular subject. While encyclopedias cover a wide range of topics, handbooks offer more focused analysis of a particular topic. Explore the following links for additional handbooks:
- See IU's Library Catalog for:
- Media studies handbooks available as e-books
- Oxford Handbooks related to media studies
- MediaMatters Series MediaMatters is an international book series published by Amsterdam University Press on current debates about emerging and transforming cultural practices that engage with (new) media technologies.
Routledge Handbooks, Available as E-books
All handbooks listed below link to an e-book, available with IU Bloomington affiliation. Compared to companions and encyclopedias, handbooks tend to focus on a more specialized niche or sub-discipline. These handbooks focus on a specific topic featuring contributions from experts in that field. Explore below:
The European Handbook of Media Accountability by ISBN: 9781472457660Publication Date: 2017-11-07In recent years, the Leveson Inquiry in Great Britain, as well as the EU High-Level Group on Media Freedom and Pluralism, have stirred heated debates about media accountability and media self-regulation across Europe. How responsible are journalists? How well-developed are infrastructures of media self-regulation in the different European countries? How much commitment to media accountability is there in the media industry - and how actively do media users become involved in the process of media criticism via social media? With contributions from leading scholars in the field of journalism and mass communication, this handbook brings together reports on the status quo of media accountability in all EU members states as well as key countries close to Europe, such as Turkey and Israel. A theoretically informed, cross-national comparative analysis of the state of media accountability in contemporary Europe, this handbook constitutes an invaluable basis for further research and policy-making and will appeal to students and scholars of media studies and journalism, as well as policy-makers and practitioners.
Routledge Handbook of Media Law by ISBN: 9781135109011Publication Date: 2013-01-04Featuring specially commissioned chapters from experts in the field of media and communications law, this book provides an authoritative survey of media law from a comparative perspective. The handbook does not simply offer a synopsis of the state of affairs in media law jurisprudence, rather it provides a better understanding of the forces that generate media rules, norms, and standards against the background of major transformations in the way information is mediated as a result of democratization, economic development, cultural change, globalization and technological innovation. A variety of rule-making institutions are considered, including administrative, and judicial entities within and outside government, but also entities such as associations and corporations that generate binding rules.
Routledge Handbook of Applied Communication Research by ISBN: 9780805849837Publication Date: 2009-06-10The Routledge Handbook of Applied Communication Research provides a state-of-the-art review of communication scholarship that addresses real-world concerns, issues, and problems. This comprehensive examination of applied communication research, including its foundations, research methods employed, significant issues confronted, important contexts in which such research has been conducted, and overviews of some exemplary programs of applied communication research, shows how such research has and can make a difference in the world and in people's lives. The sections and chapters in this Handbook: explain what constitutes applied communication scholarship, encompassing a wide range of approaches and clarifying relationships among theoretical perspectives, methodological procedures, and applied practices demonstrate the breadth and depth of applied communication scholarship review and synthesize literature about applied communication areas and topics in coherent, innovative, and pedagogically sound ways set agendas for future applied communication scholarship.
The Routledge Handbook to Museum Communication by ISBN: 9781138676305Publication Date: 2018-10-25Museums today find themselves within a mediatised society, where everyday life is conducted in a data-full and technology-rich context. In fact, museums are themselves mediatised: they present a uniquely media-centred environment, in which communicative media is a constitutive property of their organisation and of the visitor experience. Including contributions from experts around the world, this original and innovative Handbook shares a nuanced and precise understanding of media, media concepts and media terminology, rehearsing new locations for writing on museum media and giving voice to new subject alignments. The Routledge Handbook of Museums, Media and Communication will appeal to both students and scholars, as well as to practitioners involved in the visioning, design and delivery of mediated communication in the museum. It teaches us not just how to study museums, but how to go about being a museum in today's world.
The Routledge Handbook of Environment and Communication by ISBN: 9781134521319Publication Date: 2015-03-05This Handbook provides a comprehensive statement and reference point for theory, research and practice with regard to environment and communication, and it does this from a perspective which is both international and multi-disciplinary in scope. Offering comprehensive critical reviews of the history and state of the art of research into the key dimensions of environmental communication, the chapters of this handbook together demonstrate the strengths of multi-disciplinary and cross-disciplinary approaches to understanding the centrality of communication to how the environment is constructed, and indeed contested, socially, politically and culturally. The first reference Handbook to offer a state of the art comprehensive overview of the emerging field of environmental communication research, this authoritative text is a must for scholars of environmental communication across a range of disciplines, including environmental studies, media and communication studies, cultural studies and related disciplines.
The Routledge Handbook of Ecomedia Studies by ISBN: 9781032009445Publication Date: 2023-09-01The Routledge Handbook of Ecomedia Studies gathers leading work by critical scholars in this burgeoning field. Redressing the lack of environmental perspectives in the study of media, ecomedia studies asserts that media are in and about the environment, and environments are socially and materially mediated. The Handbook highlights five critical areas of ecomedia scholarship: ecomedia theory, ecomateriality, political ecology, ecocultures, and eco-affects. Within these areas, authors navigate a range of different topics including infrastructures, supply and manufacturing chains, energy, e-waste, labor, ecofeminism, African and Indigenous ecomedia, environmental justice, environmental media governance, ecopolitical satire, and digital ecologies. This volume will be an essential resource for students, educators, and scholars of media studies, cultural studies, film, environmental communication, political ecology, science and technology studies, and the environmental humanities.
The Routledge Handbook of Emotions and Mass Media by ISBN: 9780203885390Publication Date: 2010-10-04The impact of mass media on individuals and society is to a great extent based on human emotions. Emotions, in turn, are essential in understanding how media messages are processed as well as media's impact on individual and social behavior and public social life. Adopting an interdisciplinary approach to the study of emotions within a mass media context, the Handbook of Emotions and Mass Media addresses areas such as evolutionary psychology, media entertainment, sociology, cultural studies, media psychology, political communication, persuasion, and new technology. This compelling and authoritative Handbook is an essential reference tool for scholars and students of media, communication studies, media psychology, emotions, cultural studies, sociology, and other related disciplines.
The Routledge Handbook to the Culture and Media of the Americas by ISBN: 9781351064682Publication Date: 2020-03-02Exploring the culture and media of the Americas, this handbook places particular emphasis on collective and intertwined experiences and focuses on the transnational or hemispheric dimensions of cultural flows and geocultural imaginaries that shape the literature, arts, media and other cultural expressions in the Americas. The volume offers a comprehensive understanding of how inter-American communication is constituted, framed and structured, and covers the artistic and political dimensions that have shaped literature, art and popular culture in the region. Forty-six chapters cover a range of inter-American key concepts and dynamics, divided into two parts: Literature and Music deals with inter-American entanglements of artistic expressions in the Western Hemisphere, including music, dance, literary genres and developments. Media and Visual Cultures explores the inter-American dimension of media production in the hemisphere, including cinema and television, photography and art, journalism, radio, digital culture and issues such as freedom of expression and intellectual property.
Routledge Handbook of Japanese Cinema by ISBN: 9781138685529Publication Date: 2020-08-11The Routledge Handbook of Japanese Cinema provides a timely and expansive overview of Japanese cinema today, through cutting-edge scholarship that reflects the hybridity of approaches defining the field. The volume is divided into four sections, each representing an emergent area of inquiry: "Decentring Classical Cinema" "Questions of Industry" "Intermedia as an Approach" "The Object Life of Film." This is the first anthology of Japanese cinema scholarship to span the temporal framework of two hundred years, from the vibrant magic lantern culture of the nineteenth century, through to the formation of the film industry in the twentieth century, and culminating in cinema's migration to gaming, surveillance video, and other new media platforms of the twenty first century. This handbook will prove a useful resource to students and scholars of Japanese studies, film studies and cultural studies more broadly.
Routledge Handbook of Indian Cinemas by ISBN: 9780415677745Publication Date: 2013-04-08India is the largest film producing country in the world and its output has a global reach. After years of marginalisation by academics in the Western world, Indian cinemas have moved from the periphery to the centre of the world cinema in a comparatively short space of time. Bringing together contributions from leading scholars in the field, this Handbook looks at the complex reasons for this remarkable journey. The thematic section provides an up-to-date critical narrative on diverse topics such as audience, censorship, film distribution, film industry, diaspora, sexuality, film music and nationalism. The Handbook provides a comprehensive and cutting edge survey of Indian cinemas, discussing Popular, Parallel/New Wave and Regional cinemas as well as the spectacular rise of Bollywood. It is an invaluable resource for students and academics of South Asian Studies, Film Studies and Cultural Studies.
Routledge Handbook of Political Marketing by ISBN: 9780203349908Publication Date: 2012-03-12With the Obama campaign universally acknowledged as the most successfully marketed presidential campaign of all time, the future of political marketing is fiercely contested, provoking a wealth of high quality scholarship from across the globe. This work provides an accessible introduction to the field, international in both content and authorship, which will set the direction of future research. Routledge Handbook of Political Marketing contains cutting edge contributions written by academic experts and informed practitioners but will also have a cohesive structure, containing emerging areas and authors alongside established ones. The handbook addresses the practicalities as well as the broader impact of political marketing on politics including its' role in the changing relationship between political leaders, parties and voters. With each chapter written to a common template presenting new research and contemporary case studies, the handbook combines a succinct presentation of the latest research with an accessible and systematic format that will be of great interest to scholars and practitioners alike.
Routledge Handbook of African Popular Culture by ISBN: 9781003080855Publication Date: 2022-05-15This handbook brings together an international team of scholars from different disciplines to reflect on African popular cultural imaginaries. These imaginaries in the sense of cultural productions, contexts, consumers, producers, platforms, and the material, affective and discursive resources they circulate are influential in shaping African realities. Drawing on forms such as newspaper columns, televised English Premier League football, speculative arts, romance fiction, comedy, cinema, music and digital genres, the contributors explore the possibilities and ambiguities unleashed by the production, circulation, consumption, remediation and critique of these forms. An authoritative scholarly resource on popular culture in Africa, this handbook is an essential read for students and scholars of African culture, society and media.
The Routledge Handbook of Digital Literacies in Early Childhood by ISBN: 9780203730638Publication Date: 2019-07-05As fast-evolving technologies transform everyday communication and literacy practices, many young children find themselves immersed in multiple digital media from birth. Such rapid technological change has consequences for the development of early literacy, and the ways in which parents and educators are able to equip today's young citizens for a digital future. This seminal Handbook fulfils an urgent need to consider how digital technologies are impacting the lives and learning of young children; and how childhood experiences of using digital resources can serve as the foundation for present and future development. Considering children aged 0-8 years, chapters explore the diversity of young children's literacy skills, practices and expertise across digital tools, technologies and media, in varied contexts, settings and countries. A timely resource identifying and exploring pedagogies designed to bolster young children's digital and multimodal literacy practices, this key text will be of interest to early childhood educators, researchers and policy-makers.
Routledge Handbook of the Business of Women's Sport by ISBN: 9781351333948Publication Date: 2019-05-21Combining knowledge from sport management, marketing, media, leadership, governance, and consumer behavior in innovative ways, this book goes further than any other in surveying current theory and research on the business of women's sport around the world, making it an unparalleled resource for all those who aspire to work in, or understand, women's sport. Featuring international perspectives, with authors from North America, South America, Europe, Asia, and Oceania, and insightful, in-depth profiles of real leaders within different sectors of women's sport in the global sport industry, the Routledge Handbook of the Business of Women's Sport offers an integrated understanding of the ways traditional media and social media impact both the understanding and advancement of women's sport properties, businesses, teams, and athletes. An essential reference for any researcher or advanced student with an interest in women's sport or women in business, and useful supplementary reading for researchers and advanced students working in sport business, sport management, mainstream business and management, or women's studies.
Routledge Handbook of Sport Communication by ISBN: 9780415518192Publication Date: 2013-05-02The Routledge Handbook of Sport Communication is the only book to offer a fully comprehensive and in-depth survey of the contemporary discipline of sport communication. It explores communication within, through, and for sport in all its theoretical, conceptual, cultural, behavioral, practical and managerial aspects, tracing the contours of this expansive, transdisciplinary and international discipline and demonstrating that there are few aspects of contemporary sport that don't rely on effective communications. Taking stock of current research, new ideas and key issues, this book is an essential reference for any advanced student, researcher or practitioner with an interest in sport communication, sport business, sport management, sport marketing, communication theory, journalism, or media studies.
Routledge Handbook of Conspiracy Theories by ISBN: 9780815361749Publication Date: 2020-02-28Taking a global and interdisciplinary approach, the Routledge Handbook of Conspiracy Theories provides a comprehensive overview of conspiracy theories as an important social, cultural and political phenomenon in contemporary life. This handbook provides the most complete analysis of the phenomenon to date. Chapters consider the psychology and the sociology of conspiracy beliefs, in addition to their changing cultural forms, functions and modes of transmission. This handbook examines where conspiracy theories come from, who believes in them and what their consequences are. This book presents an important resource for students and scholars from a range of disciplines interested in the societal and political impact of conspiracy theories, including Area Studies, Anthropology, History, Media and Cultural Studies, Political Science, Psychology and Sociology.
The Routledge International Handbook of Goffman Studies by ISBN: 9781000604412Publication Date: 2022-06-29This book explores the fertility and enigma of Erving Goffman's sociological reasoning and its capacity to shed fresh light on the fundamental features of human sociality. Thematically arranged, it brings together the work of leading scholars of Goffman's work to explore the concepts and themes that define Goffman's analytical preoccupations, examining the ways these ideas have shaped significant fields of study and situating Goffman's sociology in comparison to some eminent thinkers often linked with his name. A fresh perspective on the legacy of one of sociology's most important figures, The Routledge International Handbook of Goffman Studies will appeal to scholars across the social sciences with interests in interactionist and micro-sociological perspectives.
Enumerative bibliographies (also called compilative, reference or systematic) are lists of media (including books, film, etc.) which result in an overview of publications in a particular category. Enumerative bibliographies are based on a unifying principle such as creator, subject, date, or topic. Belanger (1977) distinguishes an enumerative bibliography from other bibliographic forms such as descriptive bibliography, analytical bibliography or textual bibliography in that its function is to record and list, rather than describe a source in detail or with any reference to the source's physical nature, materiality or textual transmission. The bibliographies below can help offer an overview of the scholarship in a field and assist you in identifying relevant sources.
Source: Bibliography (Wikipedia)
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies
This link opens in a new window
An extensive bibliography compiled by scholars and experts in cinema and media studies
- Bibliographies and full-text articlesA collection of online film bibliographies maintained by the University of California Media Resources Center.
- Bibliography for Journalism and Media
This link opens in a new window
The WhatEvery1Says project (WE1S) uses digital humanities methods to study media discourse about the humanities at large data scales. The project concentrates on, but is not limited to, journalistic articles in the U.S. available in digital textual form beginning circa 1981. Other materials include social media.
- The Film Anthologies Index by ISBN: 0810828960Publication Date: 1994-10-01The Film Anthologies Index is a bibliographical resource essential to any person or institution interested in the study of film. No publication or database currently indexes the contents of these important anthologies. There are over 600 anthologies (by both multiple and single authors) in English that have been published through 1991. These anthologies contain over 10,000 stand-alone pieces that (1) reprint articles from their original source, (2) select exceerpts from book-length publications, and (3) include original essays appearing only in a specialized anthology. Without The Film Anthologies Index, the researcher would have no guide to the valuable contents between the covers of these anthologies. Much more than just a guide to the contents of anthologies, the main section consists of 6,563 numbered entries that alphabetically list by author the contents of each piece found in the anthologies. (You could find, for example, all pieces written by a particular author which have appeared in the anthologies.) Additionally, every author entry refers the user to all the anthologized sources which contain each specific piece. Without The Film Anthologies Index there would be no way to systematically locate these buried treasures. The final section of The Film Anthologies Index consists of an extensive listing of all film titles, individual names, specific genres, countries, periods, studios, etc. as well as all key words and phrases that appear in the titles of the included pieces.
Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media StudiesISBN: 9780199791286Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
A filmography is a list of films by one director, featuring a specific actor, or focusing on one subject. It is essentially like a bibliography for films. See this list of filmographies from Yale University for more.
- AFI Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
The AFI Catalog is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloging currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards.
- First Century of Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
Freely accessible online database covering films from 1895-1999. - British Film Institute (BFI) Database
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains information collected by the BFI since 1933. It holds over 800,000 film titles – including television programmes, documentaries, newsreels, as well as educational and training films – and is updated daily. However, less than 50% of listed titles are actually represented in our collections, therefore the database only partially relates to physical material. - AllMovie Guide
- This link opens in a new window
AllMovie is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about the movies, actors and filmmakers you love. On AllMovie you'll find: Reviews of upcoming and classic films; In-depth Information about your favorite movies, actors and filmmakers; New movies in theaters - Browse the movies playing at your local theaters and buy tickets for upcoming showings; Now Available to Watch - Movies that are available to rent, stream or own on multiple streaming services; Recommendations - An entire section devoted to personalized movie recommendations for you; Explore movies by genre, mood or theme
- Film Index International
- This link opens in a new window
Information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.
- Film review annualCall Number: PN1995 .F4595ISBN: 0737-9080Publication Date: 1981-2002Cumulative title index: 1981-1990 in 1990.
- The New York times film reviewsISBN: 03623688Publication Date: 1913/68- Ceased with 1999/2000.1913/68-
Ceased with 1999/2000. - Variety film reviews byISBN: 08974373Publication Date: Vol. 1 (1907-1920)- Ceased in with v. 24 (1995/1996). Companion to weekly publication: Variety (New York, N.Y.).Vols. 1-16 published by Garland Pub., vols. 17-<20> published by R.R. Bowker.
Some issues have title: Variety's film reviews.
Rouben Mamoulian Collection: Vol. 6 (1938/1942).
Also issued online. - Roger EbertReviews of films from major studios, one of the most comprehensive coverage of reviews from independent and documentary film makers, as well as reviews of leading television or cable series and shows from various streaming platforms.