Home
Welcome to GIMMS
Government Information, Maps & Microform Services (GIMMS) is located on the second floor of Herman B Wells Library on the Indiana University Bloomington campus. Included in GIMMS are local, state, and federal government information and data resources, the largest map collection in Indiana, GIS services, and microform services.
This guide brings together a comprehensive list of local media sources.
For further information, or to request a consultation or IU Libraries instruction session, please contact us at libgimms@indiana.edu.
Indiana News
Indiana News
- Indiana Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
This link opens in a new window
Online full text access to Indiana newspapers, including the Indianapolis Star (1903–Present), Evansville Courier & Press, Indianapolis News, Journal and Courier (Lafayette), Palladium-Item (Richmond), and The Star Press (Muncie).
- NUVOIndependent community journalism for Indianapolis.
- WFYI, Indianapolis Public Radio and TelevisionThe NPR and PBS affiliate for Indiana's state capital.
- Indianapolis MonthlyMonthly magazine covering general topics in Indianapolis and surrounding areas founded in 1981.
- Arnolt Center for Investigative JournalismThe IU Media School has launched the Arnolt Center for Investigative Journalism, which includes posts on current events.
Historical Scources
Looking for stories about the community from the past? These can help.
- Indiana newspaper bibliography : historical accounts of all Indiana newspapers published from 1804 to 1980 and locational information for all available copies, both original and microfilm byPublication Date: 1982Not sure what newspaper was available in any Indiana county at any given time? Miller can help.
- Microform Guide: Newspapers: IndianaNot just microfilm! Includes links to helpful Indiana newspaper databases.
- Archives Online at Indiana University
This link opens in a new window
Portal for accessing descriptions of archival and special collections held by libraries, archives and other cultural heritage units at Indiana University or affiliated with Indiana University.
- Hoosier State Chronicles
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers.
Bloomington and Monroe County News
Media Sources, local area
Print/Online News Media
General news, with a focus on current events.
- Herald-Times
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomington, Indiana newspaper. AVAILABLE ONLY FROM WORKSTATIONS IN THE WELLS LIBRARY ON THE BLOOMINGTON CAMPUS.
Also available through the Monroe County Public Library's Access World News subscription. The AWS database does not include images or page views, but the search function is much more robust that the HT's native search.
- Indiana Daily StudentYour student run newspaper. Publishes online and available in print at distribution stands all over campus. Publishes on a variety of issues relevant not just to IU, but to the area in general as well.
- B Square BulletinIndependent news coverage by local journalist David Askins. Focus is primarily on government meetings and other city and county issues with special focus on elections, budgets, and local hot-button issues.
- The BloomingtonianNew coverage primarily from ex-HT photographer Jeremy Hogan. Largely photojournalism on police and fire events, the Bloomingtonian also reports on politics, current events, and other subjects.
Radio, Television, and Podcasts
News for when you don't want to read.
- Indiana Public MediaIPM is the local NPR (WTIU) and PBS (WFIU) affiliate. They also provide news coverage all over the state and produce their own programming.
- Bloomington Community Radio, WFHBStaffed and funded by volunteers, the radio station broadcasts more than music. Among their offerings are the Daily Local News for Bloomington and Monroe county general news as well as programs about specific local minority communities.
- CATS, Community Access Television ServiceMonroe County/Bloomington public access channel. View local governmental meetings live, or view older meetings from their archives.
Magazines
Long form, special interest articles, usually including photographs, and often including community event calendars.
- Limestone PostOnline nonprofit magazine which has recently shifted to include more content on community issues. Publishes less frequently, but articles are often in the long-form style.
- The Ryder Magazine and Film SeriesThe Ryder is famous for hosting film screening all over town, but they also publish a magazine full of event listings and articles. Follow them online or pick up their free issues near major IDS stands or at local businesses.
- Bloom MagazineAvailable online and in print for free at local businesses, Bloom is a glossy, ad sponsored magazine focusing on local people, events, and news.
Local Social Media Groups
Interested in hearing the local scuttlebutt? Check out an area's social media. You must use these groups critically. While they are a great way to find out what people are thinking and doing in your community, they are also a great way to spread rumors and lies (sometimes intentionally, sometimes not).
- Reddit: Indiana UniversityReddit group primarily for students of Indiana University. IU has no official connection to this group.
- Facebook Group: Bloomington, IN - What's Going On?The number of Facebook groups fluctuates as the members of each one get irritated at the mods or one another. But the people on Facebook tend to be a broader selection of people than other platforms. This is the largest of the Bloomington groups, but there are others. You can also usually find one for neighborhood associations and special interest or activist groups.
- Facebook Group: Monroe County Area Mutual AidAnother example of how Facebook Groups can be used to spread news and information of specialized interest.
- The 812 Show
- This link opens in a new window
Daily, half hour podcast presented by Steve Volan, who held the district 6 seat on the Bloomington Common Council for 20 years. Program lists the day's government meetings and why you might want to attend them, followed by an interview with a local member or former member of government or a candidate for local office.
Historical Scources
Looking for stories about the community from the past? These can help.
- Indiana newspaper bibliography : historical accounts of all Indiana newspapers published from 1804 to 1980 and locational information for all available copies, both original and microfilm byPublication Date: 1982Not sure what newspaper was available in any Indiana county at any given time? Miller can help.
- Microform Guide: Newspapers: IndianaNot just microfilm! Includes links to helpful Indiana newspaper databases.
- Archives Online at Indiana University
- This link opens in a new window
Portal for accessing descriptions of archival and special collections held by libraries, archives and other cultural heritage units at Indiana University or affiliated with Indiana University.
- Hoosier State Chronicles
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers.
Microform Services
Why microforms?
Many of our materials are available on microform, sometimes only so. Do not be afraid! GIMMS equipment views and scans microfilm, microfiche, and microopaques. Images can be scanned in PDF, TIFF, JPEG, PNG and BMP formats and saved to CD, flash drive, or any Internet file storage service. Scans can also be printed like any other document.
Newspapers and Microforms
Microfilm has long been the standard format for newspaper archives. More and more newspapers end up in digital archives each year, but many can still be found only in film. Occasionally, you might even find a newspaper in an online database that has parts missing from it due to copyright restrictions.
Whatever newspaper or magazine or television transcript or other media you find in a microformat, let us help!
- Request Article DeliveryDo you have a citation for an article or book chapter? Is what you're looking for only available in microformat or print? Fill out an RAD and let us do the scanning for you!
- Microform Guide: Newspapers: IndianaNot just microfilm! Includes links to helpful Indiana newspaper databases.