Library Research Guides: Philosophy: Databases

Getting Started

A database is an an electronic collection of information organized to help patrons access relevant information. Unlike search engines, databases are extensively tagged to help patrons find information and include citations. Below you will find lists of databases ranging from general to highly specific.

If you would like to begin with a broad search, try searching in OneSearch@IU, our resources which brings together much of IU Libraries' content, allowing one to simultaneously search IUCAT, scholarly article databases, news and popular publications to retrieve a wide range of materials across subject areas.

Below we have broken our Philosophy databases into two sections: Specialized Databases and Databases by Period. The specialized databases would be useful if you are searching topics that are specific to a particular discipline or school of thought. The Databases by Period section would be useful if you are searching topics that are specific to a particular period of time, or you can use the databases in the General tab if you're looking to conduct a broad search.

Specialized Databases

Specialized databases, like the ones listed below, would be useful if you are searching topics that are specific to a particular discipline or school of thought. They are tailored for specific subjects, so they may help you find more relevant materials if you know which particular subject or discipline you want to search.

Philosopher's Index
A bibliographic database with abstracts covering scholarly research in philosophy since 1940. Cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Authoritative general encyclopedia of philosophy. All articles contain an extensive bibliography (non-annotated).
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is designed to be a scholarly dynamic reference work. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Allows users to cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in the Archives. The Table of Contents lists entries that are assigned and/or published. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.
Past Masters Philosophers
Collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy. Includes full corpora of figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence. Works are in the original languages, with some translations included.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Comprehensive resource for the study of philosophy. Includes access to over 2,800 articles and 25,000 cross-references linking themes, concepts and philosophers. Also a reference source for those in subjects related to philosophy, such as politics, psychology, economics, anthropology, religion and literature.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy
Access to texts in the Oxford handbooks series on philosophy, covering various philosophers, schools of thought, and sub-fields.
Année Philologique
Covers classical languages and literatures, ancient authors, Greek and Latin. Includes brief abstracts of articles.
Specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique. The bibliography is published in print and online. The online database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.
Early English Books Online
Contains every book published in England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland and the United States between 1475-1700.
From the first book published in English through the 17th-century, this collection contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. The database offers complete citation information and page images.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Searchable electronic versions of every book published in Great Britain in the 18th century.
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more.
Electronic Enlightenment
Full text and searchable correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the "Long Eighteenth Century."
Electronic Enlightenment offers unrivalled access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long 18th century and their family and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Over 53,000 letters from 6,000 correspondents are available in their original languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.
Brill Online Books and Journals
An index to journals and e-books published by Brill with full text access to content licensed by Indiana University, Bloomington Libraries. Subject areas include the humanities, international law, and biology.
Licensed full text content will display a "Full Access" icon.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Interdisciplinary resources pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Access to e-journals, bibliographies, and other content related to the study of the Middle Ages and Renaissance.

Includes access to the following:

Iter Italicum
Milton: A Bibliography
Bibliography of English Women Writers
International Medieval Bibliography
The IMB indexes articles in journals, conference proceedings, collections of essays and Festschriften. Indexing includes materials worldwide in a variety of languages.
The International Medieval Bibliography covers of the European Middle Ages, including the Middle East and North Africa, in the period 400-1500. Items in the bibliography are taken from some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). Entries include full bibliographical details and subject classifications.
Library of Latin Texts
Contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature to the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).
The Library of Latin Texts is a searchable full-text database of classical, patristic, medieval and neo-Latin writers. It includes:
- Literature from Antiquity (Plautus, Terence, Caesar, Cicero, Virgil, Horace, Ovid, Titius-Livius, the Senecas, the two Plinys, Tacitus and Quintilian and others).
- Literature from Patristic Authors (Ambrose, Augustine, Ausonius, Cassian, Cyprian, Gregory the Great, Jerome, Marius Victorinus, Novatian, Paulinus of Nola, Prudentius, Tertullian and others) It also contains non-Christian literature of that period (Ammianus Marcellinus, the Scriptores Historiae Augustae, Claudian, Macrobius and Martianus Cappella).
- Literature from the Middle Ages (Anselm of Canterbury, Beatus de Liebana, Bernard of Clairvaux, William of St. Thierry, Sedulius Scottus, Thomas à Kempis, Thomas de Celano, the Sentences of Peter Lombard, the Rationale of Guilelmus Durandus and important works by Abelard, Bonaventure, Ramon Llull, Thomas Aquinas, William of Ockham and others).
- Neo-Latin Literature (decrees from the modern ecumenical Church councils up to Vatican II and translations into Latin of important sixteenth-century works).
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
Morality and Science: Global Origins of Modern Bioethics
Journal articles and reports covering ethics and the life sciences during the second half of the 20th century, 1957-1995.
Includes primary source documents was curated by a U.S. government organization that was part of the CIA monitoring publications from around the world and translating the material into English. Focuses on the ethical implications of health-related issues derived from advancements in the life sciences in the late 20th Century.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Philosophy
Access to authoritative bibliographies in the field of philosophy. Philosophy is one of the oldest areas of study with a long history of critical literature.
Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill
Texts in political philosophy, including the major works of: Niccolò Machiavelli (1469-1527), Jeremy Bentham (1748-1832), Edmund Burke (1729-1797), Thomas Paine (1737-1809), David Hume (1711-1776), John Locke (1632-1704), John Stuart Mill (1806-1873), Alexander Hamilton (1757-1804), John Jay (1745-1829), James Madison (1751-1836), and Jean-Jacques; Rousseau (1712-1778).
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Full-text database for theology and philosophy research. Includes hundreds of journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion
Access to Oxford handbooks covering the subject of religion. Includes essays on critical topics and emerging issues in the study of religion, as well as essays on Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism and cross-cultural thematic studies.
Political Extremism and Radicalism
Primary source documents related to unorthodox (by contemporary standards) fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum. Content supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and more.
Includes access to three modules: Political Extremism & Radicalism, 20th Century Part 1: Far-Right and Left in US, Europe, and Australia; Political Extremism & Radicalism in the 20th Century- Part 2: Far-Right in America; and Political Extremism and Radicalism, Part 3: Communist and Socialist Movements.
Black Thought and Culture
Collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
The collection includes the words of Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Paul Robeson, Booker T. Washington, Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey, Sammy Davis, Jr., Ida B. Wells, Nikki Giovanni, Mary McLeod Bethune, Carl Rowan, Roy Wilkens, James Weldon Johnson, Audre Lorde, Thurgood Marshall, A. Philip Randolph, Constance Baker Motley, Walter F. White, Amiri Baraka, Ralph Ellison, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Jesse Jackson, Bobby Seale, Gwendolyn Brooks, Huey P. Newton, James Baldwin, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Randall Kennedy, Cornel West, Nelson George, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Bayard Rustin, and hundreds of other notable people.
Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990
Access to two NPR radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990). Includes digitized audio with transcripts. The programs focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, and the arts, with interviews of key figures.
LGBT Thought and Culture
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Brings together primary source resources related to the history and culture of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples, with the goal of creating a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them. Includes autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files.
Everyday Life & Women in America
Provides access to primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. Includes monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. Includes sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Material has been sourced from across the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia. Key areas represented in the material include: employment and labor, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity and the family. Includes records from men’s and women’s organisations and pressure groups, detailing twentieth-century lobbying and activism on a wide array of issues to reveal developing gender relations and prevalent challenges.
GreenFILE
Research database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Covers a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Includes indexing and abstracts for more than 1 million records and open access full text for more than 15,000 records.
ARDA (Association of Religion Data Archives)
Allows users to interactively explore data on religion using online features for generating national profiles, GIS maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other reports.
Includes American and international collections aimed at educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by religion scholars and research centers in the world.
Religious Magazine Archive
Archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. Offers insight into the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. Includes a variety of religions and denominations, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.

Databases by Period

The Databases by Period section would be useful if you are searching topics that are specific to a particular period of time, or you can use the databases in the General tab if you're looking to conduct a broad search. These databases can be helpful if you don't know exactly which subjects you want to search and wanted to cast a wide net for materials, or if you know you want philosophical materials from a certain time period and want to search based on that.

Brill Online Books and Journals
An index to journals and e-books published by Brill with full text access to content licensed by Indiana University, Bloomington Libraries. Subject areas include the humanities, international law, and biology.
Licensed full text content will display a "Full Access" icon.
Google Scholar
Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.
oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.
JSTOR
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage.

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.
Oxford Academic
Access to Oxford University Press e-books, journals, and other content. Includes access to license to Oxford Scholarship content, as well as University Press Scholarship, and Oxford Handbooks. Covers the areas of classics, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, including millions of works from thousands of universities. Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions
WorldCat
Thousands of libraries may be searched from this one catalog; Interlibrary Loan requests can also be made.
WorldCat is OCLC's Online Union Catalog. It is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 33 million bibliographic records from libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to do a comprehensive search of published material, to verify citations, or to identify other libraries that own an item.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Covers humanities fields, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Open Indiana
Collection of nearly 200 open access titles from Indiana University Press. Users can browse by subject: Asian Studies, Film, Folklore, Language Studies, Music, Philosophy, and Slavic Studies.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians. Combines the features of an annotated bibliography and an encyclopedia.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection
Streaming educational video. Covers a wide range of curricular subjects, including history, biology, business and economics, engineering, computer science, technical and trade skills, art and architecture, music and dance, philosophy and religion, geography, environmental science, anthropology, language and literature, mathematics, psychology, sociology, political science, and more.
Includes titles produced by A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
Sage Research Methods: Foundations
Introductions to research concepts and methods used in the social sciences. Each entry begins with the basics, and moves into specialist literature. Also includes biographical entries on pioneers of social science methods, covering the history of research methods, techniques, and underlying epistemological and philosophical issues. Includes access to content through 2023.
Oxford Classical Dictionary, Third Edition
Reference work on the classical world. Covers all aspects of ancient life - political, economic, philosophical, religious, artistic, and social. Includes over six thousand entries ranging from long articles to brief definitions. There is substantial coverage of women in the ancient world, sexuality, Asia and the Far East, Judaism, and early Christians. Thematic articles reflect the current emphasis on multidisciplinary approaches to classical studies.
Project Muse
Provides full text access and indexing for e-journals and e-books from a variety of scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Année Philologique
Covers classical languages and literatures, ancient authors, Greek and Latin. Includes brief abstracts of articles.
Specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique. The bibliography is published in print and online. The online database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.
Library of Latin Texts
Contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature to the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).
The Library of Latin Texts is a searchable full-text database of classical, patristic, medieval and neo-Latin writers. It includes:
- Literature from Antiquity (Plautus, Terence, Caesar, Cicero, Virgil, Horace, Ovid, Titius-Livius, the Senecas, the two Plinys, Tacitus and Quintilian and others).
- Literature from Patristic Authors (Ambrose, Augustine, Ausonius, Cassian, Cyprian, Gregory the Great, Jerome, Marius Victorinus, Novatian, Paulinus of Nola, Prudentius, Tertullian and others) It also contains non-Christian literature of that period (Ammianus Marcellinus, the Scriptores Historiae Augustae, Claudian, Macrobius and Martianus Cappella).
- Literature from the Middle Ages (Anselm of Canterbury, Beatus de Liebana, Bernard of Clairvaux, William of St. Thierry, Sedulius Scottus, Thomas à Kempis, Thomas de Celano, the Sentences of Peter Lombard, the Rationale of Guilelmus Durandus and important works by Abelard, Bonaventure, Ramon Llull, Thomas Aquinas, William of Ockham and others).
- Neo-Latin Literature (decrees from the modern ecumenical Church councils up to Vatican II and translations into Latin of important sixteenth-century works).
Loeb Classical Library
Interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature.
Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory.
Oxford Classical Dictionary, Third Edition
Reference work on the classical world. Covers all aspects of ancient life - political, economic, philosophical, religious, artistic, and social. Includes over six thousand entries ranging from long articles to brief definitions. There is substantial coverage of women in the ancient world, sexuality, Asia and the Far East, Judaism, and early Christians. Thematic articles reflect the current emphasis on multidisciplinary approaches to classical studies.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy
Access to texts in the Oxford handbooks series on philosophy, covering various philosophers, schools of thought, and sub-fields.
Past Masters Philosophers
Collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy. Includes full corpora of figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence. Works are in the original languages, with some translations included.
Philosopher's Index
A bibliographic database with abstracts covering scholarly research in philosophy since 1940. Cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Comprehensive resource for the study of philosophy. Includes access to over 2,800 articles and 25,000 cross-references linking themes, concepts and philosophers. Also a reference source for those in subjects related to philosophy, such as politics, psychology, economics, anthropology, religion and literature.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Authoritative general encyclopedia of philosophy. All articles contain an extensive bibliography (non-annotated).
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is designed to be a scholarly dynamic reference work. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Allows users to cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in the Archives. The Table of Contents lists entries that are assigned and/or published. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

The following LibGuides might also be of interest: Classical Studies; Classical Studies Online Resources; History.

Early English Books Online
Contains every book published in England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland and the United States between 1475-1700.
From the first book published in English through the 17th-century, this collection contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. The database offers complete citation information and page images.
International Medieval Bibliography
The IMB indexes articles in journals, conference proceedings, collections of essays and Festschriften. Indexing includes materials worldwide in a variety of languages.
The International Medieval Bibliography covers of the European Middle Ages, including the Middle East and North Africa, in the period 400-1500. Items in the bibliography are taken from some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). Entries include full bibliographical details and subject classifications.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Interdisciplinary resources pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Access to e-journals, bibliographies, and other content related to the study of the Middle Ages and Renaissance.

Includes access to the following:

Iter Italicum
Milton: A Bibliography
Bibliography of English Women Writers
Library of Latin Texts
Contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature to the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).
The Library of Latin Texts is a searchable full-text database of classical, patristic, medieval and neo-Latin writers. It includes:
- Literature from Antiquity (Plautus, Terence, Caesar, Cicero, Virgil, Horace, Ovid, Titius-Livius, the Senecas, the two Plinys, Tacitus and Quintilian and others).
- Literature from Patristic Authors (Ambrose, Augustine, Ausonius, Cassian, Cyprian, Gregory the Great, Jerome, Marius Victorinus, Novatian, Paulinus of Nola, Prudentius, Tertullian and others) It also contains non-Christian literature of that period (Ammianus Marcellinus, the Scriptores Historiae Augustae, Claudian, Macrobius and Martianus Cappella).
- Literature from the Middle Ages (Anselm of Canterbury, Beatus de Liebana, Bernard of Clairvaux, William of St. Thierry, Sedulius Scottus, Thomas à Kempis, Thomas de Celano, the Sentences of Peter Lombard, the Rationale of Guilelmus Durandus and important works by Abelard, Bonaventure, Ramon Llull, Thomas Aquinas, William of Ockham and others).
- Neo-Latin Literature (decrees from the modern ecumenical Church councils up to Vatican II and translations into Latin of important sixteenth-century works).
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy
Access to texts in the Oxford handbooks series on philosophy, covering various philosophers, schools of thought, and sub-fields.
Past Masters Philosophers
Collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy. Includes full corpora of figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence. Works are in the original languages, with some translations included.
Philosopher's Index
A bibliographic database with abstracts covering scholarly research in philosophy since 1940. Cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Comprehensive resource for the study of philosophy. Includes access to over 2,800 articles and 25,000 cross-references linking themes, concepts and philosophers. Also a reference source for those in subjects related to philosophy, such as politics, psychology, economics, anthropology, religion and literature.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Authoritative general encyclopedia of philosophy. All articles contain an extensive bibliography (non-annotated).
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is designed to be a scholarly dynamic reference work. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Allows users to cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in the Archives. The Table of Contents lists entries that are assigned and/or published. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

The History LibGuide might also be of interest

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Searchable electronic versions of every book published in Great Britain in the 18th century.
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more.
Electronic Enlightenment
Full text and searchable correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the "Long Eighteenth Century."
Electronic Enlightenment offers unrivalled access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long 18th century and their family and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Over 53,000 letters from 6,000 correspondents are available in their original languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.
Library of Latin Texts
Contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature to the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).
The Library of Latin Texts is a searchable full-text database of classical, patristic, medieval and neo-Latin writers. It includes:
- Literature from Antiquity (Plautus, Terence, Caesar, Cicero, Virgil, Horace, Ovid, Titius-Livius, the Senecas, the two Plinys, Tacitus and Quintilian and others).
- Literature from Patristic Authors (Ambrose, Augustine, Ausonius, Cassian, Cyprian, Gregory the Great, Jerome, Marius Victorinus, Novatian, Paulinus of Nola, Prudentius, Tertullian and others) It also contains non-Christian literature of that period (Ammianus Marcellinus, the Scriptores Historiae Augustae, Claudian, Macrobius and Martianus Cappella).
- Literature from the Middle Ages (Anselm of Canterbury, Beatus de Liebana, Bernard of Clairvaux, William of St. Thierry, Sedulius Scottus, Thomas à Kempis, Thomas de Celano, the Sentences of Peter Lombard, the Rationale of Guilelmus Durandus and important works by Abelard, Bonaventure, Ramon Llull, Thomas Aquinas, William of Ockham and others).
- Neo-Latin Literature (decrees from the modern ecumenical Church councils up to Vatican II and translations into Latin of important sixteenth-century works).
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy
Access to texts in the Oxford handbooks series on philosophy, covering various philosophers, schools of thought, and sub-fields.
Past Masters Philosophers
Collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy. Includes full corpora of figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence. Works are in the original languages, with some translations included.
Philosopher's Index
A bibliographic database with abstracts covering scholarly research in philosophy since 1940. Cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Comprehensive resource for the study of philosophy. Includes access to over 2,800 articles and 25,000 cross-references linking themes, concepts and philosophers. Also a reference source for those in subjects related to philosophy, such as politics, psychology, economics, anthropology, religion and literature.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Authoritative general encyclopedia of philosophy. All articles contain an extensive bibliography (non-annotated).
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is designed to be a scholarly dynamic reference work. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Allows users to cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in the Archives. The Table of Contents lists entries that are assigned and/or published. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

The following LibGuides might also be of interest: History; History and Philosophy of Science

Philosophy

Getting Started

Specialized Databases

Databases by Period

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries