Open Access Resources
Open Access (OA) refers to a series of principles and practices through which research is distributed online with no institutional/monetary barriers and with full reuse rights. Traditionally, open access has referred to materials published by peer-reviewed journals, but the term can apply to any research output including books, monographs, theses/dissertations, conference papers/proceedings, and more. The Open Access movement also encompasses open data, open educational resources, and open science. Here, we have gathered a number of open access resources, including traditional peer-reviewed content along with digital collections, reference materials, and other sources available free-of-charge.
Video: Open Access Explained! Piled Higher and Deeper (PHD Comics) (2012).
See the following links to learn more:
- Open Access LibGuide (Brown University Library)
- What is Open Access? (openaccess.nl)
- Be iNFORMEd: Checklist to assess the quality of a journal or publisher (Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives)
This box contains a selection of Open Access Philosophy journals.
For additional general open access resources, see the following:
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
- OER (Open Educational Resources) Commons OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
- OAPEN Online library of open access books
- Sciendo Search Open Access journals in your subject of interest
- Smithsonian Open Access Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking.
- Open Humanities Press OHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. We have operated as a independent volunteer initiative since 2006, promoting open access scholarship in journals, books and exploring new forms of scholarly communication. OHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. We have operated as a independent volunteer initiative since 2006, promoting open access scholarship in journals, books and exploring new forms of scholarly communication.
- Open Library of Humanities The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organisation dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs).
The Australasian Journal of Logic The Australasian Journal of Logic is an online, open access journal run under the auspices of the Australasian Association of Logic and Victoria University of Wellington. The journal is peer reviewed. The journal was started in 2003, with Greg Restall as its founding editor. The AJL welcomes submissions in any area of logic, either proving technical results or doing conceptual work concerning logic.
Ergo Ergo is an open access philosophy journal accepting submissions on all philosophical topics and from all philosophical traditions. This includes, among other things: history of philosophy, work in both the analytic and continental traditions, as well as formal and empirically informed philosophy. Ergo is strongly committed to diversity and especially welcomes submissions from members of groups currently underrepresented in philosophy.
Informal Logic INFORMAL LOGIC is a peer reviewed journal publishing articles and reviews on topics related to reasoning and argumentation in theory and practice. It is deliberately multi-disciplinary, welcoming theoretical and empirical research from any pertinent field, including, but not restricted to, philosophy, rhetoric, communication, linguistics, psychology, artificial intelligence, education, law.
Journal of Ethics and Social Philosophy The Journal of Ethics and Social Philosophy is a peer-reviewed online journal in moral, social, political, and legal philosophy. The journal welcomes submissions of articles in any of these and related fields of research. The journal is interested in work in the history of ethics that bears directly on topics of contemporary interest, but does not consider articles of purely historical interest.
Open Journal of Philosophy Open Journal of Philosophy (OJPP) is an international journal dedicated to the latest advancements in philosophy. The goal of this journal is to provide a platform for scientists and academicians all over the world to promote, share, and discuss various new issues and developments in different areas of philosophy.
Philosophies Philosophies is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal promoting re-integration of diverse forms of philosophical reflection and scientific research on fundamental issues in science, technology and culture, published bimonthly online by MDPI.
Philosophy, theory, and practice in biology Philosophy, Theory, and Practice in Biology (PTPBio) is a peer-reviewed, open-access, online journal that aims to publish work from philosophers of science and theoretically-inclined biologists, and to encourage interactions across disciplinary boundaries. Our goal is to foster a broader conception of what it means to reflect on and analyze biological theory and method, both scientifically and philosophically.
Radical Philosophy Radical Philosophy is a UK-based journal of socialist and feminist philosophy, the first issue of which appeared in January 1972. It was founded in response to the widely felt discontent with the sterility of academic philosophy at the time (in Britain, completely dominated by the narrowest sort of “ordinary language” philosophy), with the purpose of providing a forum for the theoretical work which was emerging in the wake of the radical movements of the 1960s, in philosophy and other fields.
Symposion: theoretical and applied inquiries in philosophy and social sciences Symposion is a peer-reviewed journal that promotes interdisciplinary research for philosophical humanities and social and political sciences. It welcomes new work in English, French, or German that can open fresh approaches or perspectives for philosophical thought. Originally established as a Romanian language journal, Symposion is now a truly international venue for new scholarship. It publishes original articles, discussion, review essays, and reviews in all philosophical fields.
ethic@: an international journal for moral philosophy ethic@ - An international Journal for Moral Philosophy, a publication of the Center for Ethics and Political Philosophy at UFSC, its main objective is to publish unpublished works (articles, reviews, interviews, translations), with excellence and cutting-edge in area of Modern and Contemporary Moral Philosophy.
Etudes Ricoeuriennes/ Ricoeur Studies Etudes Ricoeuriennes/ Ricoeur Studies (ERRS) is an electronic, open access, peer-reviewed academic journal devoted to the study of the work of Paul Ricoeur. ERRS is interdisciplinary in scope. It encourages critical and constructive interpretations, applications and extensions of Ricoeur's vast oeuvre.
Journal of Practical Ethics: a journal of philosophy, applied to the real world Our vision is to build an open access journal that will bring the best work in philosophy to bear on pressing issues of public, political or interdisciplinary interest. We believe that the ideas and arguments of many moral and political philosophers are of significant relevance to problems in contemporary life.
Kairos: journal of philosophy and scienceKairos. Journal of Philosophy & Science is an open access peer reviewed journal published by the Center for Philosophy of Science of the University of Lisbon (CFCUL) on a three-monthly basis (issues in March, July and November). Following CFCUL’s main objectives, Kairos aims to publish original and consistent research in the areas of Philosophy of Science and of Philosophy and Science. In that sense, it accepts philosophical papers motivated by scientific research as well as philosophically relevant scientific papers, from areas such as metaphysics, politics, ethics, aesthetics, logic, philosophy of language, philosophy of mind and cognition, philosophy of mathematics, philosophy of physics, and philosophy of biology.
Kant Studies Online KSO published research in Kant studies.
Kriterion: Revista de Filosofia Kriterion is published quarterly, three times a year. The journal publishes articles in philosophy and philosophically relevant, in any philosophical area. Its editions are plural in terms of content, bringing together articles on the most varied topics and philosophical approaches.Kritike: an online journal of philosophy
Kritike is the official open access (OA) journal of the Department of Philosophy of the University of Santo Tomas (UST), Manila, Philippines. It is a Filipino peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, and international journal of philosophy founded in 2007 by a group of UST alumni. The journal seeks to publish articles and book reviews by local and international authors across the whole range of philosophical topics.
Minerva: an online open access journal of philosophy Minerva published articles relating to philosophy construed in a broad but scholarly sense, without preference for any particular school or intellectual tradition.
PhaenEx: Journal of Existential and Phenomenological Theory and Practice PhaenEx provides an interdisciplinary forum for original research in theory or culture from existential or phenomenological perspectives, broadly construed.
Philosophica Philosophica publishes original research and philosophical reflection on current epistemological, ethical and political issues.
Praxis: postgraduate journal of philosophy PRAXIS is a journal of philosophy edited by postgraduate students from the University of Manchester Philosophy Department. Praxis publishes peer-reviewed articles, critical notices and book reviews under an open access policy. The main aim of Praxis is to foster links between philosophy and other disciplines, such as education, psychology and the natural sciences.
Principia: an international journal of epistemology Principia: an international journal of epistemology was founded in 1997 and regularly publishes articles, discussions and book reviews. The journal aims at publishing original scholarly work on epistemology, broadly conceived including theory of knowledge, philosophy of science, philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, philosophy of logic, metaphysics, and other related topics, with an emphasis on the analytic approach and on the Modern and Contemporary periods.
Prolegomena: journal of philosophy Prolegomena publishes articles from all areas of contemporary philosophy, as well as articles on the history of philosophy, which are clearly structured and in accordance with the principles of analytical precision, conceptual clarity and argumentation validity.Public Reason: journal of political and moral philosophy
Public Reason is a peer-reviewed journal of political and moral philosophy. Public Reason publishes articles, book reviews, as well as discussion notes from all the fields of political philosophy and ethics, including political theory, applied ethics, and legal philosophy.
S: journal of the circle for Lacanian ideology critique S Journal addresses key issues in Lacanian psychoanalysis and its related fields of philosophy, film, literary criticism, and political ideology critique.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work. - Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and it operates through the volunteer work of the editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers. The Encyclopedia is free of charge and available to all users of the Internet worldwide.
- Digital Public Library of America
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge. - Directory of Open Access Books
- This link opens in a new window
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of open access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their open access books to DOAB. DOAB is an open infrastructure committed to open science. It runs on the open source DSpace 6 platform. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximise dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in open access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in open access and meet academic standards. - Open Humanities Press
- This link opens in a new window
OHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. We have operated as a independent volunteer initiative since 2006, promoting open access scholarship in journals, books and exploring new forms of scholarly communication. - Project Vox
- This link opens in a new window
Project Vox seeks to highlight philosophical works from marginalized individuals traditionally excluded from the philosophical canon. On the Project Vox team, we define marginalized voices as those not included in the European male-centric canon, which generally excludes people of color. Although these marginalized voices were often popular in their time, through historiographical and institutional efforts their voices were obscured from philosophical study. Our project, therefore, is to offer an accurate historical record of the philosophical ideas and people throughout history. - Caselaw Access Project
- This link opens in a new window
The Caselaw Access Project (“CAP”) expands public access to U.S. law. Our goal is to make all published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online, in a consistent format, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law School Library. - punctum books
- This link opens in a new window
Access to freely available e-books in the fields of humanities, social sciences, fine arts, and architecture & design. punctum focuses on authors who want to publish books that are genre-queer and genre-bending and take experimental risks with the forms and styles of intellectual writing. - LibriVox
- This link opens in a new window
LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then we release the audio files back onto the net for free. All our audio is in the public domain, so you may use it for whatever purpose you wish. - New Work in Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
This is New Work in Philosophy (NWP), a multimedia newsletter disseminating and discussing new work in philosophy. NWP will feature short, accessible blog posts, videos, and other multimedia (such as pictures, audio recordings, elaborate argument maps, etc.) in which philosophers promote, discuss, and disseminate their new(ish) work (published articles and books), or the work of others (including article and book reviews, etc.). - Open Access Digital Theological Library
- This link opens in a new window
The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced integrated library system (ILS) for cataloging and discovery. This system, OCLC’s WorldShare, makes content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high-quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.
- Internet Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. - CogPrints
- This link opens in a new window
Welcome to CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy (e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (e.g., ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behaviour genetics, evolutionary theory), Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology (e.g., primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition. - PhiSci-Archives
- This link opens in a new window
Welcome to PhilSci-Archive, an electronic archive specifically tailored to and run by philosophers of science. The archive is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. Its goal is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work. We aim to provide a stable, openly accessible repository in which scholarly articles and monographs may find a permanent home. Works posted here can be linked to from across the web and freely viewed without the need for a user account. PhilSci-Archive invites submissions in all areas of philosophy of science, including general philosophy of science, philosophy of particular sciences (physics, biology, chemistry, psychology, etc.), feminist philosophy of science, socially relevant philosophy of science, history and philosophy of science and history of the philosophy of science.
- OER Commons
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of Open Education Resources (OER) including textbooks and lesson plans. - OER Commons: Religion OR Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
- Open Textbook Library
- This link opens in a new window
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. Browse textbooks by subject. - PhilPapers
- This link opens in a new window
Developed by the Centre for Consciousness at the Australian National University and edited by an international board of philosophy professors, this comprehensive index of the research literature in philosophy provides access to many open access articles, books, and websites. - MIT OpenCourseWare
- This link opens in a new window
Since 2001, MIT OpenCourseWare has been creating new opportunities for millions of learners and educators, sharing Open Educational Resources from MIT and helping to lead a global revolution in free access to knowledge. - MIT OpenCourseWare: Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
- MIT OpenCourseWare: Ethics
- This link opens in a new window
- MERLOT
- This link opens in a new window
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. - MERLOT: Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
- MERLOT: Ethics
- This link opens in a new window
- MERLOT: Metaphysics
- This link opens in a new window
- MERLOT: Aesthetics
- This link opens in a new window
- MERLOT: Epistemology
- This link opens in a new window
- University of Oxford Philosophy Podcasts
- This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of podcasts created by University of Oxford faculty, visiting lecturers, and conference addresses available on various topics, many of which are organized into series. - Teach Philosophy 101
- This link opens in a new window
TΦ101 presents strategies and resources for faculty members and graduate assistants who teach philosophy courses, especially at the introductory level. It also includes material of interest to college faculty generally. The mission of TΦ101 is to provide free, user-friendly resources to the academic community. All materials on this site are provided on an open source license and you may print as many copies as you wish. - Wi-Phi: open access philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
Wi-Phi’s mission is to introduce people to the practice of philosophy by making videos that are freely available in a form that is entertaining, interesting, and accessible to people with no background in the subject.
- Textbook Equity Open Education
- This link opens in a new window
Creator, publisher, and distributor of academically reviewed and classroom tested college-level textbooks. Many contain learning exercises, discussion questions, and other supplemental materials - BC Open Collection
- This link opens in a new window
The B.C. Open Collection is a curated selection of open educational resources (OER) and textbooks that can be accessed by educators in B.C. and beyond to use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or on other teaching and learning platforms. - BC Open Collection: Humanities
- This link opens in a new window
- Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
- This link opens in a new window
This non-profit organization sponsored by the Saylor Foundation, is focused on bringing "freely available education to all." This collection of open textbooks supports the Saylor online courses. It's a collection of open course materials for high-enrollment college courses. - Sapientia: open readings in philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
This text is designed for use in an introductory course on philosophy in a college classroom. It is organized into five parts, each for major branches of philosophical inquiry: epistemology, metaphysics, ethics, and political philosophy. - The Originals: Classic Readings in Western Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
It is important for students not only to get an appreciation and understanding of philosophy but also to be exposed to the very words and ideas of those who have shaped our thinking over the centuries. - Introduction to Philosophy: Logic
- This link opens in a new window
Introduction to Philosophy: Logic provides students with the concepts and skills necessary to identify and evaluate arguments effectively. The chapters, all written by experts in the field, provide an overview of what arguments are, the different types of arguments one can expect to encounter in both philosophy and everyday life, and how to recognise common argumentative mistakes. - The Open Logic Text
- This link opens in a new window
The Open Logic Text is an open-source, modular, collaboratively authored collection of teaching materials for formal (meta)logic and formal methods, starting at an intermediate level (i.e., after an introductory formal logic course). It is aimed at a non-mathematical audience (in particular, students of philosophy and computer science), but is completely rigorous. - Introduction to Philosophy: Ethics
- This link opens in a new window
Philosophical ethics is the critical examination of these and other concepts central to how we evaluate our own and each others' behavior and choices. This text examines some of the main threads of discussion on these topics that have developed over the last couple of millennia, mostly within the Western cultural tradition. - Phronesis: An Open Introduction to Ethical Theory with Readings
- This link opens in a new window
This OER is a remix of Ethics for A-Level by Mark Dimmok and Andrew Fisher as well as selected chapters from the OER textbook Introduction to Ethics, edited by Noah Levin. Supplementing these chapters is a selection of topical primary readings. - Modern Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
This is a textbook (or better, a workbook) in modern philosophy. It combines readings from primary sources with two pedagogical tools. Paragraphs in italics introduce figures and texts. Numbered study questions (also in italics) ask students to reconstruct an argument or position from the text, or draw connections among the readings. - Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of Religion
- This link opens in a new window
This text introduces some of the major traditional arguments for and against the existence of God, as well as some less well-known, but thought-provoking arguments for the existence of God, and one of the most important new challenges to religious belief from the Cognitive Science of Religion. - Introduction to Philosophy: Epistemology
- This link opens in a new window
This text engages first-time philosophy readers on a guided tour through the core concepts, questions, methods, arguments, and theories of epistemology—the branch of philosophy devoted to the study of knowledge. The book progresses systematically while placing key ideas and thinkers in historical and contemporary context. - Introduction to Philosophy: Aesthetic Theory and Practice
- This link opens in a new window
This text offers fresh perspectives on canonical and emerging topics in aesthetics, and also brings attention to a number of culturally sensitive topics that are customarily silenced in introductions to philosophical aesthetics. The papers are heterogeneous in terms of length and degrees of difficulty, inviting the reader into the study of contemporary aesthetics, which spans a lifetime. - IntechOpen
- This link opens in a new window
We pride ourselves on our belief that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be leveled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone. - OAPEN
- This link opens in a new window
OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation. - OpenStax: Humanities
- This link opens in a new window
Simple to use, simple to adopt. Our humanities textbooks are designed to meet the standard scope and sequence requirements of their respective courses – and are 100% free online. Complete with free resources for educators (like LMS course shells, lecture slides, instructor answer keys, and more), all OpenStax textbooks are fully customizable. Explore our texts below and adopt any and all parts useful to your course. - Milne Open Textbooks: Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
Established by the State University of New York, this open access initiative publishes high-quality resources and engages faculty as authors and peer-reviewers. - Open Textbook Library: Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
Created by the University of Minnesota, these faculty-reviewed textbooks cover a wide range of academic subjects.
Research Centers, Professional Organizations, and Funding
Below are a selection of Philosophical Organizations. For additional organizations, see the following resources:
- List of philosophical organizations (Wikipedia)
- American Philosophical AssociationThe American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.
- American Philosophical SocietyThe American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States, was founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of “promoting useful knowledge.” The American Philosophical Society’s current activities reflect the founder’s spirit of inquiry, provide a forum for the free exchange of ideas, and convey our conviction that intellectual inquiry and critical thought are inherently in the best interest of the public.
- American Society for AestheticsWelcome to the official web site of the American Society for Aesthetics. The ASA sponsors an annual conference and four divisional conferences, and publishes the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, and the ASA Newsletter. It also funds projects that promote the goals of the Society, through its Major Project Initiative Grants program.
- American Society for Bioethics and HumanitiesThe Society is an educational organization whose purpose is to promote the exchange of ideas and foster multi-disciplinary, inter-disciplinary, and inter-professional scholarship, research, teaching, policy development, professional development, and collegiality among people engaged in all of the endeavors related to clinical and academic bioethics and the health-related humanities.
- Association for Feminist Ethics and Social TheoryFeminist Ethics and Social Theory is a professional organization dedicated to promoting feminist ethical perspectives on philosophy, moral and political life, and public policy that centers decolonized, intersectional, and interdisciplinary approaches. Our aim is to further the development and clarification of new understandings of ethical and political concepts and concerns, especially as they arise out of feminist concerns regarding underrepresented and marginalized women — including BIPOC, Third World, disabled, and LGBTQIA — as well as those arising from marginalized identities and marginalized issues. We will interrogate and address the philosophical and practical underpinnings of white privilege and racist violence in its many forms, including in feminist theory and practice.
- Association for the Philosophy of JudaismThe purpose of the Association for the Philosophy of Judaism is, first and foremost, to promote scholarship in the philosophy of Judaism. A secondary aim is to encourage philosophers who have yet to do work in the philosophy of Judaism, to turn their attention to such work.
- Canadian Philosophical Association (L'Association canadienne de philosophie)The Canadian Philosophical Association was founded in 1958 to promote philosophical scholarship and education across Canada, and to represent the interests of the profession in public forums.
- International Assocation of Computing and PhilosophyThe International Association for Computing and Philosophy exists to promote scholarly dialogue and research on all aspects of the computational and informational turn, and on the use of information and communication technologies in the service of philosophy.
- International Society for Chinese PhilosophyISCP is a non-profit organization founded by Professor Chung-ying Cheng at University of Hawaii at Manoa in 1975 to bring together scholars from all corners of the globe who share an interest in Chinese philosophy, and to promote the study of Chinese philosophy in both academic and non-academic circles.
- International Society for Environmental EthicsISEE strives to advance research and education in the field of environmental ethics and philosophy, and to promote appropriate human use, respect, conservation, preservation, and understanding of the natural world.
- Minorities and PhilosophyMAP’s mission is to address structural injustices in academic philosophy and to remove barriers that impede participation in academic philosophy for members of marginalized groups. Through our international organizing team and graduate student-led network of autonomous chapters around the world, we aim to examine and dismantle mechanisms that prevent students from marginalized groups from participating in academic philosophy, as well as to promote philosophical work done from marginalized perspectives, and help improve working conditions for scholars from marginalized backgrounds.
- Philosophical Association of MexicoAFM aims to promote and encourage research and education philosophy in Mexico.
- Philosophy of Education SocietyThe Philosophy of Education Society is an international forum that promotes the philosophic treatment of educational practice, policy and research, advances the quality of teaching the philosophy of education, and cultivates fruitful relationships between and among philosophers, philosophers of education and educators.
- Philosophy of Science AssociationThe Philosophy of Science Association promotes research, teaching, and free discussion of issues in the philosophy of science from diverse standpoints.
- Radical Philosophy AssociationThe purpose of the RPA is to foster the discussion of diverse currents of radical, critical philosophical thinking in the United States and worldwide, and to provide support for initiatives to implement such thinking along lines agreed to by a consensus of the membership.
- Society for Asian and Comparative PhilosophyThe Society for Asian and Comparative Philosophy was established in 1967 as a non-profit organization aimed at advancing the development of the disciplines of Asian and comparative philosophy in the international academic arena, and bringing together Asian and Western philosophers, as well as other scholars interested in Asian and world philosophy, for a mutually beneficial exchange of ideas. The Society seeks to provide the professional outlet for philosophers doing work in non-Western and comparative areas of philosophy. The group serves as the largest and most well-known professional organization for scholars in the fields of Asian and global philosophy.
- Society for Business EthicsWe are a diverse, global group of students, scholars and business professionals from all disciplines, interested in the research, discussion, teaching and application of ethical business practices. Our purpose is to provide a forum in which moral, legal, empirical and philosophical issues of business ethics may be openly discussed and analyzed. To this end, we promote the study, discussion and debate of business ethics. This is accomplished by publishing the scholarly journal, Business Ethics Quarterly and hosting an annual conference in August which provides a venue for presentations, workshops and panels focused on ethical business patterns, practices and protocols.
- Society for the Study of Africana PhilosophyThe Society for the Study of Africana Philosophy ("SSAP"), based in New York City, has been a forum for the discussion of philosophical ideas for over forty-five years. SSAP was established to provide a network of support for young African American philosophers and other intellectuals in the academy, to bring together alternative voices to de-center the predominant 'Eurocentric' focus of and lack of diversity in most academic philosophy departments, and to provide a place for lay intellectuals to exchange ideas with professional academics in an informal setting.
- Society for Philosophy and DisabilityThe Society for Philosophy and Disability, or SPD, is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to furthering research and teaching on philosophical issues related to disability and to promoting inclusiveness and support for people with disabilities in philosophical education and in the profession of philosophy.
Source (with complete list) | APA Associations and Societies
- Indiana University GradGrants CenterThe GradGrants Center (GGC) supports Indiana University graduate students as they find and secure sponsored grants, fellowships, and awards from external sources that are essential to their academic, research, and professional pursuits. Through extensive access to external funding opportunities for all disciplines, the GGC constitutes an invaluable resource and educational tool to both IU’s graduate student community and the University as a whole.
- APA Prizes and FellowshipsThis is the APA’s page for graduate student prizes and fellowships.
- Non-APA Prizes, Grants, and FellowshipsThis is the APA's page for external prizes, grants, and fellowships.
- Marc Sanders Foundation: Graduate Student PrizeThe Marc Sanders graduate student prize. The winner of this prize gets $1,000 and their submission accepted to the eastern APA.
- Doctoral Dissertation FellowshipsFunds a major program of graduate fellowships in the humanities and social sciences. These fellowships support students in the final stages of doctoral study whose work offers significant potential for advancing academic scholarship related to ethics and/or religion. The Institute for Citizens & Scholars administers all aspects of this program, including a rigorous national competition for Newcombe Fellowships each year.
Below are guides with additional funding information:
- Philosophy External Funding Resources (Fordham University)
- External Grants (Rutgers University)
- External Fellowships (University of Illinois Chicago)
- Graduate Funding and Fellowships (University of Arizona)
- PhilEventsPhilevents is a central hub for posting and finding calls for papers (CFP) for conference submissions and workshops. You can search by topic or for key terms.
- American Philosophical Association: EventsHere you can find out about upcoming events and view information on past events.
Other Guides
These are other guides created by IU librarians to help scholars navigate research in specialized sub-disciplines and subjects relevant to philosophy:
- Asian American and Pacific Islander Philosophies (Philosophy)
- Indigenous Philosophies (Philosophy)
- Black Philosophy and Thought (Philosophy)
- Feminism and Feminist Philosophies (Philosophy)
- Environmental Ethics and Aesthetics (Philosophy)
- Metaphysics of Gender (Philosophy)
- Introduction to Queer Theory (Philosophy)
- Animal Philosophies (Philosophy)
- Researching Philosophy: Where to Start
- Online philosophy resources
- E-Resources for Arts & Humanities
These are other helpful library subject guides related to philosophy from other institutions, which may also be useful in finding relevant resources:
- Philosophy Research Guide (Yale University)
- Philosophy Research Guide (Emory University)
- Philosophy and Ethics Research Guide (Loyola University Chicago)
- Philosophy Research Guide: Key Resources (DePaul University)
- Philosophy Research Guide (with subject subdivisions) (University of Illinois)
- Philosophy: Getting Started (Duke University)
- Philosophy Research Guide (with subject subdivisions) (New York University)
- General Philosophy (with subject subdivisions) (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
- Ethics in Health Sciences (University of Washington)
- Legal Ethics Research Guide (University of Chicago)