Philosophy

Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels.  Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.  

Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of nearly 1.6 million articles from more than 280 publications offering both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique.
Ethnic NewsWatch delivers hundreds of ethnocentric publications. The voices of the Asian American, Jewish, African American, Native American, Arab American, Eastern European, and multi-ethnic communities can be heard. Titles include New York Amsterdam News, Asian Week, Jewish Exponent, Seminole Tribune, and many more. A majority of this content is exclusive to ENW and not available in any other database.

These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) including the Bloomington Herald Times, and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Includes cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for articles in the following major newspapers beginning in January 1, 1995:

• NEW YORK TIMES
• WALL STREET JOURNAL (Eastern and Western editions)
• CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR
• USA TODAY
• WASHINGTON POST

Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather.

Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.

To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.

World Newspaper Archive is a fully-searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.

Additional access options:

• Access to the New York Times Online (newyorktimes.com and via apps)
• Access to the New York Times from 1851 - 2013 (plus access to the Times Index from 1851 - 1993)

Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.

Additional access options:

Access to the Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, 1889-2000 
Access to the Wall Street Journal Online (wsj.com and via apps)

Additional access options:

• Access to the Chicago Tribune from 1849 - 1996 - offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
• The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the Tribune as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.

Additional access options: access to content 1988-Present (with a slight lag time for new issues) is available via Access World News.

The Indianapolis Star is currently the only major daily newspaper in Indianapolis. Additional access options:

Access to the Indianapolis Star 1903-2004 (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers).

The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the Indianapolis Star, 1907-present, located on the second floor of the East Tower, call number AN2 .I3S7.

Founded when Miami’s population was less than 5,500, The Miami Herald evolved with the south Florida city, offering detailed coverage of the development of Bayfront Park and the East Coast Railway to the Keys, as well as the Everglades Reclamation Project and the rise of the aviation industry. The Herald staff has won 20 Pulitzer Prizes; the first was awarded in 1951 for its coverage of U.S. Senate hearings on Miami’s gambling parlors. The paper’s most notable columnists have included political commentator Leonard Pitts, Jr., journalist Mirta Ojito, humorist Dave Barry and novelist Carl Hiassen.

Feature full text of more than 70 years of articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries and more from the New York Amsterdam News, one of the United States' leading Black newspapers.

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier (1950-1954 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1969-1981 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1981-2010), Pittsburgh courier (1911-1950 : City ed.), and Pittsburgh courier (1955-1965 : City ed.). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. (OCLC)

The Indianapolis Star is the largest paper in Indiana. It has been awarded a Pulitzer Prize three times — once for meritorious public service and twice for investigative reporting. In 1975, the Star was honored for its 1974 series on corruption within the Indianapolis Police Department. It was cited again in 1991 for its 1990 series on medical malpractice.

The Indianapolis Star is the largest paper in Indiana. It has been awarded a Pulitzer Prize three times — once for meritorious public service and twice for investigative reporting. In 1975, the Star was honored for its 1974 series on corruption within the Indianapolis Police Department. It was cited again in 1991 for its 1990 series on medical malpractice.

Additional access options:

Access to the Indianapolis Star 1903-Present (via Indiana Collection). Note there may be a lag time of approximately 5 days for new issues to be added.

The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the Indianapolis Star, 1907-present, located on the second floor of the East Tower, call number AN2 .I3S7.

Hoosier State Chronicles is operated by the Indiana State Library and funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. The Indiana titles digitized through NDNP are also available at the Library of Congress's Chronicling America, along with over 8 million newspaper pages from around the United States.

Includes digitized copies and content of the follwing local Indiana Newspapers: Bloomington Evening World (1907-1923), Indiana Daily Student (1867-1923), Madison Herald, Indianapolis State Sentinel, Indianapolis Star, Fort Wayne Journal Gazette,Terre Haute Star and Indianapolis Sun.

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago Daily Defender (1966-1973 : Big Weekend Ed.), Chicago Daily Defender (1960-1973 : Daily Ed.), Chicago Defender (1909-1966 : Big Weekend Ed.), Chicago Defender (1973-1975 : Big Weekend Ed.), Chicago Defender (1973-1975 : Daily Ed.), Chicago Defender (1921-1967 : National ed) ; Weekend Chicago Defender (1980-2008) ; Chicago Daily Defender (1973-2010 : Daily Ed.)

The Chicago Tribune (1849-1996) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Additional access options:

• Access to the Chicago Tribune from 2008 - recent (coverage extends to within days of the current issue). This is a digitized microfilm of the Chicago Tribune.
• The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the Tribune as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.

When The Cincinnati Enquirer printed its first issue 1841, Cincinnati was the nation’s 6th largest city and was known as “The Queen of the West.” This resource covers a range of studies, including history, political science, economics and genealogy, with reports on world affairs, national events and a record of regional topics related to agriculture, manufacturing, government and people from the dynamic viewpoint of a quintessential western boomtown.

Includes news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.

From 1877 - 2000, every backfile issue of The Washington Post has been digitized from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. You can search using basic keyword, guided, publication-specific searches, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. You may also browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition.

Explore the paper’s perspective on local events of major international significance, from post-Civil War Reconstruction, to the first taste of Coca-Cola in 1886, to the Race Riots of 1907, the Civil Rights sit-ins of the 1960s, and the election of the first black mayor in 1973.

The Atlanta Daily World had the first Black White House correspondent and was the first Black daily newspaper in the nation in the 20th century.

Founded when Miami’s population was less than 5,500, The Miami Herald evolved with the south Florida city, offering detailed coverage of the development of Bayfront Park and the East Coast Railway to the Keys, as well as the Everglades Reclamation Project and the rise of the aviation industry. The Herald staff has won 20 Pulitzer Prizes; the first was awarded in 1951 for its coverage of U.S. Senate hearings on Miami’s gambling parlors. The paper’s most notable columnists have included political commentator Leonard Pitts, Jr., journalist Mirta Ojito, humorist Dave Barry and novelist Carl Hiassen.

The oldest and largest Black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African American owned newspaper in the U.S.

The full text of the Los Angeles Times, with images of pages and articles; users can search and limit by date and article type.

The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California. By the 1940s it was the most widely circulated paper in the region and included a weekly English section for second generation Japanese Americans. With the onset of World War II, the paper was forced to cease publication after its publisher, H. Toyosaku Komai, and most of the Komai family were arrested and interned for the duration of the war. The Rafu Shimpo quickly revived publication after the war and capitalized on being the first Japanese American newspaper to resume publication in January of 1946. The newspaper outlasted all its local competitors and became the most prominent and preeminent Japanese American publication in the United States.

Additional access options: access to content 1988-Present (with a slight lag time for new issues) is available via Access World News.

Includes digitized copies and content of the follwing local Indiana Newspapers: Bloomington Evening World (1907-1923), Indiana Daily Student (1867-1923), Madison Herald, Indianapolis State Sentinel, Indianapolis Star, Fort Wayne Journal Gazette,Terre Haute Star and Indianapolis Sun.

The Indianapolis Star is currently the only major daily newspaper in Indianapolis. Additional access options:

Access to the Indianapolis Star 1903-2004 (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers).

The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the Indianapolis Star, 1907-present, located on the second floor of the East Tower, call number AN2 .I3S7.

The Indianapolis Star is the largest paper in Indiana. It has been awarded a Pulitzer Prize three times — once for meritorious public service and twice for investigative reporting. In 1975, the Star was honored for its 1974 series on corruption within the Indianapolis Police Department. It was cited again in 1991 for its 1990 series on medical malpractice.

The Indianapolis Star is the largest paper in Indiana. It has been awarded a Pulitzer Prize three times — once for meritorious public service and twice for investigative reporting. In 1975, the Star was honored for its 1974 series on corruption within the Indianapolis Police Department. It was cited again in 1991 for its 1990 series on medical malpractice.

Additional access options:

Access to the Indianapolis Star 1903-Present (via Indiana Collection). Note there may be a lag time of approximately 5 days for new issues to be added.

The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the Indianapolis Star, 1907-present, located on the second floor of the East Tower, call number AN2 .I3S7.

Hoosier State Chronicles is operated by the Indiana State Library and funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. The Indiana titles digitized through NDNP are also available at the Library of Congress's Chronicling America, along with over 8 million newspaper pages from around the United States.

World Newspaper Archive is a fully-searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.

Includes access to Series 1 and 2:

African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922: 

Features English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Covers such events/topics as the repercussions of the Atlantic slave trade, life under colonial rule and the results of the Berlin Conference, the emergence of Black journalism, the Zulu Wars and the rejection of Western imperialism.

Collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content. Also includes access to five in-copyright titles from the region: al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt), Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel), al-Akhbar (الاخبار, Lebanon), al-Riyadh (الرياض, Saudi Arabia), and al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan).

The Rand Daily Mail pioneered popular journalism in South Africa, until it was controversially closed in 1985. Highlights include: Benjamin Pogrund's extraordinary coverage of the Sharpeville massacre in 1960; Helen Zille's uncovering of Steve Biko’s murder at the hands of police in 1976; news-breaking reporting by Mervyn Rees and Chris Day about the apartheid state's effort to influence opinion, an exposé that sparked the scandal known as “Muldergate."

After the South African government banned publication of the Post Transvaal and three other black newspapers in 1980, journalists, editors and publishers began producing the English-language paper the Sowetan. The newspaper includes contributions of legendary editors like Percy Qoboza and Aggrey Klaaste.

Originally created as a sister publication of the Rand Daily Mail—the first South African newspaper to openly oppose apartheid—the Sunday Times has been publishing weekly since February 4, 1906. Its first issue sold out in three hours, and the paper’s popularity grew throughout the 20th century. Known for writers who were unafraid to tackle controversial stories, the Sunday Times garnered a reputation for its award-winning journalism, combative style and breaking news coverage.

Business Day established itself as South Africa’s more liberal financial publication, paying special attention to issues related to Black economic empowerment and offering robust coverage of anti-apartheid demonstrations.

Fully searchable historical newspapers from South Asia; part of the World Newspaper Archive, created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries. Features English-, Gujarati- and Bengali-language papers published in India, in the regions of the Subcontinent that now comprise Pakistan, and in Ceylon (now Sri Lanka). Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).

The Times of India offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: The Bombay times and journal of commerce (1838-1859), The Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and The times of India (1861-2008). New content is added annually.

Full-text articles from more than 350 core newspapers from every province of China. The articles are arranged in six series, and IU subscribes to the following four series:

Politics/Military/Law
Economics
Education/Society
Love/Marriage/Family/Health

Instructions for access:

1. Select "Modern Documents"
2. Click on "login"
3. Click the red title of the database "申報數據庫”

The collection includes almost all periodicals published during critical periods later known as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. It contains the Women's Periodicals that advocated women's liberation and mental enlightenment, the Four Major Late Qing Dynasty Novel Journals as emerged during the great flourishing period of novels of the late Qing Dynasty, the Vernacular Chinese Periodicals founded to explore the people's mind and spread new knowledge, and the Science and Technology Periodicals which introduced new technologies and spread scientific knowledge. Users may have access to some 280,000 pieces of historical documents and browse or download them in full text.

The first half of the twentieth century began with the demise of China’s last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and ended with the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949. Following the 1912 establishment of China’s first post-imperial government, the Republic of China, the country experienced both industrial and social revolution, a civil war during which communist and nationalist forces battled to shape the country’s future, and looming external threats during both world wars.

Includes access to Series 1 through 4.

The paper was founded in Tianjin in 1902. All editions (Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing, Hankou, Hong Kong, Guilin) are included.

First published in 1928, Zhong yang ri bao (Central Daily News) is one of the world's oldest Chinese-language newspapers.

Newspapers included:

Lian he bao 聨合報 (United Daily), 1951- present
Jing ji ri bao 經濟日報 (Economics Daily), 1967- present
Lain he wan bao 聨合晚報 (United Evening News), 1988- present
Min sheng bao 民生報 (Min sheng Daily), 1978-2006
Xing bao 星報 (Star Daily), 1999-2006
Ouzhou ri bao 毆洲日報 (Europe Daily), 2000-2009
Meizhou shi jie ri bao 美洲世界日報 (World News America), 2000- present
Upaper, 2007- present

The Japan Times was first published March 22, 1897, with the intention to provide an a English-language paper focused on current events to aid Japan in the participating in the international community.

Also provides various business data on individual companies from corporate overview to financial and credit information.

Coverage includes: South Korea’s diplomatic relationship with its neighbors such as China, Russia and Japan, the nuclear crisis in North Korea and relations between Korea and the U.S., the April Revolution of 1960; the Vietnam War; the attempted assassination South Korean President Park Chung-hee; the Axe Murder Incident in 1976, in which two US Army officers were killed by North Korean soldiers in the DMZ; and the end of the Cold War. Contemporary coverage serves as a window into modern politics, society, economy, and culture in Korea, including the controversial rule of Kim Jong II and Kim Jong-un in North Korea.

Published in Warsaw, Poland. The paper's motto is "Nie ma wolności bez Solidarności" ("There's no freedom without Solidarity"). To navigate to the Archive, select “Archiwum” in the bottom righthand corner.

The newspapers Prapor peremohy and Trybuna pratsi (both in Ukrainian) provide researchers with an opportunity to explore the larger socio-cultural and historical context of the regions affected by the Chernobyl disaster. Tribuna Energetika, published in Russian under the aegis of the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant, provides insight into the everyday life of the power plant and the city of Pripyat. Includes coverage of the operation of the power plant, its construction and expansion operations, as well as the life of the community of workers and specialists stationed there.

By the early 1990s Pravda Ukrainy had become the complete opposite of the original newspaper, having jettisoned its previous ideological commitments, and instead embracing democratic principles, independent journalism, and an unrestrained criticism of the government - stances that drove its popularity and growing circulation. Due largely to financial struggles the newspaper ceased publication in 2014.

Both Donetsk People's Republic and Lugansk People's Republic were established as independent state entities after local referendums conducted in May 2014 and organized by the separatists leaders. Although the results of the referenda have not been recognized neither by Ukraine, the EU or the United States, its direct result led to an all out war between the Ukrainian military and eastern Ukrainian pro-Russian separatists resulting in thousands of deaths from both sides. Newspapers in this database cover the period of military hostilities between the unrecognized states and the government of Ukraine (2013-2015) and contain research material for anyone studying the development of separatist movements in this part of the world.

Newspapers Included:

Boevoe znamia Donbassa
Boevoi listok Novorossii
Donetsk vechernii
Edinstvo
Nasha gazeta
Novorossiia
Vostochnyi Donbass
XXI vek
Zaria Donbassa
Zhizn' Luganska

Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and remained the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR until its collapse in 1991. Covering the politics, society, and culture, it is an extremely important primary source for any research on the Soviet Union. The full text is searchable and you may browse images of the issues in the original format.

The scope of chronological coverage varies from title to title, spanning from 2 to 16 years (Izvestiia). It is not only a retrospective archival database but also a current news service, incorporating the current issues almost simultaneously as the print issues come out.

Sheds light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period’s leading directors and critics. Includes articles by leading Soviet directors (Lev Kuleshov, Sergei Eisenstein, Dziga Vertov, Aleksandr Dovzhenko, Abram Room), as well as members of the avant-garde LEF, leading authors and philologists.

Some of the authors and journalists whose works appeared in Gudok were the famous Soviet journalist and satirist Ilya Ilf, and the writers Mikhail Zoshchenko, Lev Slavin, Sasha Krasny, and Alexander Kabakov. At the height of its popularity in the 1970s it had a daily circulation of 700,000.

Previously published under the titles Rabochii i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskaia kul’tura (1953-1991). In the Soviet period it published critical diatribes against dissident writers Pasternak, Solzhenitsyn, Aksyonov and others, infamous articles condemning modern art exhibitions, chastising avant-guard composers and abstract painters. In modern Russia its reviews and event listings often focus on the cultural life of Moscow and regions, it is known for its topical commentaries on popular culture and politics.

The newspaper Za vozvrashchenie na Rodinu (Return to Motherland) was established in April 1955 in East Berlin as a biweekly publication. The newspaper was published by the Soviet Repatriation Committee, which was also established in 1955 and stayed active until 1958. The newspaper was principally aimed at Russian emigrants and was an important anti-western propaganda outlet for the USSR. The main objective of the newspaper was the creation of a favorable image of the Soviet Union and the criticism of émigré organizations in the post-war period and during the Cold War. The newspaper was published under the watchful eye of the KGB, and only the most loyal Soviet officials were allowed to work on this project. Starting with 1960: issue 04, the newspaper's name was changed to Golos Rodiny (The Voice of the Motherland).

Includes access to:

British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900:

Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, the 47 publications in Part I span national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stuart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.

British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900

Part II includes additional English regional newspapers with 22 additional publications. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, captures conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.

British Library Newspapers, Part III: 1741-1950

Part III includes 35 newspapers, encompassing provincial news journals like the Leeds Intelligencer and Hull Daily Mail, local interest publications such as the Northampton Mercury, and specialist titles such as the Poor Law Unions’ Gazette. Other noteworthy titles in Part III include the Westmoreland Gazette, whose early editor, Thomas De Quincy (of Confessions of an English Opium Eater) was forced to resign due to his unreliability.

British Library Newspapers, Part IV: 1732-1950

From early newspaper titles like the Stamford Mercury to what may be the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, the 23 newspapers in Part IV offer local and regional perspectives from Aberdeen, Bath, Chester, Derby, Stamford, Liverpool, and York. In addition, Part IV includes the 1901-1950 runs of papers such as the Aberdeen Journal and Dundee Courier whose earlier newspapers are available in Part I and Part II.

British Library Newspapers, Part V: 1746-1950

With a concentration of titles from the northern part of the United Kingdom, the 36 newspapers in Part V includes titles from the Scottish localities of Fife, Elgin, Inverness, Paisley, and John O'Groats, as well as towns just below the border, such as Morpeth, Alnwick, and more. Includes access to the Coventry Herald, which features some of the earliest published writing of Mary Ann Evans (better known as George Eliot).

Includes access to four collections:

British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

British Periodicals Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles, amounting to almost 3 million pages. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

British Periodicals Collection III extends the scope of the program by focusing on leading publications from the first half of the twentieth century. The titles are from the prestigious stable of illustrated periodicals known as the “Great Eight” in British periodical publishing history. They are considered to be among the foremost popular periodicals of the period and were highly influential in their mix of news/politics, miscellany, art, photography, literature and comedy/satire, while launching the careers of many leading artists/illustrators of the age.

British Periodicals Collection IV continues this expansion, offering an eclectic mix of major popular titles from the twentieth century, reflecting the age’s attitudes interests and events across culture, politics and society. Key themes covered in these publications include socialism and the labour movement, international affairs/conflict, leisure/rural life, the arts, travel/empire and childhood/youth.

Current IU faculty, staff, or students may follow these instructions for creating an FT account:

1. Go to https://www.ft.com/
2. Click "Sign In" at the top right of the screen
3. Enter your @iu.edu email address 
4. Click "Next"
5. Choose SSO sign in
6. Authenticate through IU Login
7. Enter required information 
8. Optional questions may follow regarding your additional preferences. Users may move past this section by selecting skip.

Founded to serve the city of London, the Financial Times eventually broadened its coverage to global financial and economic issues. Incorporating its rival the Financial News in 1945, the Financial Times expanded in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy and international politics in full for the first time. In the final decades of the twentieth century, coverage of management, personal finance and the arts was added.

The paper is generally regarded as centrist. Covers free market, social issues, and culture.

The Listener was developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks, initially on radio, but in later years television as well, and was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine Radio Times. The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. In addition to commenting on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, the Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books.

Launched in 1855, the Telegraph is generally seen by press historians as the start of a new era of journalism that emerged following the repeal of stamp duty and signalling the first step towards the mass-market journalism of the Daily Mail. The Telegraph employed of several renowned special correspondents over the years; Winston Churchill, who reported from India in 1897, Rudyard Kipling, who braved the trenches of the First World War, and Clare Hollingworth, who, as the first female war correspondent, relayed the start of the Second World War from Poland. During the twentieth century, there was the infamous uncensored interview with Kaiser Wilhelm of 1908, in which the German chancellor successfully alienated Britain, France, Russia, and Japan. In 1942, the newspaper published the cryptic crossword puzzle responsible for recruiting Allied codebreakers during the Second World War.

Part I: Women's, Children's, Humor, and Leisure covers the advent of commercial lifestyle publishing in Brtain, with a particular focus on the rarely documented aspects of women, children, humor, and leisure activity in the Victorian Age.

Part II: Empire covers the role of Britain as an imperial power throughout the century, and includes periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa.

This French-language newspaper was created at the request of General Charles de Gaulle as the German army was vacating Paris during World War II. At a time when other Parisian newspapers were accused of Nazi sympathies or other political alliances, Le Monde was established for its independence, and has been known for such ever since.

Includes access to the following modules:

F.A.Z.-BiblioNet: this module includes articles from Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung from 1993-Present.

F.A.Z.49-92: this module contains digitized articles from Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung from 1949 to 1992 and Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung from 1990 to 1992.

Frankfurter Rundschau: this module contains digitized articles from Frankfurter Rundschau since 1995.

Part of the World News Archive.  Includes content from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela. Among the title included are: La Nacion, La Prensa and Vanguardia (Buenos Aires), Jornal do Commercio (Rio de Janeiro), O Estado de São Paulo (São Paulo), Mercurio (Santiago), La Prensa (Havana), El Guatemalteco (Guatemala City), Daily Chronicle (Georgetown, Guyana), La Revista de Yucatan (Merida, Mexico), La Patria, Mexican Herald and El Monitor Republicano (Mexico City) , El Dictamen (Veracruz Llave, Mexico), La Estrella de Panama and Star & Herald (Panama City), El Peruano and West Coast Leader (Lima), Port of Spain Gazette (Port of Spain), and the Venezuelan Herald (Caracas)

Most of the newspapers included were published in the English language, but a number of Spanish, French, and Danish language titles are also provided. Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Also found within this resource are newspapers from Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region and integrally related to this region.

Founded in 1948 under the repressive Trujillo regime (1930-1961), the newspaper has borne witness to decades of political uncertainty, economic development, and social change. Except for brief interruptions in publication for a month in 1962 and seven months in 1965, El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region.

Covers Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.

Focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina. 

The bulk of the titles were founded in the 1970s, documenting the proliferation of Indigenous journalism that grew out of the occupation of Wounded Knee, meeting the demand for objective reporting from within Indian Country. Subjects covered include: self-determination era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation from an Indigenous perspective.

Most records in the current coverage contain an abstract and, additionally, many records contain the corresponding full text of the original article. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary--spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline. The journal list was prepared with the guidance of an advisory board including librarians specializing in Black Studies.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of nearly 1.6 million articles from more than 280 publications offering both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique.
Ethnic NewsWatch delivers hundreds of ethnocentric publications. The voices of the Asian American, Jewish, African American, Native American, Arab American, Eastern European, and multi-ethnic communities can be heard. Titles include New York Amsterdam News, Asian Week, Jewish Exponent, Seminole Tribune, and many more. A majority of this content is exclusive to ENW and not available in any other database.

Covers mostly the West and Southwest, but also Illinois, Indiana, and New York. Topics covered range from literature to politics, to labor and social movements. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.

These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California. By the 1940s it was the most widely circulated paper in the region and included a weekly English section for second generation Japanese Americans. With the onset of World War II, the paper was forced to cease publication after its publisher, H. Toyosaku Komai, and most of the Komai family were arrested and interned for the duration of the war. The Rafu Shimpo quickly revived publication after the war and capitalized on being the first Japanese American newspaper to resume publication in January of 1946. The newspaper outlasted all its local competitors and became the most prominent and preeminent Japanese American publication in the United States.

Focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina. 

Most records in the current coverage contain an abstract and, additionally, many records contain the corresponding full text of the original article. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary--spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline. The journal list was prepared with the guidance of an advisory board including librarians specializing in Black Studies.

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago Daily Defender (1966-1973 : Big Weekend Ed.), Chicago Daily Defender (1960-1973 : Daily Ed.), Chicago Defender (1909-1966 : Big Weekend Ed.), Chicago Defender (1973-1975 : Big Weekend Ed.), Chicago Defender (1973-1975 : Daily Ed.), Chicago Defender (1921-1967 : National ed) ; Weekend Chicago Defender (1980-2008) ; Chicago Daily Defender (1973-2010 : Daily Ed.)

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier (1950-1954 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1969-1981 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1981-2010), Pittsburgh courier (1911-1950 : City ed.), and Pittsburgh courier (1955-1965 : City ed.). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. (OCLC)

Some titles lasted a short time, or few extant issues have been found, so that the database may contain as little as a single issue from a source. Other newspapers had longer lives, and long runs of issues are available.

African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998:
Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York
Age, L’Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, and The Appeal (MN).

African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956:
Key titles include Frederick Douglass’s New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), and Southern News (Richmond, VA).

Based on a collection of rare newspapers held by the American Antiquarian Society, with contributions from the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia; the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections. Fully text-searchable; browseable by newspaper title.

Collections included: African American Newspapers, Series 1 ; African American Newspapers, Series 2 ;  Caribbean Newspapers ; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection ; Hispanic American Newspapers ; Early American Newspapers, Series 1-7, 11-12, and 17-19.

Founded in 1812 by Revolutionary War printer Isaiah Thomas, the American Antiquarian Society is both a learned society and a major independent research library. The AAS library contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, periodicals, music, and graphic arts material printed through 1876 in what is now the United States, as well as manuscripts and a substantial collection of secondary texts, bibliographies, and digital resources and reference works related to all aspects of American history and culture before the twentieth century.

Based on a very comprehensive microfilm collection of American magazines and journals, 1740-1940. Contains searchable full text of all extant issues of over 1000 titles, ranging from children's magazines to professional journals. Can be cross-searched with historical newspaper archives.

The Flash Press covered the seamier aspects of urban life in the mid-19th century. Topics included prostitution, gambling, urban gangs, illicit sporting activities, and sensational crimes. To many of their readers, the Flash Press also conveyed an implicit threat of blackmail, which often led to very ephemeral print runs.

The Collection of the Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies, which merged with the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, offers searchable, full text coverage of over 130 searchable full text newspapers from 25 states and in ten languages. The ethnic groups most represented are the Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Polish, and Slovak communities.

Documents reflect the social, artistic and cultural dynamism that characterized the 'Roaring Twenties' in fashion, music, literature, dance and entertainment as well as post-war intellectual thought and modernism.

This resource is a digital archive of nearly 250 American historical newspapers from the 19th century, many complete with images.   Contents include digitized collections of holdings from the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society, the South Carolinian Library, the Scholarly Resources Archive, the Maryland State Archive, and the Boston Public Library, among others.  Coverage includes major papers, minority publications, publications of social activist groups, and illustrated papers. Newspapers included are: New York Herald (NY), Lynchburg Virginian (VA), Pacific Commercial Advertiser (HI), Rocky Mountain News (CO), Southern Illustrated News (VA), Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago), Milwaukee Sentinel (WI), The Bee (OH), The Mountaineer (SC).

In addition to acting as a mouthpiece for the troops, service newspapers brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Titles from all the key theaters are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Afrikaans, Swahili, and other African dialects. Includes access to modules 1 and 2.

Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

La Hemeroteca Digital forma parte del proyecto Biblioteca Digital Hispánica, que tiene como objetivo la consulta y difusión pública a través de Internet del Patrimonio Bibliográfico Español conservado en la Biblioteca Nacional.

The Eighteenth Century Journals Portal consists of the following five sections:

Eighteenth Century Journals I
Newspapers and Periodicals, 1693-1793, from the Bodleian Library, Oxford

Eighteenth Century Journals II
Newspapers and Periodicals, 1699-1812, from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin

Eighteenth Century Journals III
Newspapers and Periodicals, 1680-1816, from British Library Newspapers, Colindale and Cambridge University Library

Eighteenth Century Journals IV
Newspapers and Periodicals, 1708-1820, from Chetham's Library, Manchester and the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds

Eighteenth Century Journals V
The Lady’s Magazine and Other Titles, 1712-1835, from Birmingham Central Library, British Library, Cambridge University Library and Liverpool John Moores University Library

Digital collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", and includes nearly 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 titles.

John Nichols (1745–1826) was a London printer and avid collector of newspapers, which he used to inform his literary and historical research work. The collection includes approximately 300 primary titles of newspapers and periodicals and 300 pamphlets and broadsheets.

Originally bound in 96 volumes, of which number 14 (July 1705-July 1708) and 90 (Jan-April 1736) no longer exist, the collection was later re-bound into the present 296 volumes by splitting each volume in three or four parts labelled A through D. The newspapers cover the political history between the reign of Charles II and the Age of Walpole, and cover a variety of subjects.

Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Notable periodicals include The Economist, Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal.

Barron's is a leading source of financial news, providing in-depth analysis and commentary on stocks, investments and how markets are moving across the world.

Business Day established itself as South Africa’s more liberal financial publication, paying special attention to issues related to Black economic empowerment and offering robust coverage of anti-apartheid demonstrations.

Includes: news, analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs, special surveys and supplements on Countries and Industries, sections including Science and Technology, classified and display advertising profiling major companies, and job opportunities.

Current IU faculty, staff, or students may follow these instructions for creating an FT account:

1. Go to https://www.ft.com/
2. Click "Sign In" at the top right of the screen
3. Enter your @iu.edu email address 
4. Click "Next"
5. Choose SSO sign in
6. Authenticate through IU Login
7. Enter required information 
8. Optional questions may follow regarding your additional preferences. Users may move past this section by selecting skip.

Founded to serve the city of London, the Financial Times eventually broadened its coverage to global financial and economic issues. Incorporating its rival the Financial News in 1945, the Financial Times expanded in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy and international politics in full for the first time. In the final decades of the twentieth century, coverage of management, personal finance and the arts was added.

Forbes Magazine covers the business and financial world. Also includes analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style.

Includes full-text for more than 100 business publications, with full-text coverage dating back to 1990. Includes such titles as: Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.

Provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting and marketing.

Additional access options:

Access to the Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, 1889-2000 
Access to the Wall Street Journal Online (wsj.com and via apps)

Account use and renewal:

Once your account is activated, you can access all content from a web browser, as well as via smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. To retain access via apps and the website, you must validate your account every 90 days by logging in using your IU credentials via https://guides.libraries.indiana.edu/wall-street-journal.

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://now.wsj.com/mobile/

After creating an account, you will be able to save articles. They will be permanently stored in your WSJ account and can be accessed via WSJ.com from any web browser on any device. To locate saved articles on WSJ.com, after logging in, click the arrow next tor your name in the right-hand corner to expand the drop-down menu, then select "Saved Articles."

Wall Street Journal Online is not available for unaffiliated users.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup your WSJ account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. From a web browser, visit the Wall Street Journal via IU Bloomington's subscription link.
2. Authenticate through IU Login
3. In the top-right of the screen, click on your name and then select Customer Center from the drop down menu.
4. From the left menu, select Account Settings.
5. In the Contact Information box, click the Edit button next to your existing email.
6. Enter your @iu.edu email address in the Email and Confirm Email fields and then press Save.
7. A message will appear indicating that a verification was sent to your @iu.edu email address.
8. Within a few minutes you will receive an email with the subject line “Please verify your email address for WSJ”.
   1. Click the link included in the email message which will take you to a WSJ log screen.
9. Enter your WSJ account password to complete the email update and verification process.

Additional access options:

Access to the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2000
Access to the Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, 1984 - current

The newspaper's two goals were to spread the principles of Reform Judaism, and to keep American Jews in touch with Jewish affairs and their religious identity.

Includes access to two modules:

Module 1: Global Missions and Contemporary Encounters, 1804-2009: features publications from the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society between 1804 and 2009.

Module 2: Medical Journals, Asian Missions and the Historical Record, 1816-1986: focuses on the publications of CMS medical mission auxiliaries, the work of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society among women in Asia and the Middle East, newsletters from native churches and student missions in China and Japan, and 'home' material including periodicals aimed specifically at women and children subscribers.

This project offers the most comprehensive collection of German-Jewish periodicals on on the web. These periodicals are reflective of religious and political controversies within the German-Jewish community during the 19th and 20th centuries, and offer insight into the social and cultural history of Jews in Germany.

The Index to Jewish Periodicals provides indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include such journals as Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature. Most references in the Index are not found in other guides to periodical literature. The database is intended for those interested in Jewish thought and contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Coverage of journals dates as far back as 1988.

The Jewish Exponent garnered honors each year from the American Jewish Press Association for excellence in Jewish journalism for its news, features, reviews and commentary.

A collection of eleven Russian periodicals dealing with all aspects of Russia's Muslim world before the fall of the tsarist regime. Their places of publication include not only the two metropolises of Moscow and St. Petersburg, but also such provincial cities as Kazan', Simferopol', Baku, and Kokand. Also included is the Paris weekly "Musul΄manin = Moussoulmanine," which began to be published by the Russian Muslim diaspora of Paris, France, for the purpose of enlightening the mountain people of the Caucasus and educating Russian society about the local Muslim world of the Caucasus.

Focus is on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, Indigenous Peoples, LGBT, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.

On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today.

Includes such notable contributors as writer Richard Wright, folk singer Woody Guthrie, and political cartoonist Robert Minor. These publications were not only used by Party members to share news and exchange ideas. A large number of subscribers in the late 1950s-1960s were CIA agents or front companies linked to the CIA.

Covers Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.

Includes access to three modules: Political Extremism & Radicalism, 20th Century Part 1: Far-Right and Left in US, Europe, and Australia; Political Extremism & Radicalism in the 20th Century- Part 2: Far-Right in America; and Political Extremism and Radicalism, Part 3: Communist and Socialist Movements.

The Rand Daily Mail pioneered popular journalism in South Africa, until it was controversially closed in 1985. Highlights include: Benjamin Pogrund's extraordinary coverage of the Sharpeville massacre in 1960; Helen Zille's uncovering of Steve Biko’s murder at the hands of police in 1976; news-breaking reporting by Mervyn Rees and Chris Day about the apartheid state's effort to influence opinion, an exposé that sparked the scandal known as “Muldergate."

Published between January 8, 1868 and February, 1872, The Revolution was edited by Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Parker Pillsbury. The paper’s motto, printed on the masthead of the first edition’s front page, was, “Principle, not policy; Justice, not favors.” Beginning with the second edition, the following was added: “Men, their rights and nothing more; Women, their rights and nothing less.” Later editions had this motto: “The True Republic–Men, their rights and nothing more; Women, their rights and nothing less.”

Content included: Crimean Parliamentary Elections, 1994 ; Crimean Presidential Elections, 1994 ; Russia Presidential Election, 2008 ; Russia Presidential Election, 2012 ; Russia Presidential Election, 2018 ; Russia State Duma Election, 1993 ; Russia State Duma Election, 1999 ; Russia State Duma Election, 2007 ; Russia State Duma Election, 2011 ; Russia State Duma Election, 2016 ; Ukraine Parliamentary Election, 2012 ; Ukraine Parliamentary Election, 2014 ; Ukraine Parliamentary Election, 2019 ; Ukraine Presidential Election, 2014 ; Ukraine Presidential Election, 2019.

After the South African government banned publication of the Post Transvaal and three other black newspapers in 1980, journalists, editors and publishers began producing the English-language paper the Sowetan. The newspaper includes contributions of legendary editors like Percy Qoboza and Aggrey Klaaste.

On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today.

Defining Gender is a collection of fully digitized rare primary source advice literature covering five centuries between 1450 through 1910. The documents have been selected from a European perspective with an emphasis on British and European sources. 

Defining Gender contains complete scanned books, pamphlets, periodicals, collections of letters, biographies, short stories, novels, and poetry, as well as recent thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Gender Studies which place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. 

Currently containing sections on Conduct and Politeness and Domesticity and the Family, Defining Gender includes some of the seminal texts used in Gender studies from authors such as Christine De Pisan, Daniel Defoe, Delarivier Manley, Margery Kempe, and Mary Wollstonecraft. Some key areas of behavior of men and women addressed include cookery, health, courtship, marriage and role of husband and wife, sexuality, courtly behavior, children, education, class, and religion and morality.

Material has been sourced from across the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia. Key areas represented in the material include: employment and labor, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity and the family. Includes records from men’s and women’s organisations and pressure groups, detailing twentieth-century lobbying and activism on a wide array of issues to reveal developing gender relations and prevalent challenges.

Published between January 8, 1868 and February, 1872, The Revolution was edited by Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Parker Pillsbury. The paper’s motto, printed on the masthead of the first edition’s front page, was, “Principle, not policy; Justice, not favors.” Beginning with the second edition, the following was added: “Men, their rights and nothing more; Women, their rights and nothing less.” Later editions had this motto: “The True Republic–Men, their rights and nothing more; Women, their rights and nothing less.”

he magazine covered issues dealing with economics, politics, life abroad, life in Soviet republics, women’s fashion, as well as broader issues in culture and the arts. One of its most popular features was the translations of Soviet literary works, making available in English, (and other languages) works of Russian and Soviet writers that were previously unavailable. An important communist propaganda outlet, the magazine continued its run until the collapse of the USSR in 1991.

Research fields served by this material are: gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. Includes access to collections 1 and 2. Women’s Magazine Archive 1 provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal. Women’s Magazine Archive 2 features several of the most high-circulating, and long-running publications in this area, such as Woman’s Day and Town & Country. Collection 2 also includes titles such as Cosmopolitan, Seventeen, and Essence, which focus on more specific audiences and themes.

Includes access to five modules: LGBTQ History Since 1940, part 1;  LGBTQ History Since 1940, part 2; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; and L'Enfer de la Bibliotheque Nationale de France Digital Archive.

Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.

The LGBTQ+ Library provides lending services to the entire community; anyone can register to become a patron with a photo ID.

Each document exhibit includes 20-40 primary source documents; whenever possible, they are available in both transcribed (searchable) and original form. Every exhibit also includes a critical introductory essay that helps explain the significance of the primary sources in historical terms and in relationship to previous scholarship.

Includes access to three modules: Political Extremism & Radicalism, 20th Century Part 1: Far-Right and Left in US, Europe, and Australia; Political Extremism & Radicalism in the 20th Century- Part 2: Far-Right in America; and Political Extremism and Radicalism, Part 3: Communist and Socialist Movements.

Founded in 1948 under the repressive Trujillo regime (1930-1961), the newspaper has borne witness to decades of political uncertainty, economic development, and social change. Except for brief interruptions in publication for a month in 1962 and seven months in 1965, El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region.

La Hemeroteca Digital forma parte del proyecto Biblioteca Digital Hispánica, que tiene como objetivo la consulta y difusión pública a través de Internet del Patrimonio Bibliográfico Español conservado en la Biblioteca Nacional.

Covers mostly the West and Southwest, but also Illinois, Indiana, and New York. Topics covered range from literature to politics, to labor and social movements. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.

Covers Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.

Spanish thesaurus and interface. Searching in both Spanish and English. Bilingual citations. A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects. Cubre necesidades de información para todas las disciplinas académicas. Desde economía, ciencia y tecnología, psicología, educación, hasta arqueología, historia, literatura y más. Contiene revistas académicas de toda Iberoamérica.

Life Magazine featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually depicted national and international events and topical stories.

Research fields served by this material are: gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. Includes access to collections 1 and 2. Women’s Magazine Archive 1 provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal. Women’s Magazine Archive 2 features several of the most high-circulating, and long-running publications in this area, such as Woman’s Day and Town & Country. Collection 2 also includes titles such as Cosmopolitan, Seventeen, and Essence, which focus on more specific audiences and themes.

Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.

Founded in 1812 by Revolutionary War printer Isaiah Thomas, the American Antiquarian Society is both a learned society and a major independent research library. The AAS library contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, periodicals, music, and graphic arts material printed through 1876 in what is now the United States, as well as manuscripts and a substantial collection of secondary texts, bibliographies, and digital resources and reference works related to all aspects of American history and culture before the twentieth century.

Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody was founded in 1924 by Joseph Patterson, publisher of the New York Daily News and Robert McCormick, publisher of the Chicago Tribune. Information was presented in a style heavily influenced by the emerging motion picture industry and focused on the most sensational and popular issues. The magazine flourished when illustrated magazines were the most important form of mass entertainment. During the following 26 years the magazine charted the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle America through its three most significant decades.

National Geographic Magazine Archive includes every page and every photograph published in the magazine, 1888-1994.You may browse issues or search for text or images. The map supplements are also part of the archive. Includes National Geographic Magazine 1888-Current and National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World.

Periodic articles include reports from the GSA-USGS Congressional Science Fellow, Rock Stars biographical features, and news and information about the Society, its activities, and the geological community at large. Archives goes back to 1991.

Covering subjects such art, history, sports and music, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.

All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles) to provide educators with an estimate of the result's read difficulty and approximate grade-level reading ability required for comprehension. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include: Ladybug, Spider, Highlights, and Junior Scholastic.

An archival research resource containing primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Includes access to Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 1: Music, Radio and The Stage ; Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1) ; Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 3: Film and Television 2 ; Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Collection 4: Music - Rock, Folk ; Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 5: Video Gaming.

The Vogue Archive is a fully searchable, full content run of the U.S. edition of Vogue magazine from its first issue in 1892 to the present month. It includes every page of each issue (articles, advertising, covers) and high-resolution color images. You may search for advertisements, articles, contributors, covers, fashion shoots, fiction, letters From The Editor, letters to the editor, masthead, poems, cartoons, charts, diagrams, illustrations, infographics, logos, and photographs.

Includes: news, analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs, special surveys and supplements on Countries and Industries, sections including Science and Technology, classified and display advertising profiling major companies, and job opportunities.

Forbes Magazine covers the business and financial world. Also includes analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style.

Feature articles were first accompanied by lithograph illustrations that were later replaced with photography, and so the magazine assumes the characteristic of an illustrated encyclopedia for matters concerning the early modern and modern periods. Subjects include the Sino-Japanese War, the Russo-Japanese War, disasters such as earthquakes and tsunamis, in addition to fashion and popular culture.

Published continuously until 2008, Krokodil was at one time the most popular magazine for humorous stories and satire, with a circulation reaching 6.5 million copies. Krokodil lampooned religion, alcoholism, foreign political figures and events, bureaucracy, and excessive centralized control. The caricatures found in Krokodil can be studied as a gauge of the 'correct party line' of the time. During the height of the Cold War, cartoons criticizing Uncle Sam, Pentagon, Western colonialism and German militarism were common in the pages of Krokodil.

Throughout its history Ogonek has published original works by such Soviet cultural figures as Vladimir Mayakovsky, Isaac Babel, Ilya Ilf and Evgeny Petrov, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, the photographer Yuri Rost, and others. In 2005, issues #31-35 were not published. The lack of database content for this period does not indicate missing issues, rather it accurately reflects a period in which no issues were published due to a brief suspension due to an ownership change.