Reference Links
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98th Edition by
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98thEdition is an update of a classic reference. The 98thEdition contains several new features including, but not limited to - a major update to the table of isotopes, the first major compilation of high quality data of protein-ligand binding thermodynamics, and an important new collection of NMR data critical for understanding outcomes of organic syntheses. Plus, twelve lists have been updated such as, the physical properties of organic compounds and the latest experimental values of bond dissociation energies. Building on the new feature first introduced in the 94thedition, four historical figures in science will be honored on the end plates. The elements- completely revised and updated with a new summary table of key properties Table of the isotopes- a major update to this important data collection with hundreds of new and more accurate data points for more than 3000 isotopes of all the elements Gas clathrates- new data tables for important mixed clathrate systems including methane, ethane, propane, carbon dioxide (new), hydrogen sulfide (new), xenon (new), and nitrogen (new). Ionic liquids- expanded and revised information on over 150 important ionic liquids Protein-ligand binding thermodynamics- the first major compilation of high quality data on these important bio-chemical reactions Common drugs- completely revised with property and functionality data on over 250 drugs 1H chemical shifts of contaminants in deuterated solvents- an important new collection of NMR data critical for understanding outcomes of organic syntheses Electron affinities- new data on over 200 atoms and molecules Atomic and molecular polarizabilities- Updated data value for virtually every element and many important molecules IUPAC guide to nomenclature of inorganic chemistry- this completely revised, four page guide provides easy-to-use access to the nomenclature rules for inorganic compounds Bond dissociation energies- the latest experimental values have been added for a number of molecules Standard Atomic Weights- 2016 changes made by IUPAC Physical properties of organic compounds- results of the first phase of a complete review, with new data of densities Atomic Masses and Abundances- Update of isotopic abundances Periodic Table of the Elements- Updated to include new element names Interstellar Molecules- Complete list of molecules observed in space to date Major World Earthquakes- Updated through 2016 Atmospheric Concentration of CO2- Updated through 2016 Global Temperature Trend- Updated through 2016 Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants- Updated to 2016 recommendations Chemical Carcinogens- Inclusion of 2016 recommendations of National Toxicology Program Nanomaterial Safety Guidelines- Definition of terms in nanoscience; guidelines for safe handling and disposal
ISBN: 9781498784542Publication Date: 2017-06-13Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology by 5-volume print encyclopedia published by Marcel Dekker in 2004. This reference identifies current challenges and development paths ranging from materials and surface science, chemistry, and biomedicine to computer technology, information processing, and mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering - examining the design, application, and utilization of devices, techniques, and technologies critical to research at atomic, molecular, and macromolecular levels ranging from 1-100 nanometers.
ISBN: 0824750551Publication Date: 2004-03-31
e-EROS Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
e-EROS provides information on reagents and methods. It is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. The entry highlights the various uses and characteristics of each reagent, with illustrative examples of its use. e-EROS also has information concerning physical data, solubility, form supplied in, purification, and, where relevant, preparative methods.
ISBN: 9780470842898
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry by
Written for a broad, cross-disciplinary audience, the Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences. This compilation of more than 500 different entries encompasses all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics. This comprehensive encyclopedia covers all areas of biological chemistry written by more than 500 selected international experts. Articles are generously illustrated including more than 800 images in four-color. Each entry contains a clear, concise review of the topic along with illustrations, a glossary of technical terms and a section for additional reading. Each entry further contains general background and term definitions as well as a comprehensive review of the current research in the field. Students, science journalists and scientists seeking a concise introduction to specific topics will appreciate the clear, tabular format of each entry. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
ISBN: 9780124437104Publication Date: 2004-11-24
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by
Reviews from the previous edition: "The most indispensable reference in the English language on all aspects of chemical technology...the best reference of its kind". --Chemical Engineering News, 1992 "Overall, ECT is well written and cleanly edited, and no library claiming to be a useful resource for chemical engineering professionals should be without it." --Nicholas Basta, Chemical Engineering, December 1992 The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949. The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information. Presents the versatile field of chemical technology through articles on properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemical substances and materials, industrial processes and unit operations, along with scientific principles and insights into current research related to the field Addresses such aspects as economic, health and safety factors, standards, specifications and environmental concerns Includes over 1,300 articles Updated regularly to reflect changes and developments in the field (50-60 new or updated articles added each year) Articles are citable and peer reviewed and include bibliography of cited references as well as suggested reading Previous versions of articles are archived for historical reference The Smart Article functionalities were added in 2014, to enable searching for structures and reactions through to the title and across related products, such as journals, databases, and other reference works The last print edition of Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia published between 2004 and 2007 and is available as a comprehensive 27-Volume Set. Since then, a concise edition (2007) and four thematic volumes (2007-2013) on the Environment, Food and Feed Technology, Separation Technology and Cosmetics, have been published and are available in print and e-book formats 27 Volumes Updating wileyonlinelibrary.com/ref/kirk
ISBN: 9780471484943Publication Date: 2004-03-29
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by
Over the last few years, the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has expanded enormously to the extent that few scientists can expect to be familiar with all the terms and concepts. This is partly due the massive influence of the Genome and successive "-omics" projects which havedeveloped in to many new areas of research. At the same time, terms from other subject areas - including mathematics, statistics, physics and other life sciences - appear increasingly in the biochemical literature. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive and 'encyclopaedic' survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. This new edition of the popular dictionary has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to include many important new concepts and words. Theentries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.There are over 21000 main entries, which include: details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, methods and concepts in molecular biology, and definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. Each entry is accessibly written. They point out pitfalls where termsare often confused, and explain the precise syntax of biochemical terms such as Greek letters and other formatting, which are invariably lost when searching the Internet. In addition, the dictionary is generously illustrated with over 900 chemical structures. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will serve as an invaluable reference text for student and professional biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information both from within and outside their own fields. It will also be of relevance and use to a broader audience oflife scientists seeking an authoritative overview of fundamental principles.
ISBN: 9780198529170Publication Date: 2006-08-24
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry by
Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either at school or at university. With over 4,700 entires - over 200 new to this edition - it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry tobiochemistry. The sixth edition boasts broader coverage in subject areas such as forensics, metallurgy, materials science, and geology, increasing the dictionary's appeal to students in these related fields. There are also biographical entries on key figures, highlighted entries on major topics suchas polymers and crystal defects, and a chronology charting the main discoveries in atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics.
ISBN: 9780199204632Publication Date: 2008-04-15
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook by
Get Cutting-Edge Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics from Fundamentals to the Latest Computer Applications. First published in 1934, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with an expert source of chemical engineering information and data. Now updated to reflect the latest technology and processes of the new millennium, the Eighth Edition of this classic guide provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering-from fundamental principles to chemical processes and equipment to new computer applications. Filled with over 700 detailed illustrations, the Eighth Edition of Perry's Chemcial Engineering Handbook features: Comprehensive tables and charts for unit conversion A greatly expanded section on physical and chemical data New to this edition: the latest advances in distillation, liquid-liquid extraction, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation processes, and chemical plant safety practices with accident case histories Inside This Updated Chemical Engineering Guide Conversion Factors and Mathematical Symbols Physical and Chemical Data Mathematics Thermodynamics Heat and Mass Transfer Fluid and Particle Dynamics Reaction Kinetics Process Control Process Economics Transport and Storage of Fluids Heat Transfer Equipment Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying Distillation Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment Adsorption and Ion Exchange Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment Size Reduction and Size Enlargement Handling of Bulk Solids and Packaging of Solids and Liquids Alternative Separation Processes And Many Other Topics "
ISBN: 9780071593137Publication Date: 2007-11-01
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth articles with extensive bibliographies about applied chemistry, industrial products, chemical substances either as single substance or group, materials science, and chemical fundamentals. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
This link opens in a new window
Physical constants for over 12,000 of the most common chemical substances and many facts about the physical sciences, including conversion factors, health and safety information. - e-EROS Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
- This link opens in a new window
Procedures for making organic compounds that serve as reagents or reactants in organic chemistry. - Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)
- This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) has been curated since 1965 from the published literature, direct deposition, and sources such as patents and PhD theses. It is a database of small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structure data. The CSD also comprises software for database access, structure visualization and data analysis, and structural knowledge bases derived from the CSD.
