Reference Links
Concise Encyclopedia Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by
Contains some 4,500 entries and about 1,000 figures, formulas, and tables. Entries include citations of recent literature. This third edition offers many new entries reflecting advances in the understanding of molecular and cell biology, metabolic pathways, and the determination of macromolecular st
ISBN: 9783110145359Publication Date: 1996-12-03
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry by
Written for a broad, cross-disciplinary audience, the Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences. This compilation of more than 500 different entries encompasses all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics. This comprehensive encyclopedia covers all areas of biological chemistry written by more than 500 selected international experts. Articles are generously illustrated including more than 800 images in four-color. Each entry contains a clear, concise review of the topic along with illustrations, a glossary of technical terms and a section for additional reading. Each entry further contains general background and term definitions as well as a comprehensive review of the current research in the field. Students, science journalists and scientists seeking a concise introduction to specific topics will appreciate the clear, tabular format of each entry. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
ISBN: 9780124437104Publication Date: 2004-11-24
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology by
In today's world, knowledge about the environment and our relationship with it is extremely crucial. Academic Press proudly presents the Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology, a much-needed reference with detailed information on the environmental issues affecting you. Written for law offices, environmental groups, city planners, and government officials, these three volumes contain 150 expressly prepared articles exploring the impact of global change on plants, animals, and habitats. The Encyclopedia examines the causes and the cures of environmental degradation in an easy-to-use, comprehensive format.
ISBN: 0122267303Publication Date: 1995-06-01
Encyclopedia of Human Biology by
The Encyclopedia of Human Biology, Second Edition provides complete coverage of the vast subject area of human biology--no other reference work available offers such a detailed and comprehensive treatment of the subject. Including more than 670 articles in 37 different biological fields, this fully revised edition features one of the most renowned editorial Advisory Boards ever assembled. The Second Edition offers more than 75% new, updated, and revised content including approximately 150 new articles. In keeping with the first editions high standards, all articles have been subjected to rigorous peer review to ensure consistent presentation of the highest quality. Unlike other encyclopedias which use numerous fragmented entries to treat a subject, the Encyclopedia examines each subject in individual, cohesive articles. Arranged alphabetically for easy access, each article--about ten pages in length-contains a brief outline, glossary of unusual terms, a short concise definition of the subject, an in-depth development of the topic, recent bibliography, extensive cross references to other articles in the Encyclopedia, and tables and illustrations including more than 100 color plates. The Encyclopedia of Human Biology is already an important part of the collection of more than 2000 reference libraries. This Second Edition provides even greater value to the reader with its enlarged scope and updated content. It offers: Practicing scientists in all settings an up-to-date, authoritative, and reliable resource for preparing grant proposals, research papers, and background information on important, wide-ranging biological topics; College preparatory, undergraduate, and graduate students a one-stop source that will assist them with their course work, term papers, and dissertations; Researchers working in peripheral areas a concise explanation of the key issues and background reading suggestions in a given area; Educated general readers a broad spectrum of accurate, current information on all aspects of human biology.
ISBN: 0122269705Publication Date: 1997-09-23
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by
Wiley is pleased to announce the recent acquisition of the prestigious Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) from the Nature Publishing Group. "The most ambitious single source reference source ever produced in the biological sciences" American Reference Books Annual Spanning the entire spectrum of life science research, the Encyclopedia features more than 3,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. These concentrate primarily on the molecular and cellular life sciences, including biochemical topics, methods and techniques. Applied areas of science are also included on a selective basis, as are biographies and general interest articles on ethics and the history of science. Articles are divided into three categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory articles ELS features more than 1,400 introductory level articles. These have been written primarily for undergraduates and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Scientists and researchers looking to extend their knowledge outside their own specific field of interest will also find these articles useful. Advanced articles Over 1,800 advanced articles provide more detailed discussions of specialised subjects, at a level equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles Written by leading international scientists, these keynote articles cover hot topics and controversial issues. All articles have been rigorously peer-reviewed and edited prior to publication by an international Editorial Advisory Board of 180 subject specialist advisors. Most articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms/synonyms, units and other technical data. "In particular, the illustrations are excellent?" Microbiology Today The ELS provides an excellent source of information for undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, teachers/lecturers as well as professionals and researchers working in the biomedical sciences and related areas. Although chapters on more complex subjects have been written primarily for those with a scientific background, unnecessary technical jargon is avoided, enabling the material to be accessed by the non-specialist. "This resource is a must-have for all biological sciences libraries and most larger academic and public libraries. It will be used often by undergraduate and graduate biology students, scientists, researchers, professors and government employees and journalists." American Reference Books Annual
ISBN: 9780470016176Publication Date: 2005-10-14
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology by
The field of molecular biology has revolutionized the study of biology. The applications to medicine are enormous, ranging from diagnostic techniques for disease and genetic disorders, to drugs, to gene therapy. Focusing on the fundamentals of molecular biology and encompassing all aspects of the expression of genetic information, the Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology will become the first point of reference for both newcomers and established professionals in molecular biology needing to learn about any particular aspect of the field.
ISBN: 0471153028Publication Date: 1999-04-22
Encyclopedia of Systems Biology by
Systems biology refers to the quantitative analysis of the dynamic interactions among several components of a biological system and aims to understand the behavior of the system as a whole. Systems biology involves the development and application of systems theory concepts for the study of complex biological systems through iteration over mathematical modeling, computational simulation and biological experimentation. Systems biology could be viewed as a tool to increase our understanding of biological systems, to develop more directed experiments, and to allow accurate predictions. The Encyclopedia of Systems Biology is conceived as a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of systems biology, in particular the investigation of living matter involving a tight coupling of biological experimentation, mathematical modeling and computational analysis and simulation. The main goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide a complete reference of established knowledge in systems biology - a 'one-stop shop' for someone seeking information on key concepts of systems biology. As a result, the Encyclopedia comprises a broad range of topics relevant in the context of systems biology. The audience targeted by the Encyclopedia includes researchers, developers, teachers, students and practitioners who are interested or working in the field of systems biology. Keeping in mind the varying needs of the potential readership, we have structured and presented the content in a way that is accessible to readers from wide range of backgrounds. In contrast to encyclopedic online resources, which often rely on the general public to author their content, a key consideration in the development of the Encyclopedia of Systems Biology was to have subject matter experts define the concepts and subjects of systems biology.
ISBN: 9781441998620Publication Date: 2013-06-05
