Librarian
On Getting Started
- Online E-JournalsThe IU Libraries electronic journal collection can be searched from this page reached from the link above. The journals can also be browsed by subject. Lists by subject are included under the E-Journal lists by subject tab to the left of the LibGuide.
- Citation LinkerUse this to find a full-text version of an article that you already have information about (ie. Title, Author, Journal in which it's published).
- Sciences LibraryMore questions? Connect directly with the librarians for help.
Search Strategies by Structure, Properties, and Patents
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsCRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (also in print). In this authoritative resource you will find physical constants such as melting point, boiling point, density, solubility, vapor pressure, heat capacity, magnetic susceptibility, index of refraction, etc.
- Aldrich CatalogAldrich Catalog (also in print) contains information about the chemicals that this company supplies. You may find information about meling points, boiling points, density, vapor pressure, or refractive index.
- The Merck IndexThe Merck Index has information about melting point, boiling point, specific rotation, solubility, or density.
Handbook of Data on Common Organic Compounds by ISBN: 0849304040Publication Date: 1995-01-18The Handbook of Data on Common Organic Compounds provides physical property data, spectral data, and chemical structures for approximately 12,000 common organic compounds. These compounds encompass the most commonly used both in industry and laboratories, as well as those found on various lists of regulatory concern. A clear, easy-to-read format and three indexes- CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, and Name/Synonym-enhance the Handbook's usability and help make it a bestselling resource relied upon by researchers, chemists, and students around the world.
Handbook of Inorganic Compounds by ISBN: 0849386713Publication Date: 1995-05-17Handbook of Inorganic Compounds has data on melting point, boiling point, density, and solubility of more than 3,000 inorganic compounds.
- NIST WebBookNIST WebBook includes gas phase thermochemistry data, condensed phase thermochemistry data, phase change data, and reaction thermochemistry data.
The Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra by This three volume set includes over 18,000 spectra categorized by chemical functionality and arranged in order of increasing structural complexity. The library includes extensive cross-references by chemical name, molecular formula, CAS number, and Aldrich catalog number.
Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT-NMR SpectraThis three volume set of 12,000 high-resolution 75MHz 13C and 300MHz 1H FT-NMR spectra is arranged according to functionality. The Library contains CNMR and HNMR spectra of 11,828 organic compounds as well as information about their physico-chemical properties.
- NIST WebBookNIST WebBook includes gas phase thermochemistry data, condensed phase thermochemistry data, phase change data, and reaction thermochemistry data.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsCRC Handbook of Chemistry and Phyics (also in print). This authoritative resource includes interactive tables with standard thermodynamic properties of chemical substances, thermodynamic properties as a function of temperature, thermodynamic properties of aqueous ions, and heat of combustion.
- Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)
This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) has been curated since 1965 from the published literature, direct deposition, and sources such as patents and PhD theses. It is a database of small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structure data. The CSD also comprises software for database access, structure visualization and data analysis, and structural knowledge bases derived from the CSD.
- ChemSpiderFind help with searching and using ChemSpider on their website.
- eMoleculesSearch by drawing or text. More instructions available.
- PubChemOpen Chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). About PubChem.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookDatabase mostly for searching organic compounds with some small inorganic compounds. Directions for searching and more information about the site located on the website.
- ReaxysResource for experimentally validated data for chemical structures, reactions and chemical substances from CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry Database.
- SciFinder
This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: access to this resource has ceased as of 12/31/22. See Scifinder-n for the new CAS resource. Your Scifinder credentials will work with the new Scifinder-n platform. See instructions for migrating saved answers and alerts, and webinar on the transition for further information. Covers the primary literature of all areas of chemistry, medicine, and other areas.
First time users must first register from a computer on campus. After that you can access the database from anywhere.
- CCINFOwebCCINFOweb is a good resource for finding general safety information. It contains Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), as well as health and safety information on chemicals.
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial MaterialsISBN: 0442020252
- An Introduction: why search for patents? what is a patent?MIT Video Tutorial (5:30)
- US Patent Trademark Office (USPTO)How to Conduct a Preliminary U.S. Patent Search video guide (must be viewed in Internet Explorer) United States Patent & Trademark Office
- Patent Searching Workshopfrom the University of Minnesota Libraries
The Chemist's Companion Guide to Patent Law by ISBN: 9780471782438Publication Date: 2010-08-16Written by an individual with experience as both a chemist and a patent attorney, The Chemist′s Companion Guide to Patent Law covers everything the student or working chemist needs to know about patentability, explaining important concepts of patent law (such as novelty, non-obviousness, and freedom-to-operate) in easy-to-understand terms. Through abundant examples from case law as well as real-world situations with which a researcher might be faced, this book provides readers with a better understanding of how to put that knowledge into practice.- What Every Chemist Should Know About Patents byCall Number: QD39.2 .W474 1988Publication Date: 1988
- International Patent Documentation (INPADOC)This is an international Patent collection database produced by the European Patent Office.
- Patent LensNonprofit online patent search facility and knowledge resources
- Research DisclosureJournal containing tens of thousands of technical disclosures from all areas of science and technology
- SciFinder
- This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: access to this resource has ceased as of 12/31/22. See Scifinder-n for the new CAS resource. Your Scifinder credentials will work with the new Scifinder-n platform. See instructions for migrating saved answers and alerts, and webinar on the transition for further information. Covers the primary literature of all areas of chemistry, medicine, and other areas.
First time users must first register from a computer on campus. After that you can access the database from anywhere.
- Patent FetcherSearch for Patents by the application number
- pat2pdfAgain you can find patents hear by searching the application number
- SureChEMBLEuropean Molecular Biology Laboratory patent search and database
Writing and Citation Guides
- CASSI Web VersionLook up and confirm publication titles.
- All that JAS: Journal Abbreviation SourcesA registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations
- Thomas Reuters Abbreviated TitlesFind specific journals by title, title words, or ISSN
- Writing Tutorial ServicesOne-on-one help with any phase of the writing process located in the Wells Library Learning Commons
- IU Bloomington Libraries Scholarly Communications DepartmentInformation on scholarly publishing and communication
- IUScholarWorksOpen Access publishing options through the IU Libraries
- Chemical Information Sources - Science Writing AidsWiki page guide
A Field Guide for Science Writers by
This is the official text for the National Association of Science Writers. In the eight years since the publication of the first edition of A Field Guide for Science Writing, much about the world has changed. Some of the leading issues in today's political marketplace - embryonic stem cellresearch, global warming, health care reform, space exploration, genetic privacy, germ warfare - are informed by scientific ideas. Never has it been more crucial for the lay public to be scientifically literate. That's where science writers come in. And that's why it's time for an update to theField Guide, already a staple of science writing graduate programs across the country. The academic community has recently recognized how important it is for writers to become more sophisticated, knowledgeable, and skeptical about what they write. More than 50 institutions now offer training in science writing. In addition mid-career fellowships for science writers are growing,giving journalists the chance to return to major universities for specialized training. We applaud these developments, and hope to be part of them with this new edition of the Field Guide. In A Field Guide for Science Writers, 2nd Edition, the editors have assembled contributions from a collections of experienced journalists who are every bit as stellar as the group that contributed to the first edition. In the end, what we have are essays written by the very best in the sciencewriting profession. These wonderful writers have written not only about style, but about content, too. These leaders in the profession describe how they work their way through the information glut to find the gems worth writing about. We also have chapters that provide the tools every good sciencewriter needs: how to use statistics, how to weigh the merits of conflicting studies in scientific literature, how to report about risk. And, ultimately, how to write.
ISBN: 9780195174984Publication Date: 2005-09-08
