STEM

Registered users (click "register" at the top of the page) can create personal binders or sign up for email notifications of table-of-contents for specific ACM titles.

One Mail instructions:

If you chose to register for a personal account using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your MyACM account. 
2. Go to My Contact Information
3. Update your email address by answering your account security question and entering your iu.edu email address.
   1. If you experience any problems with this process, please contact acmhelp@hq.acm.org.

ArXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers which functions as a means of communicating ongoing research information in these subject areas.

Coverage includes fields of Botany, Zoology, Microbiology, Biomedical, Agriculture, Pharmacology, and Ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as Medicine, Biochemistry, Biophysics, Bioengineering, and Biotechnology are also included.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols allows the user to search for peer-reviewed new and classic research techniques in bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, plant biology, and a variety of related topics. New protocols are added continuously, and users can be notified of updates by signing up for RSS feeds and alerts. The database offers lists of protocols by subject category as well as a list of newly added protocols and a list of product protocols. Searching the full text of protocols can be accomplished by using the search box found on every page. An advanced search screen is provided for more detailed searches. The advanced search feature will allow the user to search recipes and cautions in addition to protocols. The Cold Spring Harbor Protocols site also offers discussion forums.

GeoScienceWorld (GSW) includes peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef index. Also includes specialized searching capabilities and links to millions of relevant resources hosted elsewhere on the Web. GSW is a collaboration of six leading earth science societies and one institute.

The Founding Organizations:
American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG),
American Geological Institute (AGI),
Geological Society of America (GSA),
The Geological Society of London (GSL),
Mineralogical Society of America (MSA),
Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM), and
Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG)

Resource for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. Provides access to content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). IEL contains almost one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science.

AI Research Tool

The Libraries' subscription includes access to IEEE Xplore's AI Research Suite. This is an advanced query tool for IEEE journal articles, conference papers, and a curated database of other publisher's STEM-related content in IEEE Xplore. This feature is in beta and may change or be removed without advance notice. 

JoVE began in response to a problem within the world of biomedical science: only 10-30% of published scientific articles can be successfully reproduced. By filming experiments and publishing them in video format JoVE makes visible techniques involved in research for anyone to see and replicate.

MathSciNet is a web interface to search the Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications databases. In addition to providing reviews for most entries, MathSciNet includes an author identification feature to combine all forms of an author's name and a journal identification feature which provides full titles of abbreviated entries. Current Mathematical Publications data are added daily. Mathematical Reviews data are added each month when the printed issue is complete. The Mathematical Reviews record replaces the Current Mathematical Reviews entry for an item.

Provides access to the international journal literature of psychology and related fields, to dissertations, and to technical reports from approximately 50 countries. More than 2200 journals in 29 languages are indexed. This database includes material relevant to psychology from such related disciplines as education, medicine, business, sociology, linguistics, law, psychiatry and anthropology.

Access to the CAS content collection, patent documents and step-by-step synthetic procedures and methods. 

Account use:

Please note that credentials used for the classic SciFinder site will work on the SciFinder-n site.

Walk in users (non-commercial only) allowed at IU Bloomington Libraries reference desks. Contact the Sciences Library at libsci@iu.edu for any questions.

Email verification:

Beginning in mid-2025, SciFinder-n requires users to verify their email account. This verification may occur when initially setting up the account or when logging into an existing account if the email has not already been verified. If your account needs to be verified, here is a breakdown of what you will do:

1. After logging in to SciFinder-n, you will see an on-screen prompt requesting email verification.
2. You will receive an email in your IU email account from userprofile@cas.org with the subject line “CAS Profile Verification Code”
   1. Check your junk/spam folder if you do not receive the message.
3. Copy the verification code from the email and paste it into the SciFinder-n verification prompt.

One Mail instructions:

On November 25, 2024, SciFinder support updated all active accounts using  @indiana.edu email addresses to use @iu.edu email addresses. No further action is needed for users who had active SciFinder accounts.

If you have not used your SciFinder account in over 18 months, it is possible it may have been inactivated. In that situation, please email help@cas.org for assistance with reactivating your account and ensuring that it is associated with your @iu.edu email address. Information to include your email:

• Your IU Bloomington affiliation (student/faculty/staff)
• Your existing SciFinder username (if known)
• Your @indiana.edu and @iu.edu email address
  • This will allow SciFinder support to identify your inactive account regardless of which email you used initially.

One Mail instructions:

If you chose to register for a personal account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your SpringerNature user account.
2. From the My Account drop-down menu, select Manage your account
3. Click on your email address, enter your iu.edu email address, and click the Update email address button
4. You will receive an email from Springer Nature with the subject "Confirm email change". Click the link in the email to confirm your email.
5. To finish, enter your SpringerNature password and click the Update email address button.

One Mail instructions:

If you chose to register for a personal account using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 3035. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your BioOne Digital Library account
2. Go to Account Details
3. Update the Email field to your iu.edu email address
4. Save changes. This will complete the update.
5. Next time you log in to your account, use your iu.edu email address

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage. 

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup a JSTOR account using your indiana.edu, you will need to update the address to your iu.edu before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your JSTOR account
2. Click on your name in the top-right corner
3. Select “My Account” from the drop-down menu
4. From the Account page select “Profile”
5. Click the Edit button to the right of the personal information header
6. Update your contact email to use iu.edu & click the Save button

Note: While this updates the email address associated with your account, your username will not change. If you used your indiana.edu email address as your username, you may optionally contact JSTOR support at support@jstor.org to request that they update your username to match your iu.edu. This step is not required.

AI Research Tool

The Libraries' subscription includes optional access to JSTOR's interactive research tool. You must be logged in with a free JSTOR account to see and use the tool.

One Mail information:

On August 7, 2025 optional Elsevier user accounts with @indiana.edu email addresses were updated to @iu.edu email addresses. No further action is needed.

One Mail instructions:

If you chose to register for a personal account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your SpringerNature user account.
2. From the My Account drop-down menu, select Manage your account
3. Click on your email address, enter your iu.edu email address, and click the Update email address button
4. You will receive an email from Springer Nature with the subject "Confirm email change". Click the link in the email to confirm your email.
5. To finish, enter your SpringerNature password and click the Update email address button.

IU libraries have access to Wiley e-books from published 2005-2010 in addition to an assortment of titles from other publication years.

One Mail instructions:

If you chose to register for a Wiley Online Library personal account using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account. Please note that the same personal account is used for both Cochrane Library and Wiley Online Library. 

1. Go to the Wiley Online Library.
2. Log in with your personal log in.
3. Click on the ‘My Account’ page.
4. Select ‘Edit My Profile’
5. Under the ‘Email & ORCID’ section, update your email address.

CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Includes indexing for more than 5000 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1460 journals. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With more than 3.9 million records dating back to 1937, CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.

One Mail instructions:

If you chose to register for a Cochrane Library personal account using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account. Please note that the same personal account is used for both Cochrane Library and Wiley Online Library. 

1. Go to the Wiley Online Library.
2. Log in with your personal log in.
3. Click on the ‘My Account’ page.
4. Select ‘Edit My Profile’
5. Under the ‘Email & ORCID’ section, update your email address.

The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is an international not-for-profit, research and development Centre within the Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences at the University of Adelaide, South Australia. JBI provides evidence based information to assist in clinical decision-making and effective healthcare practices.

AI Research Tool

The Libraries' subscription includes access to the AI Article Summary tool. This tool is in beta, and initially is only on proprietary Lippincott journals in the database. The list of titles is available at the Wolters Kluwer help site. The tool maybe removed from the database and the journals with the feature may change without advance notice.

One Mail instructions:

If you chose to register for a personal account using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Sign in to your personal account.
2. Click My Account and then the Modify Account
3. In the online form, update your email address to use your iu.edu address
4. Enter your password in the Current Password field.
5. Click the Save Changes button
6. You will return to the Account Administration page and a message will confirm the changes 

Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

JoVE began in response to a problem within the world of biomedical science: only 10-30% of published scientific articles can be successfully reproduced. By filming experiments and publishing them in video format JoVE makes visible techniques involved in research for anyone to see and replicate.

One Mail instructions

If you created personal profile for Oxford Reference using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your profile to your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. To update your Oxford Reference personal profile:

1. Visit Oxford Reference and select Personal Profile from the top-right corner of the page
2. Log in
3. At the top-right corner, select your name and choose View personal profile
4. Select the My Account tab
5. Update the Email address field to your iu.edu email address
6. Enter your password in the Current Password field
7. Press Save
8. There will be a small notice above your name that says “Changes saved successfully”

A wide range of physical constants for over 12,000 of the most common chemical substances is included: 
 

• Basic Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors
• Symbols, Terminology, and Nomenclature
• Physical Constants of Organic Compounds
• Properties of the Elements and Inorganic Compounds
• Thermochemistry, Electrochemistry, and Kinetics
• Fluid Properties
• Biochemistry
• Analytical Chemistry
• Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy
• Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
• Nuclear and Particle Physics
• Properties of Solids
• Polymer Properties
• Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics
• Practical Laboratory Data
• Health and Safety Information

The online version contains articles from either the 4th and 5th editions. There are bibliographies for each chapter, over 5,000 photos, charts, graphs, figures and tables, in-depth up to-date information on regulations, patents and licensing.

Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions

Includes a database of U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, as well as a growing number of non-U.S. grantmakers. Also includes a database of sponsoring companies, recently awarded grants, and a keyword-searchable database of recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF. IU subscribes at the professional level.