Schedule a Research Consultation
Get Help
Company Resources
For company directories, profiles and analyses, you can start with these resources:
- MarketLine Advantage
This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - Pitchbook
- This link opens in a new window
ACCESS TO THIS TITLE WILL NO LONGER BE AVAILABLE AFTER JUNE 7, 2024. Please note: New users must first register from a computer on campus. IU users must create an individual account using their iu.edu email. After registering, users may access the database from anywhere on or off campus via the Library link. Users must also re-register in June to reconfirm affiliation. Access to data, research and technology covering private capital markets, including venture capital and private equity.
- D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
Integrates business and financial information from data providers throughout the world. - Reference Solutions
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- S&P Capital IQ
- This link opens in a new window
S & P Capital IQ is a web and Excel-based financial research application produced by Standard & Poor's. It organizes historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide, provide clients with the data necessary to analyze company fundamentals, build financial models, screen for investment ideas, and execute other financial research tasks. Some user-friendly features are its chart builder, screening tools and Excel Plug-in modeling tools.
Available for IUB-affiliated users only. Requires individual registration for access. To sign up, select “New User?”. Questions related to registration should be directed to the Kelley School of Business.
Industry/Market Resources
For industry and market reports and analyses, use these resources:
- IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. - MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
To access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on consumer, industrial, and service markets around the world. - Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors. - BCC Research
- This link opens in a new window
Access to market research reports that cover life sciences, sensors, materials, environment and sustainability, commerce, and publishers. Provides the latest trends, opportunities, challenges, and innovations emerging within these landscapes.
Finance Resources
• Bloomberg
Two terminals located in the BSIC.
- EDGAR (SEC)The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's EDGAR database provides free public access to company filings.
- Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies, both current and historical.
Marketing Resources
For information on demographics, marketing strategy and market research, start with these resources:
- Mintel Reports
This link opens in a new window
Reports that include consumer and market data and analysis and marketing strategies. To get started with this database, see this video. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
- MRI-Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions. See this video to learn how to create a quick demographic profile. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
News and Literature Resources
To access news articles and trade publication for background information, trends and case studies, use the resources below.
For more effective searching in these databases, see the page on effective searching in article databases.
- ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to national and international newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
For assistance on how to best search news and literature databases, see the Libraries' advice for generating keywords and search tips.
General Library Resources
Use the "Research" tab to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page has a curated list of business databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all the Indiana University Bloomington subscription databases. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries website or portals like this guide.
- IUCAT This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for books on your topic owned by the IUB Libraries. Use the Finding Books guide for tips on how to search and use this resource. - OneSearch@IU
- This link opens in a new window
Search across thousands of publications (many will not be retrieved in a Google search!) for background information. Use the Database Search Tips for how to effectively search this resource.
• Business/SPEA Citation Guide
Examples of how to cite business information in both MLA and APA citation formats.