EndNote 21

FAQ 1. Working from the cloud

Dropbox is a cloud based file sharing service. Our database products (EndNote, Reference Manager and ProCite) were not designed for compatibility with this service or other cloud storage. While you can use the service to keep a backup copy or share a compressed copy of your database file(s), we do not recommend opening and/or using the database from that location. If you have your database files saved to Dropbox or any cloud storage, we recommend you copy the files to another location on your computer or remote drive before you open them.

FAQ 2. Corporate Authors

Put a comma after the name of the organization:

Department of State,
National Bar Association,

If the name contains a comma, place a comma after the first comma in the name:

Department of Health,, Education and Welfare
Crosby,, Stills, Nash & Young

 

FAQ 3. Google Scholar

To download references from Google Scholar, go to "Scholar Preferences"
Under Bibliography Manager "check Show links to import citations into": EndNote
Save preferences
When you search, each reference will have a link beneath it: Import into EndNote
Click on Import into EndNote and EndNote will open
References import directly into EndNote
Only one reference will import at a time

FAQ 4. Find Full Text settings in EndNote

To Configure your EndNote program to import the full text of references in an EndNote library:

• Go to Edit
• Go to Preferences:
• In the OpenURL box Under URLs & links replace: ?sid=ISI:WOS with ?sid=sersol
• Also in Preferences go to Find Full Text, check all boxes and set Open URL path to: http://kg6ek7cq2b.search.serialssolutions.com/
• In Authenticate enter: http://proxyiub.uits.iu.edu/login
• (The former proxy server was: http://ezproxy.lib.indiana.edu/login and it may still work)
• These settings will help when you use the Find Full Text function of EndNote to locate and import the full text of references in your EndNote library
• When search for the full text, make sure to highlight the citations for which you want to find the full text.

FAQ 5. Field Codes

If your text looks odd, you probably have Word's Field Codes turned on:

The document {ADDIN EN.CITE Hasman2006 10010017Hansman, AndreasHope, Tony Journal of applied philosophyJournal of applied philosophy232 dates>2006http://libsfx.iu.edu/sfx_iub_test?genre=article;issn=02643758;title=Journal%2 0of%20Applied %20Philosophy;volume=23;issue=2;date=20060801;atitle=Health%20Ca re%20Need%3A%20Three%20Interpretations.;spage=145;sid=EBSCO %3Aaph;pid=%3 Cauthors%3Ehaseman%2C%20Andreas%3BHope%2C%20Tony%3B%C3%98terdal%2 C%20Lars%20Peter%3C%2Fauthors%3E%3Cui%3E20785798%3C %2Fui%3E3Cdate %3E20060801%3C%2Fdate%3E%3Ddb%Eaph%3C%2Fdb%3E { ADDIN EN.REFLIST }

Use Alt-F9 to toggle off field codes

FAQ 6. Lost Libraries

If you have deleted library by mistake, it is possible to recreate it if the .DATA folder is still intact. Use a text editor like Notepad to create a blank text file and save it with the same name as the .DATA file with the extention .enl (My EndNote Library.enl for example). Save it in the same folder as the .DATA folder. The library will regenerate from the .DATA folder.

FAQ 7. Corrupted Libraries

If you cannot repair an EndNote library in Windows, you may be able to fix it by opening the library on a Mac, saving it and then trying to open it again in Windows

FAQ 8. Unreadable older EndNote libraries

If you have an older EndNote library, especially one created with EndNote 7 or earlier, you may have trouble opening it with a later version of EndNote. Assuming you have a copy of EndNote 7, install it and open the EndNote library. Save it. Open it again in the latest EndNote version, and it should work.

FAQ 9. Problems with direct download not downloading directly (Setting associations)

Changing Associations in Windows 10
Search "control panel"
When the control panel opens, Click on "Programs"
Click on "Default programs"
Click on Associate a file type or protocol with a spcific program
When the list appears, go to .ris
If it does not say EndNote (or ResearchSoft Direct export helper), click on the .ris
Change the program to EndNote (or ResearchSoft Direct export helper)
Often the .ris is associated with Firefox, and if so the citations will not import directly into EndNote

FAQ 10. Importing records from Online searching

From the EndNote Manual

Local Library Mode
This mode displays automatic groups, custom groups, and smart groups, but not Online Groups. This mode keeps you from inadvertently downloading references found during an online search into your currently open library. This is the default mode.

Online Search Mode
In this mode, only the online search groups are available. When you download references from an online database, the references are stored in a temporary library until you save them to a permanent library. You can then review the references without affecting your local library.

Integrated Library & Online Search Mode
In this mode, all local library commands and groups are available. When you download references from an online database, EndNote saves them to a group under the Online Search group set and to your open library. If you decide that you do not want to keep the retrieved references, select them, and then move them to the Trash folder.

Note: We recommend that you use Online Search Mode if you do not want the references downloaded to the All References group. Searching a Database
 

FAQ 11. Reference type and global change

This can be especially useful if many references have imported as "generic".
Select the references you want to change
Show the references you want to change (References --> Show Selected References)
When the desired records show, use Edit --> Find and Replace --> Select Reference Type
Find: type Generic (or whatever reference type you want to replace)
Replace with: type Book (or whatever reference type you want the record to become)
Click on: Change
Click on: OK
The reference type will change in your EndNote library

FAQ 12. PDFs

If you have PDF files and internet connection, you can create references and attach the PDF files to the references automatically.
If the PDF file contains a DOI (Digital Object Identifier), EndNote uses the DOI to retrieve the bibliographic data from the online CrossRef Database. EndNote then creates a full bibliographic record and attaches the PDF file to the record in the EndNote library.
If the PDF does not contain a DOI, EndNote creates a blank reference with only the filename of the PDF file in the Title field and attaches the PDF file to the blank reference.
You may import single PDF files or a folder of PDF files all at once.
To import a single PDF
In EndNote, select File --> Import --> File
Choose the PDF file as the Import File
Choose PDF as the Import Option
Click on the Import Button.
To import a folder of PDFs
In EndNote, select File-- > Import --> Folder
Choose the folder containing the PDF files as the Import Folder
Choose PDF as the Import Option
Click the Import Button

 

FAQ 13. Firefox, Zotero and EndNote

If you are using Firefox and have added Zotero, you will see that references will download to Zotero, rather than to EndNote. In Firefox, go to Add ons, then Extensions, then Zotero. Choose to disable Zotero. References will now download into EndNote.

FAQ 14. Existing bibliographies of lists of works

Endnote cannot import references from Word documents.
One option is to search databases that may contain the reference and import the results into EndNote. That option may be the best one.
You may also copy and paste from Word into EndNote fields to create the references.

Yes, you could parse out the Word references and assign tags to each element corresponding to EndNote fields. Then you could turn the word document into a text file and write a filter to import the references.

You could also place a tag at the beginning of each record, save the file as a text file and write an elementary filter that would import references into a single EndNote field. Then you would have to distribute the information and place it in the appropriate EndNote fields.

FAQ 15. Author names

In a paper you may find an author cited in various forms, rather than a single way.

Check your EndNote Library to make sure there is a single, standard entry for that author.

For example, if you have entered:

Ferrell, R

Ferrell, R. H.

Ferrell, Robert

Ferrell, Robert H

Ferrell, Robert Hugh

EndNote may think them 5 separate authors when citing them in the text.

Choose one format for all, say Ferrell, Robert H., and let the output style determine whether a full name or initials are called for.

 

Also note that a space after an author's name will cause the same confusion.

If you have Ferrell, Robert H[space] in the author field, EndNote will think that difference from Ferrell, Robert H[no space]

Remove the space (which often comes from copying and pasting).

FAQ 16. Spaces

If there is an extra space at the end of one of your entires in an EndNote field, the citation will look odd. Often such spaces are the result of copying and pasting. Check the reference and use the backspace, remove the extra space, and save; things will look right again.

FAQ 17. Categorizing Reference Lists

By default EndNote will generate one reference list from the citations in your Word document, but you can also create a categorised list.
For example, you may wish to separate primary and secondary sources, or define some other group of references.
Note: Categorization is applied to the existing citations in your document, not to the references in your library.

• After inserting citations, from the EndNote tab choose Bibliography > Categorise references > Configure categories.
• In the Configure Categories dialogue:
• First create or edit the required categories; primary and secondary sources are there by default, but you can remove or edit these.
• Assign each reference to the appropriate category using ‘drag and drop’.
• Note: A reference can be assigned to only one category, so if you make a mistake simply drag it to another

FAQ 18. Missing EndNote fields

If you are missing fields in EndNote records (PCMID or DOI or any other), you probably have turned off "Show empty fields." Open a reference. On the upper right of the open pane look for the gears icon. Check off "Show empty fields" so you can edit any of the available fields for the reference.

 

FAQ 19. Google Chrome and Dowloading

Start Google Chrome.
Download at least one exported file (e.g., some references export from Google Scholar, e.g. scholar.enw).
Right mouse click on the file in the download bar and select "Always open files from this type". 
Now the settings are finalized in Google Chrome and the file will open automatically each time it is downloaded.
1.  Start Chrome
2.  Search a database
3.  Download at least one reference
4.  At the bottom of Chrome, right mouse click on the file you downloaded/saved/exported
5.  Select "Always open files from this type"
6.  With that one setting all new EndNote exports will go automatically into the EndNote Library 

 

FAQ 20.  Direct Export and Safari

There are known problems using Direct Export with Safari.  You try to export references directly and nothing seems to happen.

The easiest solution is to take the downloaded file and drag it into the EndNote icon in the dock.

The references will then appear in your EndNote library.

You may also change browsers and use Firefox.

With Firefox you will choose the EndNote application to handle the data.

NOTE:
If you minimize your library before you try to export from FireFox it will not get imported. You need to leave the library open and not minimized for it to directly import into the open library.
 

FAQ 21.  Word, Cite While You Write and the Undo function
If you remove text containing an EndNote citation from a document, then try to use undo,
you will lose all the text you have highlighted and deleted or removed by backspace.
If you have turned off instant formatting, the undo function will work properly.
This is a known problem in EndNote.

 

FAQ 22.  Sync Reset

Please follow the instructions below to reset sync.