Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote

EndNote at Indiana University - Bloomington

Manually enter references

 

Open EndNote and look at the top for References
click on "new reference" to open the template
Select the "reference type," for example journal article, book, book section, thesis or another from the drop-down menu.
Fill in the fields you need; you do not need to fill in all the suggested fields.

  • The best practice is to enter the author's name: last name, first name, middle name (or initials)
  • Keep the name the same for each separate author; if you use Robert E. Lee as the author, don't also enter his name as Robert Lee or Robert Edward Lee
  • The output style will take care of turning the author's names in initials rather than full name if that is what the style calls for
  • If there are multiple authors, place them on separate lines in the author field
  • It is best practice, too, only to capitalize proper nouns. The output style will take care of necessary capitalization, so enter the text in lower case.

 

 

Import with an EndNote Filter

 

Most vendors and publishers  provide for direct downloading of references. Some, however, do not, and in that case you import the references using an EndNote filter Do your search and save the references as a text file. Open EndNote and look under "File" for import.

 

 

When you have chosen, the Import t file your saved, go to "Import Option". The import option will correspond to the name of the database you searched.  If you don't see the filter you need, use the filters  drop-down menu to choose another one.

 

 

 

 

 

Use a connection file

A connection file allows you to search remote libraries from within EndNote and to download references into your EndNote Library. Go to Tools, then "Online Search" When you click on "online search" a drop down menu of institutions will appear. Choose one to establish a connection. Note: The connection file for IUCAT (Indiana U) in EndNote does not import diacritics. To import them, you may use IndianaUUnicode.enz or manually edit the connection file: Go to Edit Open Connection Files Select Indiana U Connection Settings Change ANSEL to Unicode (UTF-8) The connection file will also import non-roman, vernacular language characters into the notes field.

A connection file allows you to search remote libraries from within EndNote and to download references into your EndNote Library.

Go to Tools, then "Online Search"

When you click on "online search" a drop down menu of institutions will appear. Choose one to establish a connection.

Note: The connection file for IUCAT (Indiana U) in EndNote does not import diacritics.
To import them, you may use IndianaUUnicode.enz or manually edit the connection file:
  • Go to Tools
  • Open Connection Files
  • Select Indiana U
  • Connection Settings
  • Change ANSEL to Unicode (UTF-8)

    The connection file will also import non-roman, vernacular language characters into the notes field.

A search pane will open and you can search, using the various options EndNote offers: Author, title... You can search a single field or combine fields.

NOTE:  Connection files  are primarily useful for connecting to other libraries.

 

 

 

 

 

 

From the list you can save (selected) references no a grope or into all references.  If you save to a group, the references will go into All References anyway.

A connection file allows you to search remote libraries from within EndNote and to download references into your EndNote Library.

Go to Tools, then "Online Search"

When you click on "online search" a drop down menu of institutions will appear. Choose one to establish a connection.

Note: The connection file for IUCAT (Indiana U) in EndNote does not import diacritics.
To import them, you may use IndianaUUnicode.enz or manually edit the connection file:
  • Go to Edit
  • Open Connection Files
  • Select Indiana U
  • Connection Settings
  • Change ANSEL to Unicode (UTF-8)

    The connection file will also import non-roman, vernacular language characters into the notes field.

A search pane will open and you can search, using the various options EndNote offers: Author, title... You can search a single field or combine fields.

 

Download from databases

Most major vendors offer a direct export to EndNote option.

Do a search, say in EBSCO's Academic Search, and save the records you wish to download (export)

When you look at your list of records, you will see the option:

Select "Export" and you will see:

 

Save

The records will download directly into EndNote

The language of direct export will vary some from database to database.

  • JSTOR it is "Export citation",
  • ProQuest products it is "Export/Save",
  • Web of Knowledge it is "Send to",
  • 19th Century Masterfile it is "Export" then "Download",
  • Gale products it is "Citation Tools" then "Export to third party software: EndNote."

Import from Google Scholar

 

 Google Scholar

 

Look to the upper left of the screen where you will see three parallel bars and "Google Scholar"

Click on the three parallel bars and on the list you see next scroll down to Settings

In "Bibliography Manager" you will see "Show links to import into" with the default set to BibTeX 
Change the default to EndNote and SAVE


The option "Import into EndNote" will now appear beneath records generated by your Google Scholar search

These records will import into you EndNote Library, but they will import only one citation at a time.

 

 

 

PDFs

If you have a collection of PDFs you can ask EndNote to import them and the bibliographic information into your Endnote library.

You should have your preference set properly as outlined in installation and additional settings.

  • Go to File, then Import. Choose file.
  • After Import file: select choose and browse to the PDF on your computer you want to import
  • After import option, choose PDF from the drop down menu
  • Click on import

 

 

You can also choose to import a folder full of PDFs

  • Go to File, then Import.  Chose folder
  • After Import Folder: Choose the folder that contains the PDFs
  • After import option, choose the  PDF from the drop down menu
  • Click on import

If EndNote can read the metadata contained in the PDF and find a DOI (digital object identifier) the program will import the bibliographic information.  If not it will import only the PDF itself.

Capture

EndNote Capture Reference Tool

 

July 22, 2020

•Knowledge

Article

What is Capture Reference?

Capture Reference is a browser bookmarklet that can be used to capture online references from webpages, into EndNote online or EndNote Desktop. Capture Reference scans the bibliographic information presented on a Web page and creates a reference for you to save to a new or existing group. Some databases, such as Google Scholar™ and PubMed, allow you to capture an entire page of references all at once.

How to Install Capture Reference

To Install the Capture Reference bookmarklet:

1.    Log into EndNote Online.
2.    Click on Downloads.
3.    Drag the Capture Reference button to your Bookmarks bar (also known as "Favorites Bar" or "Bookmarks Toolbar"). In some browsers, you may need to right-click and select "Add to Favorites" or "Bookmark This Link."


Can't See a Bookmarks Toolbar?
  • To turn on the bookmarks toolbar in Chrome, navigate to the top right, click the menu icon (the 3 dots) and select ‘Bookmarks’ and ‘show Bookmarks Bar’. Alternatively, you can press Ctrl+Shift+B (in Windows) or Command+Shift+B (in macOS).
  • To turn on the bookmarks toolbar in Firefox, click the ‘View’ menu at the top of the screen, go down to Toolbars and select ‘Bookmarks Toolbar’.
  • To turn on the bookmarks bar in Safari, click on the ‘View’ menu in Safari and select ‘Show Favorites Bar’.

How to Use Capture Reference

To use it, browse a page you like and click the "EndNote Capture" bookmarklet on your bookmarks toolbar. Follow the instructions in the window.

Please see the videos on How to install and use Capture Reference below:

 

 

 

Using Import Filters

 

Most vendors provide for direct downloading of references. Some, however, do not, and in that case you import the references using an EndNote filter Do your search and save the references as a text file. Open EndNote and look under "File" for import.

 

 

 

When you have chosen, the Import t file your saved, go to "Import Option". The import option will correspond to the name of the database you searched.  If you don't see the filter you need, use the filters  drop-down menu to choose another one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

From the list of imported references, copy (or rag and drop) the references you want to keep into groups