Race, Migration, & Indigeneity

Each film record has been meticulously compiled by the experienced editors and filmographers at the American Film Institute (AFI). Search records by keywords, film title, cast, crew, and character names, subject, genre, release year and more. Most records include extensive plot summaries.

Part of an ongoing project to digitize and thoroughly index film scripts. The rationale behind this is not only to provide access to many previously unpublished screenplays, it is to allow scripts to become part of the established corpus of literary works. Alexander Street developed the collection through arrangements with Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, and other major film studios; rights holders such as Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Penguin Putnam, StudioCanal, and Vintage Anchor; and the writers themselves, including Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Gus Van Sant, Neil LaBute, Oliver Stone, and many others.

Access is for Volumes 1-4.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I and II: Foundational Films 
Includes classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
Includes films by indigenous filmmakers. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. 

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives
Includes titles by contemporary visual anthropologists. Also contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media.

Based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the British Film Institute (BFI) over the past 70 years. Coverage ranges from the earliest silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters. It indexes films from over 170 countries. Film records include information on the director, full cast and crew lists, year of release and production information. Credits, awards and a synopsis are also included. Person records include biographical information, awards received, and a complete list of the films. References to film journals are also cited in many film and person records.

Includes films by many of the world’s leading contemporary directors, such as Andrei Zvyagintsev, Koji Wakamatsu, Wong Kar-Wai, and Jean-Luc Godard. All the films were shown at major festivals. Many were nominated and a large number have won major awards. Twilight Samurai (2002), directed by Yôji Yamada, The Scent of Green Papaya (1993), directed by Tran Anh Hung, and Dogtooth (2009), directed by Yorgos Lanthimos, were all Oscar®-nominated. The Cannes Grand Jury Prize went to The Piano Teacher (2001), directed by Michael Haneke. Collectively, the films in the collection have won more than 1,000 awards.

Each film record has been meticulously compiled by the experienced editors and filmographers at the American Film Institute (AFI). Search records by keywords, film title, cast, crew, and character names, subject, genre, release year and more. Most records include extensive plot summaries.

Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

Founded in 1848, the AP is one of the oldest and largest news organization in the world.

Current Biography Illustrated includes the entire contents of the printed monthly Current Biography, published since 1940. There are entries for people making headlines and historical figures dating back to World War II. Entries number more than 15,000 full text biographies, over 9,400 obituaries and more than 19,500 lively images. Profiles provide information on celebrities, politicians, business people, writers, actors, sports figures, artists, scientists, and others.

The Image Collection contains over 100,000 images and consists of a wide range of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas include contemporary and historical photos of people, places and the natural kingdom.