Getting Started
If you are working on research related to race, migration, and indigeneity and are not sure where to begin, the reference sources listed here can help. Reference sources include encyclopedias, bibliographies, filmographies, and more, each of which may be more or less well-suited to your research needs. For example, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions are useful for familiarizing yourself with key concepts or figures, while bibliographies are most useful when looking for resources related to a topic.
Most of the sources listed here are available online or located in the Wells Library Reference Reading Room on the first floor of the East Tower. Materials in the Reference Reading Room cannot be checked out of the library so plan to consult, scan, or copy them in the library.
If you have questions at any point in your research process, ask a librarian for help.
Resources
Philosophy of Race by ISBN: 9783319787282Publication Date: 2018-04-25Philosophy of Race: An Introduction provides plainly written access to a new subfield that has been in the background of philosophy since Plato and Aristotle. Part I provides an overview of ideas of race and ethnicity in the philosophical canon, egalitarian traditions, race in biology, and race in American and Continental Philosophy. Part II addresses race as it operates in life through colonialism and development, social constructions and institutions, racism, political philosophy, and gender. This book constructs an outline that will serve as a resource for students, nonspecialists, and general readers in thinking, talking, and writing about philosophy of race.
Critical Race Theory (Third Edition) by ISBN: 9781479846368Publication Date: 2017-03-07Updated to include the Black Lives Matter movement, the presidency of Barack Obama, the rise of hate speech on the Internet, and more Since the publication of the first edition of Critical Race Theory in 2001, the United States has lived through two economic downturns, an outbreak of terrorism, and the onset of an epidemic of hate directed against immigrants, especially undocumented Latinos and Middle Eastern people. On a more hopeful note, the country elected and re-elected its first black president and has witnessed the impressive advance of gay rights. As a field, critical race theory has taken note of all these developments, and this primer does so as well. It not only covers a range of emerging new topics and events, it also addresses the rise of a fierce wave of criticism from right-wing websites, think tanks, and foundations, some of which insist that America is now colorblind and has little use for racial analysis and study. Critical Race Theory is essential for understanding developments in this burgeoning field, which has spread to other disciplines and countries. The new edition also covers the ways in which other societies and disciplines adapt its teachings and, for readers wanting to advance a progressive race agenda, includes new questions for discussion, aimed at outlining practical steps to achieve this objective.
Encyclopedias contain detailed information on topics that are usually listed aphetically. Consulting an encyclopedia is an effective way to familiarize yourself with key topics at the start of the research process or to clarify an unfamiliar topic you encounter.
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies by ISBN: 0415286743Publication Date: 2003-11-04Developed from the critically acclaimed and commercially successful Dictionary of Race and Ethnic Relations, now in its fourth edition, Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies has been assembled by a world-class team of international scholars led by Ellis Cashmore to provide an authoritative, single-volume reference work on all aspects of race and ethnic studies. From Aboriginal Australians to xenophobia, Nelson Mandela to Richard Wagner, sexuality to racial profiling, the Encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and reflects cultural diversity in a global context. The entries range from succinct 400 word definitions to in-depth 2000 word essays to provide comprehensive coverage of: all the key terms, concepts and debates important figures, both historical and contemporary landmark cases historical events Although unafraid to engage with cutting-edge theory, the Encyclopedia is uncluttered by jargon and has been written in a lucid, 'facts-fronted' style to offer an accessible introduction to race and ethnic studies. The Encyclopedia is also fully cross-referenced and thoroughly indexed with most entries followed by annotated up-to-date suggestions for further reading to guide the user to the key sources. It is destined to become an essential resource for scholars and students of race and ethnic studies, as well as a handy reference for journalists and others working in the field.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by ISBN: 9780028660202Publication Date: 2007-11-12The Encyclopedia of Race and Racism is the first such work examining the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. The set delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields. The set includes biographies of dozens of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists. The Encyclopedia of Race and Racism also includes a carefully chosen selection of primary documents that enhance and reinforce the content of the articles. Set includes a thematic outline, a filmography, and a comprehensive general index.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by ISBN: 9781412926942Publication Date: 2008-03-20This three-volume reference presents a comprehensive look at the role race and ethnicity play in society and in our daily lives. The Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society offers informative coverage of intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide. Containing nearly 600 entries, this resource provides a foundation to understanding as well as researching racial and ethnic diversity from a multidisciplinary perspective. This text describes over a hundred racial and ethnic groups, with additional thematic essays discussing broad topics that cut across group boundaries and impact society at large, addresses other issues of inequality that often intersect with the primary focus on race and ethnicity, such as ability, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation, brings together the most distinguished authorities possible, with 375 contributors from 14 different countries Offers broad historical coverage, ranging from "Kennewick Man" to the "Emancipation Proclamation" to "Hip-Hop", presents over 90 maps to help the reader comprehend the source of nationalities or the distribution of ethnic or racial groups, and provides an easy-to-use statistical appendix with the latest data and carefully selected historical comparisons.
Native Americans by ISBN: 0874368367Publication Date: 1998-10-01This landmark two volume source ranks as one of the field's most comprehensive guides to Native American studies, offering historical, cultural, and modern reference, supporting a complete range of research. The history, culture, and present state of Native America is revealed, explored, and explained in this, the most comprehensive reference work on the indigenous peoples of North America ever assembled. Anyone and everyone interested in Native Americans will find Native Americans indispensable. Systematically presenting historical and modern data for all known Native American groups in Canada and the United States, the different groups are listed alphabetically within 10 culture areas. The volumes are richly illustrated and include photos and drawings, culture area and tribal location maps, a master bibliography, bibliographic citations for each tribal entry, a glossary, and a subject index. Richly illustrated with photos and drawings Maps of tribal locations and culture areas Bibliographic citations for each tribal entry, a glossary, and a subject index
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in Contemporary Politics, Law, and Social Movements by ISBN: 9780199744619Publication Date: 2015-10-07The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in Contemporary Politics, Law, and Social Movements (OEPoL) provides a comprehensive source of information on the diverse historical and contemporary experiences of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Incorporating key material from theacclaimed four-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (OUP, 2005), this ground-breaking publication addresses the significant ways in which the Latino and Latina populations have shaped the political, legal, and social institutions of the United States, with new andupdated scholarship on political movements and organizations, important legal cases, minority-rights laws, and immigration legislation.The two-volume OEPoL contains over 450 topical entries written by key academics, intellectuals, and scholars. The articles range from expansive survey essays, to biographies that document the lives of important individuals in Latino and Latina history, to interdisciplinary entries focused onessential themes and issues. Supplemented by over 50 images and a bibliography of suggested readings for each entry, OEPoL ensures that this timely, increasingly prominent subject receives the reference coverage it deserves.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latina and Latino Literature by ISBN: 9780190624316Publication Date: 2020-03-26Latina and latino literature is a growing field of study. It is both an emerging literature and a rich historical one that continues to be documented and uncovered in archival and personal collections. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latina and Latino Literature offers a sweeping introduction to avariety of genres and themes in Latina/o literature from its Latin American origins in the precolonial period to contemporary texts and perspectives. The collection illustrates the historical, social, and political contexts in which successive generations of Latina and Latino authors have written,exploring the interrelationship between geography, national origin, race, gender, sexuality, and other cultural and ethnic identities.Led by Editor in Chief Louis G. Mendoza and an editorial board of experts, this collection throws light not only on how Latina/o texts have evolved since the contact period, but also on how we have come to understand and conceptualize this work over the past three generations. From the Chicana/oidentity to Caribbean and Central American diasporic literature, from Latina/o letters to bilingual texts and graphic novels, the collection explores a variety of issues that are central to the 21st century's American experience, such as feminism, LGBTQA groups, indigeneity, environmental justice,social movements, migration, and US-Mexico borderlands. Each article paints a nuanced and in-depth portrait of Latina/o literary history in a dynamic, complex, and deeply engaging field of study that is at once highly popular, historical, and theoretical. One of the most extensive and detailedsurveys of Latina/o literature to date, this encyclopedia shows the historical and cultural significance of this literary tradition in the American context, challenging readers to revisit conventional literary notions and expand the borders of American literature.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and Culture by ISBN: 9780190699628Publication Date: 2020-03-13In the past four decades the field of Asian American literary and cultural studies has grown enormously, expanding its areas of inquiry beyond the reflections on national identity and citizenship to encompass such issues as transnational and diasporic identities and communities; the workingsof imperialism; the intersectionality of race, gender, and sexuality; and social justice/human rights in a global context. This project is the largest and most comprehensive collection of scholarship on Asian American literature and culture to date. With original essays on everything from AsianAmerican literary classics to experimental theater, from K-pop to online gaming, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and Culture guides both established scholars and readers new to this field through the extensive landscape of Asian American writing and cultural production.One hundred essays on varied historical periods, geographical locales, and artistic modes offer an extensive examination of racial representation and activism, interdisciplinary and comparative approaches to literary work, ethnic communities, space and place, transnational and transpacific flows,and genres such as speculative fiction, the detective novel, and melodrama. Along with literary works from the late-19th century to the 21st century, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and Culture covers a wide-ranging selection of Asian American theatre, dance, music, visual arts,film, television, and media. With its illuminating and profound commentary on Asian American writing and artistic practice, the volumes survey the historical foundations of this rich field, showing the exciting and profound new directions that currently drive the study of Asian American literary andcultural traditions.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Communication and Critical Cultural Studies by ISBN: 9780190459611Publication Date: 2019-04-23The Oxford Encyclopedia of Communication and Critical Cultural Studies is a compendium of touchstone articles by prominent communication, rhetorical, and cultural studies scholars about topics of interest to scholars and critics of popular and political culture. Articles provide authoritative surveys of concepts such as rhetorical construction of bodies, Marxist, feminist, and poststructuralist traditions, materialisms, social movements, race and anti-racist critique, whiteness, surveillance and security, visual communication, globalization, social media and digitalcommunication/cyberculture, performance studies, the "post-human" turn, critical organizational communication, public memory, gaming, cultural industries, colonialism and postcolonialism, The Birmingham and Frankfurt Schools, commodity culture, critical health culture studies, nation and identity, public spheres, psychoanalytic theory and methods, affect theory, anti-Semitism, queer studies, critical argumentation studies, diaspora, development, intersectionality, Islamophobia, subaltern studies, spatial studies, rhetoric and cultural studies, neoliberalism, critical pedagogy, urban studies, deconstruction, audience studies, labor, war, age studies, motherhood studies, popular culture, communication in the Global South, and more.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture by ISBN: 9780190680893Publication Date: 2019-01-15In 129 articles and three volumes, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture provides a compendium of the best available scholarship on the nation's rich history and culture. An international group of leading authors, including well-known Mexican scholars, reveals new or little-known dimensions of this past or confirms with new sources previous interpretations of the Mexican experience. Themes include the expected topics of politics and economics, combined with powerful articles on biography, environment, gender, and culture, including music, art, and cinema. Unique to this volume are the essays on digital sources, such as digitized archives and photographic collections, with information on accessing and using them for historical research. Articles add to topical considerations such as gender and ethnicity, place Mexico into wider dimensions such as the Atlantic World and the Pacific Rim, and offer conclusions on natural phenomena such as flora (yielding pulque) and volcanic eruptions (in a farmer's corn patch). Authors enlighten readers with assessments of Spanish-Aztec warfare, indigenous mastery of the Spanish legal system to bend it to their purposes, songs prohibited by the Inquisition, and more than one hundred other fascinating aspects of the nation's history. Coverage of individuals includes widely known figures suchas the monumental Benito Juarez, the hero and traitor Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna, Porfirio Diaz, and Lazaro Cardenas, as well as several outstanding women whose contributions have helped shape Mexican culture and politics. The Tlatelolco massacre of demonstrators in 1968 receives careful assessment and other essays examine the changing popular and political attitudes that followed. The tragedy ushered in events that created Mexico's electoral democracy confirmed in the 2000 presidential election.Written in clear explanatory prose and incorporating the latest research, the encyclopedia's articles offer a marvelous narrative that will be of use to scholars, students, and the general reader.
Key Concepts in Race and Ethnicity by ISBN: 9780857028679Publication Date: 2014-09-24"A conceptually power-packed volume that is at once erudite and accessible, expansive and focused, true to sociological traditions yet stimulatingly exploratory. Scholars and students will be served very well by this absorbing, far-reaching enquiry into ethnicity and race." —Raymond Taras, Tulane University. "[W]hat Meer offers with this distinctive new volume is a brief survey of the academic approach to key subjects in this area. For example, the entry titled 'Racialisation' opens with the provenance of the subject in the works of W. E. B. Du Bois and Frantz Fanon; then Meer traces debates about whether the concept can be projected back upon history...Meer offers in-depth coverage of 28 concepts, including 'Citizenship,' 'Hybridity,' 'Intersectionality,' 'Post-colonialism,' 'Transnationalism,' and more...Students wanting a guide into the deeper realms of academic theorizing on race and ethnicity will be well served." —G. A. Lancaster, Choice This book offers an accessible discussion of both foundational and novel concepts in the study of race and ethnicity. Each account will help readers become familiar with how long standing and contemporary arguments within race and ethnicity studies contribute to our understanding of social and political life more broadly. Providing an excellent starting point with which to understand the contemporary relevance of these concepts, Nasar Meer offers an up-to-date and engaging consideration of everyday examples from around the world.
Key Concepts in Migration by ISBN: 9780857020789Publication Date: 2014-06-19"Demonstrates that the study of international migration has really come of age. From acculturation to undocumented immigration, the authors consider more than three dozen concepts at the heart of migration studies. Clearly written in a highly readable style, the book is a valuable resource for students and scholars alike." —Nancy Foner, City University of New York. This book provides lucid and intuitive explanations of the most important migration concepts as used in classrooms, among policymakers, and in popular and academic discourse. Arguing that there is a clear need for a better public understanding of migration, it sets out to clarify the field by exploring relevant concepts in a direct and engaging way. Each concept: Includes an easy to understand definition Provides real-world examples Gives suggestions for further reading Is carefully cross-referenced to other related concepts. It is an ideal resource for undergraduate and post-graduate students studying migration in sociology, politics, development and throughout the social sciences, as well as scholars in the field and practitioners in governmental and non-governmental organizations.
Key Concepts in Ethnography by ISBN: 9781412928656Publication Date: 2008-11-26At last, an accessible, authoritative, no-nonsense guide to the key concepts in one of the most widely used methodologies in social science: Ethnography. Key Features Addresses and summarizes the basic and related issues in ethnography that are covered nowhere else in a single text Examines topics like 'sampling' and 'generalizing' as well as embracing new fields such as virtual, visual and multi-sighted ethnography Discusses time-honored themes such as key informants, access, participant observation and rapport are here as well as key contemporary issues such as reflexivity, writing, and ethics Presents each concept comprehensively yet critically, with relevant examples This is not quite an encyclopedia but far more than a dictionary. This outstanding teaching and research resource is comprehensive yet brief. It is small and neat, easy to hold and flick through, and it is exactly what students and researchers have been waiting for.
Keywords for Latina/o Studies by ISBN: 9781479866045Publication Date: 2017-12-01Introduces key terms, concepts, debates, and histories for Latinx Studies Keywords for Latina/o Studies is a generative text that enhances the ongoing dialogue within a rapidly growing and changing field. The keywords included in this collection represent established and emergent terms, categories, and concepts that undergird Latina/o studies; they delineate the shifting contours of a field best thought of as an intellectual imaginary and experiential project of social and cultural identities within the US academy. Bringing together 63 essays, from humanists, historians, anthropologists, sociologists, among others, each focused on a single term, the volume reveals the broad range of the field while also illuminating the tensions and contestations surrounding issues of language, politics, and histories of colonization, specific to this area of study. From "borderlands" to "migration," from "citizenship" to "mestizaje," this accessible volume will be informative for those who are new to Latina/o studies, providing them with a mapping of the current debates and a trajectory of the development of the field, as well as being a valuable resource for scholars to expand their knowledge and critical engagement with the dynamic transformations in the field.
Keywords for Asian American Studies by ISBN: 9781479874538Publication Date: 2015-05-08Introduces key terms, research frameworks, debates, and histories for Asian American Studies Born out of the Civil Rights and Third World Liberation movements of the 1960s and 1970s, Asian American Studies has grown significantly over the past four decades, both as a distinct field of inquiry and as a potent site of critique. Characterized by transnational, trans-Pacific, and trans-hemispheric considerations of race, ethnicity, migration, immigration, gender, sexuality, and class, this multidisciplinary field engages with a set of concepts profoundly shaped by past and present histories of racialization and social formation. The keywords included in this collection are central to social sciences, humanities, and cultural studies and reflect the ways in which Asian American Studies has transformed scholarly discourses, research agendas, and pedagogical frameworks. Spanning multiple histories, numerous migrations, and diverse populations, Keywords for Asian American Studies reconsiders and recalibrates the ever-shifting borders of Asian American studies as a distinctly interdisciplinary field. Visit keywords.nyupress.org for online essays, teaching resources, and more.
Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography by ISBN: 9780199935796Publication Date: 2016-06-01The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography is a major biographical reference work covering the lives and legacies of notable Afro-descendants from the Caribbean and Latin American, men and women from all eras and walks of life. This groundbreaking resource provides unprecedented coverage of the region through the lives of its people. Biographical records on Afro-Latin American and Caribbean lives are in short supply. Even as new historical scholarship has invigorated the international study of Latin America and Atlantic history, and even as new departments of Latin American Studies have flourished, no large-scale biographical reference work devoted to black subjects in the region has ever been attempted. This is a surprise given the enormous influence the people of these areas have had on history, culture, and technological achievement. The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography (DCALAB) will be published in print with over two thousand in-depth historical biographies of Caribbeans and Latin Americans. From Toussaint L'Ouverture to Celia Cruz to Pele, the DCALAB provides rigorous scholarship on the people that have shaped the Caribbean, Central America, and South America. As a continuing publishing initiative, the DCALAB provides the most wide-reaching source of information ever produced on the lives of Afro-descendants who have shaped Latin American history, with entries written by leading scholars at research institutions from across the globe, linking together the international community of research.
Native Studies Keywords by ISBN: 9780816531509Publication Date: 2015-05-21Native Studies Keywords explores selected concepts in Native studies and the words commonly used to describe them, words whose meanings have been insufficiently examined. This edited volume focuses on the following eight concepts: sovereignty, land, indigeneity, nation, blood, tradition, colonialism, and indigenous knowledge. Each section includes three or four essays and provides definitions, meanings, and significance to the concept, lending a historical, social, and political context. Take sovereignty, for example. The word has served as the battle cry for social justice in Indian Country. But what is the meaning of sovereignty? Native peoples with diverse political beliefs all might say they support sovereignty—without understanding fully the meaning and implications packed in the word. The field of Native studies is filled with many such words whose meanings are presumed, rather than articulated or debated. Consequently, the foundational terms within Native studies always have multiple and conflicting meanings. These terms carry the colonial baggage that has accrued from centuries of contested words. Native Studies Keywords is a genealogical project that looks at the history of words that claim to have no history. It is the first book to examine the foundational concepts of Native American studies, offering multiple perspectives and opening a critical new conversation.
The SAGE Handbook of Race and Ethnic Studies by ISBN: 9780761942207Publication Date: 2010-06-15What is the state of race and ethnic studies today? How has the field emerged? What are the core concepts, debates and issues? This panoramic, critical survey of the field supplies researchers and students with a vital resource. It is a rigorous, focused examination of the central questions in the field today. The text examines the roots of the field of race and ethnic studies, the distinction between race and ethnicity, methodological issues facing researchers, and intersections between race and ethnicity and questions of sexuality, gender, nation and social transformation. Planned and edited by a distinguished team of Anglo-American scholars, the Handbook pools an impressive range of international world class expertise and insight. It provides a landmark work in the field which will be the measure of debate and research for years to come.
The SAGE Handbook of Media and Migration by ISBN: 9781526447210Publication Date: 2019-12-05Migration moves people, ideas and things. Migration shakes up political scenes and instigates new social movements. It redraws emotional landscapes and reshapes social networks, with traditional and digital media enabling, representing, and shaping the processes, relationships and people on the move. The deep entanglement of media and migration expands across the fields of political, cultural and social life. The SAGE Handbook of Media and Migration offers a comprehensive overview of media and migration through new research, as well as a review of present scholarship in this expanding and promising field. It explores key interdisciplinary concepts and methodologies, and how these are challenged by new realities and the links between contemporary migration patterns and its use of mediated processes. Although primarily grounded in media and communication studies, the Handbook builds on research in the fields of sociology, anthropology, political science, urban studies, science and technology studies, human rights, development studies, and gender and sexuality studies, to bring to the forefront key theories, concepts and methodological approaches to the study of the movement of people. In seven parts, the Handbook dissects important areas of cross-disciplinary and generational discourse for graduate students, early career researcher, migration management practitioners, and academics in the fields of media and migration studies, international development, communication studies, and the wider social science discipline.
The SAGE Handbook of Identities by ISBN: 1412934117Publication Date: 2010-04-14Increasingly identities are the site for interdisciplinary initiatives and identity research is at the heart of many trans-disciplinary research centers in the United Kingdom, North America and beyond. No single social science discipline 'owns' identity research which makes it a difficult topic to categorize. The SAGE Handbook of Identities systematizes this complex field by incorporating its interdisciplinary character to provide a comprehensive overview of its themes in contemporary research while still acknowledging the historical and philosophical significance of the concept of identity. This Volume will be an excellent reference and resource for academics, researchers and advanced students in a host of disciplines across the social sciences, including social psychology, cultural studies, anthropology, sociology, geography, politics and social policy.
The Oxford Handbook of American Indian History by ISBN: 9780199858897Publication Date: 2016-04-13"Everything you know about Indians is wrong." As the provocative title of Paul Chaat Smith's 2009 book proclaims, everyone knows about Native Americans, but most of what they know is the fruit of stereotypes and vague images. The real people, real communities, and real events of indigenousAmerica continue to elude most people. The Oxford Handbook of American Indian History confronts this erroneous view by presenting an accurate and comprehensive history of the indigenous peoples who lived - and live - in the territory that became the United States.Thirty-two leading experts, both Native and non-Native, describe the historical developments of the past 500 years in American Indian history, focusing on significant moments of upheaval and change, histories of indigenous occupation, and overviews of Indian community life. The first section of thebook charts Indian history from before 1492 to European invasions and settlement, analyzing US expansion and its consequences for Indian survival up to the twenty-first century. A second group of essays consists of regional and tribal histories. The final section illuminates distinctive themes ofIndian life, including gender, sexuality and family, spirituality, art, intellectual history, education, public welfare, legal issues, and urban experiences. A much-needed and eye-opening account of American Indians, this Handbook unveils the real history often hidden behind wrong assumptions,offering stimulating ideas and resources for new generations to pursue research on this topic.
The Oxford Handbook of Indigenous American Literature by ISBN: 9780199914036Publication Date: 2014-08-28Over the course of the last twenty years, Native American and Indigenous American literary studies has experienced a dramatic shift from a critical focus on identity and authenticity to the intellectual, cultural, political, historical, and tribal nation contexts from which these Indigenous literatures emerge. The Oxford Handbook of Indigenous American Literature reflects on these changes and provides a complete overview of the current state of the field. The Handbook's forty-three essays, organized into four sections, cover oral traditions, poetry, drama, non-fiction, fiction, and other forms of Indigenous American writing from the seventeenth through the twenty-first century. Part I attends to literary histories across a range of communities, providing, for example, analyses of Inuit, Chicana/o, Anishinaabe, and Metis literary practices. Part II draws on earlier disciplinary and historical contexts to focus on specific genres, as authors discuss Indigenous non-fiction, emergent trans-Indigenous autobiography, Mexicanoh and Spanishpoetry, Native drama in the U.S. and Canada, and even a new Indigenous children's literature canon. The third section delves into contemporary modes of critical inquiry to expound on politics of place, comparative Indigenism, trans-Indigenism, Native rhetoric, and the power of Indigenous writing to communities of readers. A final section thoroughly explores the geographical breadth and expanded definition of Indigenous American through detailed accounts of literature from Indian Territory, the Red Atlantic, the far North, Yucatan, Amerika Samoa, and Francophone Quebec. Together, the volume is the most comprehensive and expansive critical handbook of Indigenous American literatures published to date.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. Includes more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: African Studies
An extensive bibliography compiled by scholars and experts in African Studies and related fields.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies
Extensive bibliography and annotated lists of key literature compiled by experts in the field of Islamic Studies. Covers the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies
An extensive bibliography compiled by scholars and experts in Latin American Studies and related fields.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latino Studies
Reference tool providing access to bibliographies in the field of Latino studies.
References guides organize different types of reference sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes and more, into lists designed for consultation. If you are looking for a bird’s eye view of reference sources on a topic, a reference guide can be a useful tool.
Film and Television A Guide to the Reference Literature by Call Number: Z5784.M9 E47 2006 (Wells Library – Reference Reading Room)ISBN: 9781563089145Publication Date: 2006-03-30If you are not sure where to begin, this guide is a great resource. This comprehensive bibliography includes bibliographies, filmographies, indexes, dictionaries, and encyclopedias among other reference resources. The topical organization makes this guide simple to navigate and annotations allow you to quickly evaluate listed resources.
The popularity and pervasiveness of film and television in 21st-century life is inescapable. Whether viewed as entertainment, educational, or cultural forms, the effect of these media on our lifestyles and attitudes is unmistakable. No wonder an increasing number of academics, students, and laypeople are drawn to study their particular appeal. Mark Emmons's magnum opus is a true labor of love. International in scope, it offers 1,244 substantially annotated entries, organized by topic. Its focus is movies and television shows: how they are produced; the people who make and appear in them; their content, their distribution and exhibition; and their reception by audiences, reviewers, critics, and scholars. Beginning with general guides, dictionaries and encyclopedias, the book then turns to filmographies, filmmakers, and filmmaking respectively. An indispensable guide for librarians, faculty, students, neophyte filmmakers, and fans everywhere.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History
Comprehensive, online research encyclopedia covering all areas of African history. Includes both primary and secondary materials and is updated regularly.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian History
Digital encyclopedia covering the field of Asian history from prehistory to the present. Along with essays, it includes internet resources for research and teaching, audio, visual, video materials, digitized archives, and other primary sources.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History
Digital encyclopedia covering the field of Latin American history. Includes audio and video content as well as essays. Covers Latin American histories of empires, colonies, enclaves, and nations; its vast diversity of peoples, landscapes, animals, plants, and cultures; and its multitudinous communities of nations, ethnicities, and localities.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Native American LiteratureDigital encyclopedia covering Native American literatures from early oral traditions to contemporary movements of the 21st century.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
This link opens in a new window
Full text, primary sources for studying the history of the music, film and entertainment industries. Includes access to Music Magazine Archive.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Full-text and bibliographic coverage from scholarly and popular sources, spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Contains: International index to film/TV periodicals, thesaurus, list of periodicals indexed, and the FIAF databases.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Covers the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, broadcast, circus, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and more.