Skip to main content

South Asian Studies

About the South Asian Studies Collection at IU

The South Asian Studies collection at Indiana University supports the Dhar India Studies Program within the Hamilton Lugar School of Global and International Studies, as well as other relevant research and instruction across IUB. Resources are collected  primarily in the humanities and social sciences.  Historically, there is an emphasis on language and literature in Hindi and Sanskrit, and on the contemporary history of India.

Sanskrit, Hindi, Urdu, and Bengali are regularly taught and supported through library acquisitions, with growing collections in Tamil.

All formats are collected of both primary and secondary materials, including e-books, dvds, and videos. Use IUCAT to search for these materials. We also have growing special collections related to South Asian film. Please see the South Asian Cinema guide for more information.

Listings in this guide include our key South Asia-specific resources. For other disciplinary resources, please visit the appropriate guide, as those resources may include material relevant to South Asia. For example, the ProQuest Political Science database includes sources useful to research in South Asian Studies, even though it is not wholly devoted to that area.

Starting Points for Research in SAS

OneSearch@IU: A Great Starting Place

OneSearch@IU searches most of Libraries' databases. It is a great place to start your research.

Direct access at: libraries.indiana.edu/resources/onesearch

OneSearch@IU
Limit Your Results

More databases can be found on the Libraries homepage under the "Research" tab or the "Top Recommended Resources" (bottom of the page). 

IUCAT Search

IUCAT is the IUB Libraries catalog. Find books, journals, music, and more!


Ways to access IUCAT: