Introduction
The Libraries offer a number of resources and services to help support your instructional needs. On this page, you'll find an overview of the services we offer, as well as a directory of helpful resources for instructors and anyone who supports student learning in the classroom
How I Can Help
Our Approach
Supporting student learning is central to our work as educators and knowledge professionals, and library workers have a vital role to play in ensuring our students are curious and critically engaged learners. If you are looking for ways to incorporate media and information literacies, research skills, or other relevant library fluencies into your courses or curricula, please reach out to me so we can work together to find an approach that works best for your class.
There are a number of ways I can work with you, your students, and your learning & instruction goals. This includes:
- purchasing materials needed for syllabi and curricula
- recommending resources and other materials to support course goals
- consulting on course and assignment design to incorporate and scaffold information literacy and research skills
- developing activities or online handouts to facilitate information literacy, skill acquisition, or other learning goals
- designing a course page tailored to the needs of the class, which can include research overviews & tips, relevant recommended resources, and related course materials (here is an example)
- work with students one-on-one or in small groups to assist with specific research inquiries, as my schedule allows
Please note that, as with all support services I offer, these possibilities are at my discretion and are always subject to my availability and capacity.
You can also:
- invite me to your Canvas course to provide feedback and support as needed
- host a virtual Q&A with me and your students, either over videoconferencing technology or on your Canvas discussion page
- link to this research guide, and refer to our Research: Getting Started and Recommended Resources pages, in Canvas
- The Research Help page in your Canvas course can be automatically redirected to this or other guides. Please reach out to me if this is of interest to you
- ask or require students to consult with me or other librarians and library workers during or as part of their research process
- integrate library collections, resources, or associated skills into assignments
Of course, these are not exhaustive lists, and there may be other options depending on what you and your students need. I am particularly interested in building individual, long-term relationships and programmatic and curricular approaches, including helping faculty and other instructors learn more about these areas and our resources so that you can incorporate these skills into your curricula. I am always happy to support you working closely and more thoughtfully with your students to learn how to use our resources and navigate a complex information landscape.
What about instruction/library sessions?
Large research libraries like ours can be overwhelming, and as such these sessions often take the form of library resource orientations with the important goal of helping students better navigate and understand how to use the library and our many collections and services. However, research shows (see literature review from College & Research Libraries and scoping review from ACRL) that one-off library resource sessions are not always the most effective means of reaching students, let alone supporting information literacy, research skill development, or other learning goals. Learning spaces, including your classes, need to be safe, engaging, and relational in order to ensure student learning. As a result, instructors of record and teaching assistants or AIs are often best-positioned to teach and ensure retention of these skills, rather than other experts (such as librarians) who do not have an existing or ongoing relationship with the students. There may be times when these kinds of sessions are necessary based on the needs of a given course, and in certain cases I may decide, in consultation with the instructor, that an individual session is the most appropriate approach to meeting student learning goals. In general, however, if you would like to schedule a one-time library instruction session, please reach out to our Teaching & Learning department. You might also consider requesting a consultation with the Center for Innovative Teaching & Learning (CITL) for a more in-depth suite of learning services.
To support you and your students, we have created a number of resources to assist in orienting students to the research process and our resources, in lieu of the traditional library instruction session, including the Research: Getting Started and Recommended Resources section of this subject guide (which you can find in the left-hand navigation menu of this page); there are also a variety of other helpful options in the next box, below. Please consider reviewing and incorporating these into your courses and assignments, and feel free to reach out to me if you would like suggestions for how to do so.
As always, if you would like to consult with me on how I can support your classes, students, and instructional efforts in a more embedded, programmatic, or holistic way, please get in touch with me. I am committed to finding and developing creative ways to support you as an instructor and further our shared goal of providing a meaningful and engaging learning experience for our students. I look forward to working with you to realize these goals based on the needs of your course and students.
Instruction & Learning Support Resources
The Libraries and other units on campus offer an array of resources to support student learning and your instructional activities. A few that we recommend:
- Information Literacy Online Toolkit We have a number of modules to support student learning around research skills that you can import into your Canvas course, which also includes assessment tools. If this is something you are interested in, I would be happy to show you how to bring this into your course Canvas site; there are also instructions on this page.
- Library Resources & Services Training Videos A YouTube playlist with a number of video tutorials we have created to help orient users to our many resources and services. With some lead time, and in circumstances where a librarian is not available for a synchronous session, we can occasionally create video tutorials tailored to the needs of a specific course.
- Open Education Resources & Services IU Libraries provides training in and support with the creation and integration of open educational resources (OER) into your curricula. This page offers guidance around finding, creating, and evaluating OER to help you make your classes more affordable and accessible for students. You might also consider participating in our Scholarly Communication department's Course Material Fellowship Program, which offers instructors the the support, tools, and expertise needed to move from traditional textbooks to affordable course materials.
- Center for Innovative Teaching & Learning (CITL) CITL provides comprehensive services supporting excellent teaching and learning at Indiana University Bloomington. They have programs, workshops, and a variety of resources and services to help you in your instructional activities. We particularly recommend the extensive series of Teaching Strategies they've created and curated.
- Teaching.IU Online resource that connects instructors to university-wide resources and communities of educators across IU. The vision of the site is to gather and curate a wide array of teaching resources, seamlessly integrated and available to all instructors. Pair this with Learning.IU, which you can share with your students and helps connect them to learning resources, services, and communities across the university.
- Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) Library guide that provides an overview of resources and services to support your SoTL research, across disciplines.
The next several tabs outline other pedagogical frameworks you may want to consider and integrate as you are designing courses, teaching, and working with students in various capacities. Always feel free to reach out if you want to strategize or discuss further.
A selection of important readings on teaching and pedagogy, from across time and disciplines
Teaching to Transgress: Education as the Practice of Freedom by ISBN: 9780415908078Publication Date: 1994-09-14These essays, by one of America's leading black intellectuals, face squarely the problems of teachers who do not want to teach, of students who do not want to learn, of racism and sexism in the classroom, and of the gift of freedom that is, for Hooks, the teacher's most important goal.
Teaching Community: A Pedagogy of Hope by ISBN: 9780415968188Publication Date: 2003-08-25Ten years ago, bell hooks astonished readers with Teachingto Transgress: Education as the Practice of Freedom. Now comes Teaching Community: A Pedagogy of Hope- a powerful, visionary work that will enrich our teaching and our lives. Combining critical thinking about education with autobiographical narratives, hooks invites readers to extend the discourse of race, gender, class and nationality beyond the classroom into everyday situations of learning. bell hooks writes candidly about her own experiences. Teaching, she explains, can happen anywhere, any time - not just in college classrooms but in churches, in bookstores, in homes where people get together to share ideas that affect their daily lives. In Teaching Community bell hooks seeks to theorize from the place of the positive, looking at what works. Writing about struggles to end racism and white supremacy, she makes the useful point that "No one is born a racist. Everyone makes a choice." Teaching Community tells us how we can choose to end racism and create a beloved community. hooks looks at many issues-among them, spirituality in the classroom, white people looking to end racism, and erotic relationships between professors and students. Spirit, struggle, service, love, the ideals of shared knowledge and shared learning - these values motivate progressive social change.
Teaching Critical Thinking: Practical Wisdom by ISBN: 9780415968201Publication Date: 2009-09-15In Teaching Critical Thinking, renowned cultural critic and progressive educator bell hooks addresses some of the most compelling issues facing teachers in and out of the classroom today. In a series of short, accessible, and enlightening essays, hooks explores the confounding and sometimes controversial topics that teachers and students have urged her to address since the publication of the previous best-selling volumes in her Teaching series, Teaching to Transgressand Teaching Community.The issues are varied and broad, from whether meaningful teaching can take place in a large classroom setting to confronting issues of self-esteem. One professor, for example, asked how black female professors can maintain positive authority in a classroom without being seen through the lens of negative racist, sexist stereotypes. One teacher asked how to handle tears in the classroom, while another wanted to know how to use humor as a tool for learning. Addressing questions of race, gender, and class in this work, hooks discusses the complex balance that allows us to teach, value, and learn from works written by racist and sexist authors. Highlighting the importance of reading, she insists on the primacy of free speech, a democratic education of literacy. Throughout these essays, she celebrates the transformative power of critical thinking. This is provocative, powerful, and joyful intellectual work. It is a must read for anyone who is at all interested in education today.
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by ISBN: 0826412769Publication Date: 2000-09-01The methodology of the late Paulo Freire has helped to empower countless impoverished and illiterate people throughout the world. Freire's work has taken on especial urgency in the United States and Western Europe, where the creation of a permanent underclass among the underprivileged and minorities in cities and urban centers is increasingly accepted as the norm. With a substantive new introduction on Freire's life and the remarkable impact of this book by writer and Freire confidant and authority Donaldo Macedo, this anniversary edition of Pedagogy of the Oppressed will inspire a new generation of educators, students, and general readers for years to come.
Emergent Strategy: Shaping Change, Changing Worlds by ISBN: 9781849352604Publication Date: 2017-04-18In the tradition of Octavia Butler, radical self-help, society-help, and planet-help to shape the futures we want. Inspired by Octavia Butler's explorations of our human relationship to change, Emergent Strategy is radical self-help, society-help, and planet-help designed to shape the futures we want to live. Change is constant. The world is in a continual state of flux. It is a stream of ever-mutating, emergent patterns. Rather than steel ourselves against such change, this book invites us to feel, map, assess, and learn from the swirling patterns around us in order to better understand and influence them as they happen. This is a resolutely materialist "spirituality" based equally on science and science fiction, a visionary incantation to transform that which ultimately transforms us.
The Undercommons: Fugitive Planning & Black Study by ISBN: 9781570272677Publication Date: 2013-05-01In this series of essays Fred Moten and Stefano Harney draw on the theory and practice of the black radical tradition as it supports, inspires and extends contemporary social and political thought and aesthetic critique. Today the general wealth of social life finds itself confronted by mutations in the mechanisms of control, from the proliferation of capitalist logistics through governance by credit and management of pedagogy. Working from and within the social poesis of life in the undercommons Moten and Harney develop and expand an array of concepts.
Universal design for learning (UDL) is a research-based framework that helps educators design learning experiences that are accessible and effective for all students, regardless of their abilities, backgrounds, or preferences. By recognizing that each learner is unique and has different strengths and challenges, it helps educators move from a one-size-fits-all approach toward one that adapts to learner variability. Therefore, UDL suggests that teachers should provide multiple ways for students to engage with the content, process the information, and demonstrate their understanding. By doing so, UDL aims to reduce barriers to learning and increase opportunities for success.
UDL is based on three main principles:
- Provide multiple means of engagement: This principle focuses on how students are motivated and interested in learning. It involves offering choices, challenges, relevance, and feedback to learners.
- Provide multiple means of representation: This principle focuses on how students perceive and comprehend information. It involves offering different formats, modes, languages, and supports for learners.
- Provide multiple means of action and expression: This principle focuses on how students demonstrate their learning and skills. It involves offering different tools, methods, scaffolds, and goals for learners.
To learn more about UDL, try some of the following resources:
- UDL Guidelines (CAST)
- UDL Level 1 (IU Engage Course)
- Universal Design for Learning Tips (University of Minnesota, Video)
Universal Design for Learning: Theory and Practice by ISBN: 9780989867405Publication Date: 2016-02-01In the 1990s, Anne Meyer, David Rose, and their colleagues at CAST introduced universal design for learning (UDL), a framework to improve teaching and learning. Based on new insights from the learning sciences and creative uses of digital technologies. UDL can help educators improve and optimize learning experiences for all individuals. In this book, Meyer and Rose, along with David Gordon, provide the first comprehensive presentations of UDL principles and practices since 2002. This new look at UDL includes contributions from CAST's research and implementation teams, as well as their collaborators in schools, universities, and research settings. Universal Design for Learning: Theory & Practice includes: new insights from research on learner differences and how human variability plays out in learning environments, research-based discussions of what it means to become expert at learning, first-hand accounts and exemplars of how to implement UDL at all levels and across subjects using the UDL Guidelines.
Universal Design for Learning: A Guide for Teachers and Education Professionals by ISBN: 0131701606Publication Date: 2005-01-06For courses in Universal Design and Inclusion, and a supplement for use with general and special education courses on curriculum and methods, technology, and assistive technology. This brief, supplementary text, a collaborative publication between CEC and Merrill Education, offers education professionals a conceptual framework to create flexible, equitable, and accessible instructional techniques that accommodate individual learning differences in a classroom setting. Aimed toward instructors in education classes as a means of informing current and future teachers about the basics of universal design for learning (UDL) and the ways it can be implemented in schools and classrooms, the goal of this publication is to inform teachers of the basis for effective teaching practice and to remind them of the various instructional resources available for them to create a UDL environment in their own classroom.
Trauma-informed teaching and pedagogy is an approach and practice that recognizes educators and students may have past and present experiences that impact learning and behavior in students and educators. This begins with an awareness of the trauma that students may have experienced or be experiencing, and thus aims to create secure, supportive, and equitable school environments that promote the well-being of everyone involved. It focuses on supporting individual students with strong, healthy relationships, and cultivating intentional school and community cultures and communication styles. It also incorporates and ensures patterned and consistent experiences, social and emotional learning, and regulatory practices to create sustainable changes in the nervous systems of learners and educators. It creates consistency and routine with room for flexibility, transparency about goals and expectations, a sense of physical safety in the physical space, and management of the risk of in-class triggers.
Principles of trauma-informed pedagogy
- Prioritizing relationships and process over content
- Recognizing that students' actions are a result of their life experiences
- Creating a safe, welcoming, and engaging environment in which students can thrive
- Adopting a supportive, reflective, and caring approach that is responsive to the reality that any student can be trauma-affected
- Attending to the psycho-social and emotional needs of learners, and adapting content and structures accordingly
- Providing choice, voice, and agency to students
- Practicing empathy, compassion, and self-care as educators
To learn more about trauma-informed teaching and practice in libraries, try some of the following resources
- Trauma Informed Teaching Guide (IUB Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning)
- Trauma Aware Teaching Checklist (100 Faculty)
- Professional Development Certificate in Trauma-Informed Care (IU Engage Course)
- Trauma-Informed Pedagogy (University of Denver)
- Crisis-Conscious Teaching Toolkit (Purdue-Fort Wayne)
Trauma-Informed Pedagogies: A Guide for Responding to Crisis and Inequality in Higher Education by ISBN: 9783030927042Publication Date: 2022-08-06This book centers equity in the approach to trauma-informed practice and provides the first evidence-based guide to trauma-informed teaching and learning in higher education. The book is divided into four main parts. Part I grounds the collection in an equity approach to trauma-informed care and illustrates one or more trauma-informed principles in practice. Chapters in Part II describe trauma-informed approaches to teaching in specific disciplines. In Part III, chapters demonstrate trauma-informed approaches to teaching specific populations. Part IV focuses on instruments and strategies for assessment at the institutional, organizational, departmental, class, and employee levels. The book also includes a substantial appendix with more than a dozen evidence-based and field-tested tools to support college educators on their trauma-informed teaching journey.
Inclusive pedagogy is an approach to teaching that considers and values the diversity and intersectionality of students’ identities, backgrounds, and abilities. It aims to create equitable and socially just learning environments that are meaningful, relevant, accessible, and transformative for all students. It involves intentional efforts by educators to address systemic inequities and barriers to learning in the classroom, curricula, and assessment. It is learning-centered, equity-focused, trauma-sensitive, and fosters social justice.
Inclusive pedagogy is not a single approach, but rather includes culturally-informed, culturally-responsive, and culturally-sustaining pedagogies, among others. Other frameworks, such as Universal Design for Learning (UDL) and Inclusive Design, can also be part of an inclusive approach to learning.
Some of the core principles of inclusive pedagogy are
- Recognizing and valuing the diversity of students’ experiences, perspectives, and ways of knowing
- Providing multiple and flexible ways for students to access content, engage with learning activities, and demonstrate their learning outcomes
- Creating a welcoming and supportive learning environment that fosters a sense of belonging, trust, and respect among students and teachers
- Challenging dominant norms and assumptions that may exclude or marginalize some students or groups of students
- Collaborating with students, colleagues, families, and communities to promote inclusive pedagogy across different contexts
To learn more about this framework and approach, consult some of the following resources
- Inclusive Pedagogy Toolkit (ACRL)
- Inclusive Pedagogy Guide (UNC Charlotte)
- What are Inclusive Pedagogies? (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
- Diversity and Inclusion Resources (IU Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning)
- Inclusive Pedagogy (University of Chicago)
Exploring Inclusive and Equitable Pedagogies: Creating Space for All Learners, Volume 1 by ISBN: 9780838939352Publication Date: 2023-05-11Inclusive and equity-minded pedagogy is inspired by a rich array of theories including Black feminist thought, critical race theory, cultural humility, cultural competence, disabilities studies, universal design for learning, and critical information literacy. When we base our instruction on inclusive and equitable pedagogies, we endeavor to connect authentically with students as well as to connect classroom learning to the context of their lives. We share power with students, centering them and their varied learning preferences, and strive to create a culture of care, empathy, and humility both in and out of the classroom. When we clearly share our objectives and expectations for a learning experience, students may better understand us and the learning context we aspire to create. In Exploring Inclusive & Equitable Pedagogies: Creating Space for All Learners, seven thorough sections across two volumes examine: Anti-Racist Approaches Intentional Information Literacy Engendering Care and Empathy Community Building Universal Design for Learning: An Important Benchmark Instructor Identity and Positionality Professional Development Chapters cover topics including dismantling, reexamining, and reconstructing notions of authority in information literacy instruction; teaching technology inclusively; using primary sources to research queer and feminist histories; cocreating knowledge practices with students; prioritizing accessibility in synchronous and asynchronous learning environments; cultural humility, funds of knowledge, and information literacy instruction with first-generation students; designing and managing inclusive group projects; and much more. To become the instructors our students need, we must adopt the mindsets and develop the underlying skills to enact inclusive and equitable teaching and learning. Exploring Inclusive & Equitable Pedagogies offers reflections, practices, and models that deepen our collective understanding of equitable and inclusive theories and practices and present new grounding for both our individual teaching and our instruction programs.
Exploring Inclusive & Equitable Pedagogies: Creating Space for All Learners Volume 2 by ISBN: 9780838938553Publication Date: 2023-05-11Inclusive and equity-minded pedagogy is inspired by a rich array of theories including Black feminist thought, critical race theory, cultural humility, cultural competence, disabilities studies, universal design for learning, and critical information literacy. When we base our instruction on inclusive and equitable pedagogies, we endeavor to connect authentically with students as well as to connect classroom learning to the context of their lives. We share power with students, centering them and their varied learning preferences, and strive to create a culture of care, empathy, and humility both in and out of the classroom. When we clearly share our objectives and expectations for a learning experience, students may better understand us and the learning context we aspire to create.
Critical pedagogy is a teaching philosophy approach that applies concepts from critical theory to education, learning practices, and the classroom. It positions teaching as a political act and aims to help students question and challenge domination, inequality, and injustice in society, especially around structures such as class, race, and gender. It also seeks to develop critical thinking, social responsibility, and transformative action in students towards empowering them to create change in the world.
Some of the principles of critical pedagogy are:
- Challenging the dominant culture and recognizing how these narratives and structures shape our knowledges, beliefs, and values
- Changing the classroom dynamic to reduce the power imbalance between teachers and students
- Presenting alternative views and perspectives that are often marginalized or excluded
- Centering the agency and choice of learners in learning relationships and spaces
- Collaborating with others to create change in classrooms and the larger society
To learn more about critical pedagogies, try some of the following resources
- Critical Theory Pedagogies Guide (UNC Charlotte)
- Critical Pedagogy: Challenging Bias and Creating Inclusive Classrooms (University of Illinois)
- Critical Pedagogy Overview (Emory)
- Critical Pedagogy: 8 Key Concepts You Need To Know (Necessary Teacher Training College)
On Critical Pedagogy by ISBN: 9781350144989Publication Date: 2020-03-19Alongside Paulo Freire, Henry A. Giroux is widely considered to be the founding father of critical pedagogy. This classic work represents his best writing on critical pedagogy spanning the past 40 years. The 2nd edition includes four new chapters covering the rise of fascist culture in America and across the globe and the dictatorship of ignorance in the age of Trump and post-truth.This impassioned work opens by discussing critical pedagogy in schools before extending the notion to the educational force of culture, politics, and society. Giroux analyses the increasingly empirical orientation of teaching, focusing on the culture of positivism and examines some of the major economic, social, and political forces undermining the promise of democratic schooling in both public and higher education. He argues against the tendency by both right wing and neo-liberal interests to reduce schooling to training, and students merely to customers. He points to the increasing attack on pubic and higher education by right-wing populists and the Trump administration in an age of growing authoritarianism. Giroux also considers the legacy of Freire and issues a fundamental challenge to educators, public intellectuals, and others who believe in the promise of radical democracy.
Critical Pedagogy: An Exploration of Contemporary Themes and Issues by ISBN: 9781315101811Publication Date: 2021-08-16This accessible text provides a clear overview of the contemporary themes and challenges within critical pedagogy, and suggests a path towards a more conscientious world for all through education. Boronski encourages us to imagine radical alternatives to current approaches, not merely for ideological reasons, but due to increasing necessity for environmental and sociological perspectives. With case studies, discussion tasks and exemplars from global history woven throughout, each chapter considers a prominent societal and educational issue, tackling some difficult and unsettling areas. Embedded in this exploration is an understanding and application of key concepts, such as justice, equality, rights and power, and how these relate to a range of topics in UK schooling. These include the role of teachers in an age of hyper surveillance and performance monitoring, alternative approaches to education, and the growing fear of the 'other'. Essential reading for Education Studies students at undergraduate and Master's level, this comprehensive text will also be of interest to students of Social Policy, Sociology and Politics programmes.
Becoming a Critical Educator by ISBN: 0820461490Publication Date: 2006-08-24Many American educators are all too familiar with disengaged students, disenfranchised teachers, sanitized and irrelevant curricula, inadequate support for the neediest schools and students, and the tyranny of standardizing testing. This text invites teachers and would-be teachers unhappy with such conditions to consider becoming critical educators - professionals dedicated to creating schools that genuinely provide equal opportunity for all children. Assuming little or no background in critical theory, chapters address several essential questions to help readers develop the understanding and resolve necessary to become change agents. Why do critical theorists say that education is always political? How do traditional and critical agendas for schools differ? Which agenda benefits whose children? What classroom and policy changes does critical practice require? What risks must change agents accept? Resources point readers toward opportunities to deepen their understanding beyond the limits of these pages.
Indigenous pedagogy is a teaching method that connects Native experiences, stories, perspectives, and worldviews into a guiding path toward learning and knowledge, relying on the relationships between people and the land (including non-human beings and entities of all kinds) to build a broad, holistic interconnectedness. Indigenous pedagogy also promotes learning through four distinct areas: personal and holistic, experiential, place-based, and intergenerational. Indigenous pedagogy is informed by Indigenous epistemologies, which are ways of knowing that emphasize relationality, the interconnection between sacred and secular, and animism. Indigenous pedagogy also recognizes the important role that Elders and traditional communities have in passing on knowledge, and centers these relationships in curricula and learning environments.
Indigenous pedagogy is closely related to decolonial pedagogy, which challenge the historical origins, power dynamics, and Eurocentrism of Western pedagogies and educational methodologies, which are rooted in colonialism, imperialism, and racism. It seeks to deconstruct and reshape the ways that colonized individuals understand and interact with the world they live in, by recognizing and valuing their own epistemologies, cultures, and identities. Decolonial pedagogy also involves critically examining the sources, purposes, and effects of knowledge production and dissemination, as well as the role of educators and students in this process.
Some principles of Indigenous and decolonial pedagogies are
- Centering storytelling and the sharing of perspectives, experiences, and voices
- Learning with and through the land, and connecting education and lessons to place
- Recognizing the integral role and wisdom of Elders, memory-keepers, and other key figures within Indigenous communities
- Allowing reciprocity and mutual learning between teacher and student
- Creating learning experiences and environments in which hands-on, participatory, and collaborative activities are encouraged
- Engaging with and confronting the many structures of power that shape education and learning so that they can be deconstructed and dismantled
- Denaturalizing and reshaping the ways in which colonized learners and communities understand the world and how they navigate it
To learn more about the tenets and practices of Indigenous and decolonial pedagogies, consult some of the resources below
- Key Principles for Indigenous Pedagogies (University of Ontario)
- UDL for Indigenous Pedagogies (University of Ontario)
- Decolonial Pedagogies (Washington State University)
- Decolonizing Pedagogy (CUNY)
- Red Pedagogy: The Un-Methodology Sandy Grande
- Land as Pedagogy: Nishnaabeg Intelligence and Rebellious Transformation Leanne Betasamosake Simpson
Red Pedagogy: Native American Social and Political Thought by ISBN: 9781610489898Publication Date: 2015-09-28This ground-breaking text explores the intersection between dominant modes of critical educational theory and the socio-political landscape of American Indian education. Grande asserts that, with few exceptions, the matters of Indigenous people and Indian education have been either largely ignored or indiscriminately absorbed within critical theories of education. Furthermore, American Indian scholars and educators have largely resisted engagement with critical educational theory, tending to concentrate instead on the production of historical monographs, ethnographic studies, tribally-centered curricula, and site-based research. Such a focus stems from the fact that most American Indian scholars feel compelled to address the socio-economic urgencies of their own communities, against which engagement in abstract theory appears to be a luxury of the academic elite. While the author acknowledges the dire need for practical-community based research, she maintains that the global encroachment on Indigenous lands, resources, cultures and communities points to the equally urgent need to develop transcendent theories of decolonization and to build broad-based coalitions.
Indigenous Education: New Directions in Theory and Practice by ISBN: 9781772124149Publication Date: 2019-06-03For Indigenous students and teachers alike, formal teaching and learning occurs in contested places. In Indigenous Education, leading scholars in contemporary Indigenous education from North America, New Zealand, and Hawaii disentangle aspects of colonialism from education to advance alternative philosophies of instruction. From multiple disciplines, contributors explore Indigenous education from theoretical and applied perspectives and invite readers to embrace new, informed ways of schooling. Part of a growing body of research, this is an exciting, powerful volume for Indigenous and non-Indigenous teachers, researchers, policy makers, and scholars, and a must-read for anyone who wants to understand the contested spaces of contemporary education.Contributors: Jill Bevan-Brown, Frank Deer, Wiremu Doherty, Dwayne Donald, Ngarewa Hawera, Margie Hohepa, Robert Jahnke, Patricia Maringi G. Johnston, Spencer Lilley, Daniel Lipe, Margaret J. Maaka, Angela Nardozi, Katrina-Ann R. Kapāʻanaokalāokeola Nākoa Oliveira, Wally Penetito, Michelle Pidgeon, Leonie Pihama, Jean-Paul Restoule, Mari Ropata-Te Hei, Sandra Styres, Huia Tomlins-Jahnke, Sam L. No'eau Warner, K. Laiana Wong, Dawn Zinga
Decolonial Pedagogy: Examining Sites of Resistance, Resurgence, and Renewal by ISBN: 9783030015381Publication Date: 2018-11-21Through innovative and critical research, this anthology inquires and challenges issues of race and positionality, empirical sciences, colonial education models, and indigenous knowledges. Chapter authors from diverse backgrounds present empirical explorations that examine how decolonial work and Indigenous knowledges disrupt, problematize, challenge, and transform ongoing colonial oppression and colonial paradigm. This book utilizes provocative and critical research that takes up issues of race, the shortfalls of empirical sciences, colonial education models, and the need for a resurgence in Indigenous knowledges to usher in a new public sphere. This book is a testament of hope that places decolonization at the heart of our human community.
Feminist pedagogy is a teaching approach that is based on feminist thinking, motivations, and values. It recognizes that knowledge making happens in socially and politically inflected ways, and that teaching and learning are influenced by structures of power, such as patriarchy, racism, classism, heterosexism, etc.. It aims to create a more democratic, inclusive, and transformative educational experience for both teachers and students.
Some of the principles of feminist pedagogy are
- Rethinking the relationship between teacher and student, from hierarchical and authoritarian to collaborative and dialogic
- Empowerment of students to become active agents of their own learning and social change
- Building community among students and teachers, based on mutual respect, trust, and support
- Privileging voice of students and teachers, especially those who are often marginalized or silenced by the dominant culture
- Respecting the diversity of personal experience, and acknowledging how it shapes one’s perspective and knowledge
- Challenging traditional pedagogical notions, such as objectivity, neutrality, authority, etc., and exploring alternative ways of knowing and learning
To learn more about the tenets and practices of feminist pedagogy, consult some of the resources below
- A Guide to Feminist Pedagogy (Vanderbilt)
- Interactive Resource: Feminist Pedagogy (Columbia)
- Introduction to Feminist Pedagogy (University of Pittsburgh)
- Feminist Pedagogy Guide (UNC Charlotte)
- Using Feminist Pedagogy to Transform Information Literacy Instruction (Clemson)
Feminist Pedagogy in Higher Education: Critical Theory and Practice by ISBN: 9781771121149Publication Date: 2015-08-30In this new collection, contributors from a variety of disciplines provide a critical context for the relationship between feminist pedagogy and academic feminism by exploring the complex ways that critical perspectives can be brought into the classroom. This book discusses the processes employed to engage learners by challenging them to ask tough questions and craft complex answers, wrestle with timely problems and posit innovative solutions, and grapple with ethical dilemmas for which they seek just resolutions. Diverse experiences, interests, and perspectives--together with the various teaching and learning styles that participants bring to twenty-first-century universities--necessitate inventive and evolving pedagogical approaches, and these are explored from a critical perspective. The contributors collectively consider the implications of the theory/practice divide, which remains central within academic feminism's role as both a site of social and gender justice and as a part of the academy, and map out some of the ways in which academic feminism is located within the academy today.
A collection of resources from other institutions and organizations to support your instruction
Artificial Intelligence (AI) Literacy
- AI Literacy in the Age of ChatGPT (University of Arizona)
- How to Productively Address AI-Generated Text in Your Classroom (IU CITL)
- Generative AI, ChatGPT, & Syllabi: An Ethics of Practice (IU)
- AI at IU (IU UITS)
- A Generative AI Primer (Jisc AI)
- Teaching and Classroom Resources on AI (Asao B. Inoue)
- A Matrix for Selecting Responsible AI Frameworks (Center for Security and Emerging Technology)
- Teaching and Learning in the Age of AI (Duke University)
- Generative AI in Academic Writing (University of North Carolina Chapel Hill)
- Guidance for Instructors: Teaching About the Use of Generative AI (University of North Carolina Chapel Hill)