Historical News and Periodicals

Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels.  Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.  

One Mail information:

In August 2025, all optional Newsbank and Readex user accounts with @indiana.edu email addresses were updated to @iu.edu email addresses. No further action is needed.

Founded in 1848, the AP is one of the oldest and largest news organization in the world.

Most records in the current coverage contain an abstract and, additionally, many records contain the corresponding full text of the original article. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary--spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline. The journal list was prepared with the guidance of an advisory board including librarians specializing in Black Studies.

Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960 (varies by source). 8C aggregates indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids, and includes citations to 9,000 periodicals in 30+ languages. 8C provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images. Links to open access and subscription full-text sources are included where available.

IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.

Includes access to newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom & Ireland, Australia, and Panama.

World Newspaper Archive is a fully-searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.

Includes access to Series 1 and 2:

African Newspapers, Series 1, 1800-1922: 

Features English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Covers such events/topics as the repercussions of the Atlantic slave trade, life under colonial rule and the results of the Berlin Conference, the emergence of Black journalism, the Zulu Wars and the rejection of Western imperialism.

Includes the following titles: Egyptian Gazette (Cairo), Journal Franco-Ethiopien (Djibouti); Central African Times (Blantyre, Malawi), Commercial Gazette (Port Louis, Mauritius), Times of Marocco (Morocco), St. Helena Guardian (Jamestown, St. Helena) and Express en Oranjevrijstaatsch Advertentieblad (Bloemfontein, South Africa).

Business Day established itself as South Africa’s more liberal financial publication, paying special attention to issues related to Black economic empowerment and offering robust coverage of anti-apartheid demonstrations.

The archive features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text, and is cross-searchable with other Global Press Archive collections.

The Rand Daily Mail pioneered popular journalism in South Africa, until it was controversially closed in 1985. Highlights include: Benjamin Pogrund's extraordinary coverage of the Sharpeville massacre in 1960; Helen Zille's uncovering of Steve Biko’s murder at the hands of police in 1976; news-breaking reporting by Mervyn Rees and Chris Day about the apartheid state's effort to influence opinion, an exposé that sparked the scandal known as “Muldergate."

One Mail Instructions

Users who set up an individual SA Media account with their indiana.edu email will need to update their account to reflect their iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Login into your SA Media account.
2. In the myDiscover dropdown menu in the upper right hand corner select My Profile.
3. Update your email to iu.edu in the email field.
4. Select save.
    

After the South African government banned publication of the Post Transvaal and three other black newspapers in 1980, journalists, editors and publishers began producing the English-language paper the Sowetan. The newspaper includes contributions of legendary editors like Percy Qoboza and Aggrey Klaaste.

Originally created as a sister publication of the Rand Daily Mail—the first South African newspaper to openly oppose apartheid—the Sunday Times has been publishing weekly since February 4, 1906. Its first issue sold out in three hours, and the paper’s popularity grew throughout the 20th century. Known for writers who were unafraid to tackle controversial stories, the Sunday Times garnered a reputation for its award-winning journalism, combative style and breaking news coverage.

Documents the use of the press by many groups that sought to shape Afghanistan’s social and intellectual landscape including the Communist People’s Democratic Party (PDPA); exiled loyalists to the deposed Afghan monarchy; independent humanitarians and intellectuals seeking to better their country; anti-Soviet mujaheddin groups from a range of political movements; the Taliban; and minority political parties that have emerged following the post-2001 transition towards democracy.

Product specially designed for libraries and institutes.
It has the following content:

• Scanned images of the newspaper from 1945-1984.
• Full-text indexed searches from 1985 to the present.
• Full-text plus PDF images of all regionally published Asahi news, charts, and pictures from November 2005 on.
• Shukan Asahi (Asahi Weekly) from April 2000 on.
• AERA weekly from the first issue on.
• The 2007 edition of Chiezo.

Full-text articles from more than 350 core newspapers from every province of China. The articles are arranged in six series, and IU subscribes to the following four series:

Politics/Military/Law
Economics
Education/Society
Love/Marriage/Family/Health

Duxiu is a huge content-based database composed of more than 600,000,000 full-text pages (books, articles, theses, web pages, newspapers) with very flexible searches. Using the book-filter, one can read a limited number of pages directly on-line, and in many cases you can email to yourself 50 pages or 1/5th of a book, whichever is less, once per week by clicking on Library Document Delivery Center. Within 3 to 5 minutes a link will be sent to your email box, and by clicking that link, you can read the text online, and print it out (6 pages at a time).

Feature articles were first accompanied by lithograph illustrations that were later replaced with photography, and so the magazine assumes the characteristic of an illustrated encyclopedia for matters concerning the early modern and modern periods. Subjects include the Sino-Japanese War, the Russo-Japanese War, disasters such as earthquakes and tsunamis, in addition to fashion and popular culture.

The Japan Times was first published March 22, 1897, with the intention to provide an a English-language paper focused on current events to aid Japan in the participating in the international community.

Coverage includes: South Korea’s diplomatic relationship with its neighbors such as China, Russia and Japan, the nuclear crisis in North Korea and relations between Korea and the U.S., the April Revolution of 1960; the Vietnam War; the attempted assassination South Korean President Park Chung-hee; the Axe Murder Incident in 1976, in which two US Army officers were killed by North Korean soldiers in the DMZ; and the end of the Cold War. Contemporary coverage serves as a window into modern politics, society, economy, and culture in Korea, including the controversial rule of Kim Jong II and Kim Jong-un in North Korea.

The first half of the twentieth century began with the demise of China’s last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and ended with the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949. Following the 1912 establishment of China’s first post-imperial government, the Republic of China, the country experienced both industrial and social revolution, a civil war during which communist and nationalist forces battled to shape the country’s future, and looming external threats during both world wars.

The collection includes almost all periodicals published during critical periods later known as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. It contains the Women's Periodicals that advocated women's liberation and mental enlightenment, the Four Major Late Qing Dynasty Novel Journals as emerged during the great flourishing period of novels of the late Qing Dynasty, the Vernacular Chinese Periodicals founded to explore the people's mind and spread new knowledge, and the Science and Technology Periodicals which introduced new technologies and spread scientific knowledge. Users may have access to some 280,000 pieces of historical documents and browse or download them in full text.

Also provides various business data on individual companies from corporate overview to financial and credit information.

Instructions for access:

1. Select "Modern Documents"
2. Click on "login"
3. Click the red title of the database "申報數據庫”

The paper was founded in Tianjin in 1902. All editions (Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing, Hankou, Hong Kong, Guilin) are included.

As the mouthpiece of the government, the Peking Gazette is the authoritative source for information about the Manchu state and its Han subjects as they collectively grappled with imperial decline, re-engaged with the wider world, and began mapping the path to China’s contemporary rise.

Includes access to Series 1 through 4.

Articles are keyword indexed to 8/31/1986, and can be searched full-text from 9/1/1986 to present.

Zasshi kiji sakuin shuusei deetabeesu: Meiji kara genzai made sougou zasshi kara chishi made = The complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and including local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards. Merges data from various composite periodical indexes by Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan.

First published in 1928, Zhong yang ri bao (Central Daily News) is one of the world's oldest Chinese-language newspapers.

Arcanum Digitheca contains more than 400 journals on subjects such as history, literature, art, pedagogy, law, engineering and medicine, and nearly 5 million pages of content from 262 daily and weekly newspaper titles from the past 150 years.

The newspapers Prapor peremohy and Trybuna pratsi (both in Ukrainian) provide researchers with an opportunity to explore the larger socio-cultural and historical context of the regions affected by the Chernobyl disaster. Tribuna Energetika, published in Russian under the aegis of the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant, provides insight into the everyday life of the power plant and the city of Pripyat. Includes coverage of the operation of the power plant, its construction and expansion operations, as well as the life of the community of workers and specialists stationed there.

The Current Digest of the Russian Press (originally the Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press) was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.

Both Donetsk People's Republic and Lugansk People's Republic were established as independent state entities after local referendums conducted in May 2014 and organized by the separatists leaders. Although the results of the referenda have not been recognized neither by Ukraine, the EU or the United States, its direct result led to an all out war between the Ukrainian military and eastern Ukrainian pro-Russian separatists resulting in thousands of deaths from both sides. Newspapers in this database cover the period of military hostilities between the unrecognized states and the government of Ukraine (2013-2015) and contain research material for anyone studying the development of separatist movements in this part of the world.

Newspapers Included:

Boevoe znamia Donbassa
Boevoi listok Novorossii
Donetsk vechernii
Edinstvo
Nasha gazeta
Novorossiia
Vostochnyi Donbass
XXI vek
Zaria Donbassa
Zhizn' Luganska

Some of the authors and journalists whose works appeared in Gudok were the famous Soviet journalist and satirist Ilya Ilf, and the writers Mikhail Zoshchenko, Lev Slavin, Sasha Krasny, and Alexander Kabakov. At the height of its popularity in the 1970s it had a daily circulation of 700,000.

The illustrated weeklies open a wide window on Russian cultural, social, and political life. Their editors traced the sweep of the Russian imagination at the apogee of Russian cultural power from the peak years of Dostoevsky and Tolstoy to the modernist era and the chaos of 1917. They captured imperial expansion, cultural innovation, high fashion, graphic arts, performing arts, grand funerals and anniversaries, occasions of state, wonders of science, and domestic and foreign politics. In addition, the weeklies inscribed the changing image of Russia’s great cities, its landscapes, and its multinational citizenry, together with literary life and a visual and verbal chronicle of all and sundry occasions and events.

Downloading PDFs

In order to download PDFs, you must create an individual user account with your iu.edu email address.

One Mail instructions:

If you created your Global Press Archive account (required to download PDFs) with your indiana.edu email address you will need to update the address to your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your account
2. Click “My Account” at the top right of the screen
3. In the e-mail address field, input your iu.edu email address and click the Change email address button
4. You will receive a verification email in your iu.edu inbox. Follow the instructions in the email to complete the email update.

Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and remained the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR until its collapse in 1991. Covering the politics, society, and culture, it is an extremely important primary source for any research on the Soviet Union. The full text is searchable and you may browse images of the issues in the original format.

Published continuously until 2008, Krokodil was at one time the most popular magazine for humorous stories and satire, with a circulation reaching 6.5 million copies. Krokodil lampooned religion, alcoholism, foreign political figures and events, bureaucracy, and excessive centralized control. The caricatures found in Krokodil can be studied as a gauge of the 'correct party line' of the time. During the height of the Cold War, cartoons criticizing Uncle Sam, Pentagon, Western colonialism and German militarism were common in the pages of Krokodil.

In the wake of the Russian Revolution, the group “Left Front of the Arts” (“Левый фронт искусств”, “Levyi Front Iskusstv”) was formed in Moscow, bringing together creative people of the era -- avant-garde poets, writers, photographers, and filmmakers, including Vladimir Mayakovsky, Osip Brik, and others. The group’s philosophy was to re-examine the ideology of so-called leftist art, abandon individualism, and increase art’s role in building communism. The group considered itself as the only representative of revolutionary art. In 1923 they founded the journal LEF (“ЛЕФ”), which was published until 1925. In 1927, it was succeeded by Novyi LEF (“Новый ЛЕФ”) and published until 1928. In total, there were 33 issues, but that short print run inspired entire movements and artists not only in Russia, but throughout the world.

Also includes about 11 million bibliographic records on publishing in Russia and the Soviet Union.

The Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers (LIUN) collection is comprised of over 250,000 pages and 900 titles. LIUN includes local newspapers from over 340 cities and towns—including publications from each of Ukraine’s 27 regions.

Titles in the collection include:

Afganets (Афганец), Odesa
Agrarnik (Аграрник), Balakliia
Aktsent (Акцент), Donetsk
Al’ baian (Аль баян), Kyiv
Arkasivs’ka vulytsia (Аркасівська вулиця), Mykolaev
Avangard (Авангард), Luhans’k
Avdet (Авдет), Bakhchysarai
Boevoe bratstvo (Боевое братство), Bakhmut
Brat’ia slaviane (Братья славяне), Severodonetsk
Chornobyl’s’ki visti (Чорнобильські вісті), Kharkiv
Dovir’ia (Довiр’я), Poltava
Golos naroda (Голос народа), Krasnyi Luch
Homin Karpat (Гомiн Карпат), Verkhovyna
Khrystyians’kyi demokrat (Християнський демократ), Uzhhorod
Kommunist Zaporozh’ia (Коммунист Запорожья), Zaporіzhzhia
Liberal’na hazeta (Ліберальна газета), Kyiv
Liubystok (Любисток), Zhytomyr
Nova Volyn’ (Нова Волинь), Rivne
Partriot Priazov’ia (Партриот Приазовья), Berdians’k
Sekretnye yssledovanyia (Секретные исследования), Dnipro

A collection of eleven Russian periodicals dealing with all aspects of Russia's Muslim world before the fall of the tsarist regime. Their places of publication include not only the two metropolises of Moscow and St. Petersburg, but also such provincial cities as Kazan', Simferopol', Baku, and Kokand. Also included is the Paris weekly "Musul΄manin = Moussoulmanine," which began to be published by the Russian Muslim diaspora of Paris, France, for the purpose of enlightening the mountain people of the Caucasus and educating Russian society about the local Muslim world of the Caucasus.

Throughout its history Ogonek has published original works by such Soviet cultural figures as Vladimir Mayakovsky, Isaac Babel, Ilya Ilf and Evgeny Petrov, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, the photographer Yuri Rost, and others. In 2005, issues #31-35 were not published. The lack of database content for this period does not indicate missing issues, rather it accurately reflects a period in which no issues were published due to a brief suspension due to an ownership change.

Titles in the Post-Perestroika Newspapers collection include:

Chas pik (Час пик)
Delovoi Mir (Деловой мир)
Kuranty (Куранты)
The Moscow Times
Nevskoe vremia (Невское время)
Novye Izvestiia (Новые Известия)
Obshchaia gazeta (Общая газета)
Pravda – piat’, 5 (Правда -пять, 5)
Pravda (Правда)
Rossia (Россия)
Rossiiskie vesti (Российские вести)
Segodnia (Сегодня)
Slovo (Слово)
Sobesednik (Собеседник)
Sovershenno sekretno (Совершенно секретно)
Zhizn’ (Жизнь)

Pravda was launched by Lenin; it survived, usually under different titles, the repeated suspensions by the tsarist government before it became the organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union. Many important Bolshevik leaders (including Stalin) worked with the newspaper. It voiced the views of the leadership of the Soviet Union. 

By the early 1990s Pravda Ukrainy had become the complete opposite of the original newspaper, having jettisoned its previous ideological commitments, and instead embracing democratic principles, independent journalism, and an unrestrained criticism of the government - stances that drove its popularity and growing circulation. Due largely to financial struggles the newspaper ceased publication in 2014.

The scope of chronological coverage varies from title to title, spanning from 2 to 16 years (Izvestiia). It is not only a retrospective archival database but also a current news service, incorporating the current issues almost simultaneously as the print issues come out.

This Russian periodical database provides full-text access to articles of 75 Russian journals in humanities and social sciences. All major disciplines are represented, but the scope of its chronological coverage is relatively narrower than its newspaper companion, UDB-Central newspapers. One resoundingly welcoming exception is Voprosy istorii (1945- ). Together with its two predecessors, Bor'ba klassov (1931-1936) and Istoricheskii zhurnal (1937-1945), the journal is completely covered by the database in its entirety.

Previously published under the titles Rabochii i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskaia kul’tura (1953-1991). In the Soviet period it published critical diatribes against dissident writers Pasternak, Solzhenitsyn, Aksyonov and others, infamous articles condemning modern art exhibitions, chastising avant-guard composers and abstract painters. In modern Russia its reviews and event listings often focus on the cultural life of Moscow and regions, it is known for its topical commentaries on popular culture and politics.

Titles in the Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers collection include:

Borot'ba (Боротьба) 
Dilo (Діло) 
Kievskaia mysl' (Киевская мысль) 
Proletars’ka pravda (Пролетарська правда) 
Visti VUTsVK (Вісті ВУЦВК)

Founded in 1802 by the Russian historian and educator, Nikolai Karamzin, Vestnik Evropy became a major influence in the development of a European outlook in Russia. The database has been designed so researchers may work simultaneously with texts in Old (pre-revolutionary) Russian and normalized contemporary orthography with easy-to-use cross search functionality.

The newspaper Za vozvrashchenie na Rodinu (Return to Motherland) was established in April 1955 in East Berlin as a biweekly publication. The newspaper was published by the Soviet Repatriation Committee, which was also established in 1955 and stayed active until 1958. The newspaper was principally aimed at Russian emigrants and was an important anti-western propaganda outlet for the USSR. The main objective of the newspaper was the creation of a favorable image of the Soviet Union and the criticism of émigré organizations in the post-war period and during the Cold War. The newspaper was published under the watchful eye of the KGB, and only the most loyal Soviet officials were allowed to work on this project. Starting with 1960: issue 04, the newspaper's name was changed to Golos Rodiny (The Voice of the Motherland).

Most of the newspapers included were published in the English language, but a number of Spanish, French, and Danish language titles are also provided. Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Also found within this resource are newspapers from Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region and integrally related to this region.

Founded in 1948 under the repressive Trujillo regime (1930-1961), the newspaper has borne witness to decades of political uncertainty, economic development, and social change. Except for brief interruptions in publication for a month in 1962 and seven months in 1965, El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region.

Downloading PDFs

In order to download PDFs, you must create an individual user account with your iu.edu email address.

One Mail instructions:

If you created your Global Press Archive account (required to download PDFs) with your indiana.edu email address you will need to update the address to your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your account
2. Click “My Account” at the top right of the screen
3. In the e-mail address field, input your iu.edu email address and click the Change email address button
4. You will receive a verification email in your iu.edu inbox. Follow the instructions in the email to complete the email update.

Covers Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.

Part of the World News Archive.  Includes content from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela. Among the title included are: La Nacion, La Prensa and Vanguardia (Buenos Aires), Jornal do Commercio (Rio de Janeiro), O Estado de São Paulo (São Paulo), Mercurio (Santiago), La Prensa (Havana), El Guatemalteco (Guatemala City), Daily Chronicle (Georgetown, Guyana), La Revista de Yucatan (Merida, Mexico), La Patria, Mexican Herald and El Monitor Republicano (Mexico City) , El Dictamen (Veracruz Llave, Mexico), La Estrella de Panama and Star & Herald (Panama City), El Peruano and West Coast Leader (Lima), Port of Spain Gazette (Port of Spain), and the Venezuelan Herald (Caracas)

Al-Ahram has featured writings by some of the most important political and literary voices of the day, including Nobel Literature Prize winner Naguib Mahfouz, nationalist leaders Mustafa Kamil and Saad Zaghlul, as well as Salama Moussa, Taha Hussein, Yusuf Idris, Edward Said, Hamid Dabashi, and Anis Mansour.

Includes access to six parts: Part I: 1800-1900, Part II: 1800-1900, Part III: 1741-1950, Part IV: 1732-1950, Part V: 1746-1950, and Part VII: Southeast Asia, 1806-1980s.
 

Fully searchable historical newspapers from South Asia; part of the World Newspaper Archive, created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries. Features English-, Gujarati- and Bengali-language papers published in India, in the regions of the Subcontinent that now comprise Pakistan, and in Ceylon (now Sri Lanka). Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).

The Times of India offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: The Bombay times and journal of commerce (1838-1859), The Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and The times of India (1861-2008). New content is added annually.

Includes access to six parts: Part I: 1800-1900, Part II: 1800-1900, Part III: 1741-1950, Part IV: 1732-1950, Part V: 1746-1950, and Part VII: Southeast Asia, 1806-1980s.
 

Includes access to four collections:

British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

British Periodicals Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles, amounting to almost 3 million pages. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

British Periodicals Collection III extends the scope of the program by focusing on leading publications from the first half of the twentieth century. The titles are from the prestigious stable of illustrated periodicals known as the “Great Eight” in British periodical publishing history. They are considered to be among the foremost popular periodicals of the period and were highly influential in their mix of news/politics, miscellany, art, photography, literature and comedy/satire, while launching the careers of many leading artists/illustrators of the age.

British Periodicals Collection IV continues this expansion, offering an eclectic mix of major popular titles from the twentieth century, reflecting the age’s attitudes interests and events across culture, politics and society. Key themes covered in these publications include socialism and the labour movement, international affairs/conflict, leisure/rural life, the arts, travel/empire and childhood/youth.

Includes access to two modules:

Module 1: Global Missions and Contemporary Encounters, 1804-2009: features publications from the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society between 1804 and 2009.

Module 2: Medical Journals, Asian Missions and the Historical Record, 1816-1986: focuses on the publications of CMS medical mission auxiliaries, the work of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society among women in Asia and the Middle East, newsletters from native churches and student missions in China and Japan, and 'home' material including periodicals aimed specifically at women and children subscribers.

The Daily Mail Historical Archive offers the searchable, full-text content Of Britain's influential Daily Mail, including all of the major news stories, features, advertisements and images. It also includes the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the transatlantic liners that sailed between New York and Southampton between 1923 and 1931.

Includes: news, analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs, special surveys and supplements on Countries and Industries, sections including Science and Technology, classified and display advertising profiling major companies, and job opportunities.

The Eighteenth Century Journals Portal consists of the following five sections:

Eighteenth Century Journals I
Newspapers and Periodicals, 1693-1793, from the Bodleian Library, Oxford

Eighteenth Century Journals II
Newspapers and Periodicals, 1699-1812, from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin

Eighteenth Century Journals III
Newspapers and Periodicals, 1680-1816, from British Library Newspapers, Colindale and Cambridge University Library

Eighteenth Century Journals IV
Newspapers and Periodicals, 1708-1820, from Chetham's Library, Manchester and the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds

Eighteenth Century Journals V
The Lady’s Magazine and Other Titles, 1712-1835, from Birmingham Central Library, British Library, Cambridge University Library and Liverpool John Moores University Library

Founded to serve the city of London, the Financial Times eventually broadened its coverage to global financial and economic issues. Incorporating its rival the Financial News in 1945, the Financial Times expanded in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy and international politics in full for the first time. In the final decades of the twentieth century, coverage of management, personal finance and the arts was added.

First published May 14, 1842, the Illustrated London News was the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper. Its founder, Herbert Ingram, was an entrepreneurial newsagent, who noticed that newspapers sold more copies when they carried pictures. The newspaper covered wars, royal events, scientific invention, and exploration. In 1855 it launched the world's first color supplement. Over the years the publication played host to distinguished contributors, including Robert Louis Stevenson, Charles Dickens, Thomas Hardy, Wilkie Collins, Rudyard Kipling, and Agatha Christie; and artists such as Melton Prior, William Heath Robinson, F Matania, Mabel Lucie Atwell and H.M. Bateman.

The paper is generally regarded as centrist. Covers free market, social issues, and culture.

The Listener was developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks, initially on radio, but in later years television as well, and was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine Radio Times. The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. In addition to commenting on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, the Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books.

Part I: Women's, Children's, Humor, and Leisure covers the advent of commercial lifestyle publishing in Brtain, with a particular focus on the rarely documented aspects of women, children, humor, and leisure activity in the Victorian Age.

Part II: Empire covers the role of Britain as an imperial power throughout the century, and includes periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa.

Digital collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", and includes nearly 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 titles.

John Nichols (1745–1826) was a London printer and avid collector of newspapers, which he used to inform his literary and historical research work. The collection includes approximately 300 primary titles of newspapers and periodicals and 300 pamphlets and broadsheets.

Originally bound in 96 volumes, of which number 14 (July 1705-July 1708) and 90 (Jan-April 1736) no longer exist, the collection was later re-bound into the present 296 volumes by splitting each volume in three or four parts labelled A through D. The newspapers cover the political history between the reign of Charles II and the Age of Walpole, and cover a variety of subjects.

Launched in 1855, the Telegraph is generally seen by press historians as the start of a new era of journalism that emerged following the repeal of stamp duty and signalling the first step towards the mass-market journalism of the Daily Mail. The Telegraph employed of several renowned special correspondents over the years; Winston Churchill, who reported from India in 1897, Rudyard Kipling, who braved the trenches of the First World War, and Clare Hollingworth, who, as the first female war correspondent, relayed the start of the Second World War from Poland. During the twentieth century, there was the infamous uncensored interview with Kaiser Wilhelm of 1908, in which the German chancellor successfully alienated Britain, France, Russia, and Japan. In 1942, the newspaper published the cryptic crossword puzzle responsible for recruiting Allied codebreakers during the Second World War.

This series lists 50,000 titles, of which over 20,000 are `family members' through a merger with or restructuring of some other publication. By the completion of the five-series set, some 125,000 titles are expected to be identified, located and described. All subject areas are covered, although each one of the series attempts to provide a comprehensive listing of from seven to ten additional subjects, while including many thousands of titles not on those specialty lists.

This project offers the most comprehensive collection of German-Jewish periodicals on on the web. These periodicals are reflective of religious and political controversies within the German-Jewish community during the 19th and 20th centuries, and offer insight into the social and cultural history of Jews in Germany.

Includes access to the following modules:

F.A.Z.-BiblioNet: this module includes articles from Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung from 1993-Present.

F.A.Z.49-92: this module contains digitized articles from Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung from 1949 to 1992 and Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung from 1990 to 1992.

Frankfurter Rundschau: this module contains digitized articles from Frankfurter Rundschau since 1995.

La Hemeroteca Digital forma parte del proyecto Biblioteca Digital Hispánica, que tiene como objetivo la consulta y difusión pública a través de Internet del Patrimonio Bibliográfico Español conservado en la Biblioteca Nacional.

Daily English-language newspaper published in Paris, aimed at international English-speaking readers.

This French-language newspaper was created at the request of General Charles de Gaulle as the German army was vacating Paris during World War II. At a time when other Parisian newspapers were accused of Nazi sympathies or other political alliances, Le Monde was established for its independence, and has been known for such ever since.