Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies

Emphasis on scholarly publications in the humanities and social sciences, and on materials in the three main vernacular languages of the Middle East: Arabic (50,000 volumes), Hebrew (19,000), and Persian (5,000), as well as ancient Greek, Kurdish, Ottoman

About

The Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies collection supports the research and curriculum needs of the Department of Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures (MELC) and related academic units in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. The collection contains both primary and secondary source materials with an emphasis on scholarly publications in the humanities and social sciences, and on materials in the three main vernacular languages of the area: Arabic (50,000 volumes), Hebrew (19,000), and Persian (5,000), as well as ancient Greek, Kurdish, Ottoman Turkish, Syriac, and Urdu. The collection includes an extensive list of current serials in all languages.

A core, specialized reference collection of more than 200 titles is integrated into the general Reference Collection (most of these titles are included in the Annotated Bibliography of Reference Sources for Arabic and Islamic Studies in the Indiana University Libraries).

All Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies Guides